
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Health 
Bureau of Health Services Financing 

and 
Office of Aging and Adult Services 

Home and Community-Based Services Waivers 
Community Choices Waiver 

Direct Support/Service Worker Wages and Bonus Payments 
(LAC 50:XXI.Chapter 95) 

The Department of Health, Bureau of Health Services 
Financing and the Office of Aging and Adult Services adopt 
LAC 50:XXI.Chapter 95 in the Medical Assistance Program 
as authorized by R.S. 36:254 and pursuant to Title XIX of 
the Social Security Act. This Emergency Rule is 
promulgated in accordance with the provisions of the 
Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:962, and shall be in 
effect for the maximum period allowed under the Act or until 
adoption of the final Rule, whichever comes first. 

House Concurrent Resolution 127 (HCR 127) of the 2021 
Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature requested the 
department make adjustments in the state Medicaid budget 
for the purpose of increasing funding more equitably to 
providers throughout the disabilities services system. The 
U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for 
Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) approved the use of 
bonus payments for agencies providing personal assistance 
services to home and community-based services (HCBS) 
waiver participants under section 9817 of the American 
Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (ARPA).  

In compliance with HCR 127, the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services promulgated an Emergency Rule 
which adopted provisions governing reimbursement in the 
Community Choices Waiver (CCW) in order to establish a 
wage floor and workforce bonus payments for direct support 
workers and personal assistance service providers along with 
audit procedures and sanctions (Louisiana Register, Volume 
48, Number 8). Upon further discussion with various 
stakeholders, the department has determined that it is 
necessary to amend the provisions governing the bonus 
payments approved by CMS under section 9817 of ARPA. 

This action is being taken to promote health and welfare 
of Medicaid beneficiaries by ensuring continued provider 
participation in the Medicaid Program. 

Effective December 20, 2022 the Department of Health, 
Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services amend the July 31, 2022 
Emergency Rule which adopted provisions governing 
reimbursement in the CCW to establish a wage floor and 
workforce bonus payments for direct support workers.  

Title 50 
PUBLIC HEALTH—MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
Part XXI.  Home and Community-Based Services 

Waivers 
Subpart 7.  Community Choices Waiver 

Chapter 95. Reimbursement 
§9503. Direct Support/Service Worker Wages, Other 

Benefits, and Workforce Bonus Payments 
A. Establishment of Direct Support/Service Worker 

Wage Floor and Other Benefits 

1. Personal assistance service (PAS) providers that 
were providing services on or after October 1, 2021 and 
employing direct service workers (DSWs) will receive the 
equivalent of a $5.50 per hour rate increase. 

2. DSWs providing self-direction PAS on or after July 
31, 2022 shall be paid a minimum wage floor of $9 per hour. 

3. Adult day health care (ADHC) providers that were 
providing ADHC services on or after October 1, 2021 and 
employing ADHC direct support workers will receive a rate 
increase. The ADHC reimbursement rates shall be rebased 
resulting in an average increase of $4.31 per hour (rates 
differ based on facility specific transportation rate). 

4. All PAS and ADHC providers affected by this rate 
increase shall be subject to passing 70 percent of their rate 
increases directly to the direct support/service worker in 
various forms. These forms include a minimum wage floor 
of $9 per hour and other wage and non-wage benefits. This 
wage floor and wage and non-wage benefits are effective for 
all affected direct support/service workers of any working 
status, whether full-time or part-time. 

5. The rate increase, wage floor and/or wage and non-
wage benefits will end March 31, 2025 or when the state’s 
funding authorized under section 9817 of the American 
Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (Pub. L. No. 117-002) is exhausted. 

6. The Department of Health (LDH) reserves the right 
to adjust the direct support/service worker wage floor and/or 
wage and non-wage benefits as needed through appropriate 
rulemaking promulgation consistent with the Administrative 
Procedure Act. 

B. Establishment of Direct Support/Service Worker 
Workforce Bonus Payments 

1. PAS and ADHC providers who provided services 
from April 1, 2021 to October 31, 2022 shall receive bonus 
payments of $300 per month for each direct support/service 
worker that worked with participants for those months.  

2. The PAS and ADHC direct support/service worker 
who provided services from April 1, 2021 to October 31, 
2022 to participants must receive at least $250 of this $300 
monthly bonus payment paid to the provider. This bonus 
payment is effective for all affected direct support/service 
workers of any working status, whether full-time or part-
time. 

3. – 4. Repealed. 
C. Audit Procedures for Direct Support/Service Worker 

Wage Floor, Other Benefits, and Workforce Bonus Payments 
1. The wage enhancements, wage and non-wage 

benefits and bonus payments reimbursed to providers shall 
be subject to audit by LDH. 

2. Providers shall provide to LDH or its representative 
all requested documentation to verify that they are in 
compliance with the direct support/service worker wage 
floor, wage and non-wage benefits and/or bonus payments. 

3. This documentation may include, but is not limited 
to, payroll records, wage and salary sheets, check stubs, 
copies of unemployment insurance files, etc. 

4. Providers shall produce the requested 
documentation upon request and within the timeframe 
provided by LDH. 

5. Non-compliance or failure to demonstrate that the 
wage enhancements, wage and non-wage benefits and/or 
bonus payments were paid directly to direct support/service 
workers may result in the following: 

a. sanctions; or 



b. disenrollment from the Medicaid Program.
 D. Sanctions for Direct Support/Service 
Worker Wages, Other Benefits, and Workforce Payments 

1. Providers will be subject to sanctions or penalties 
for failure to comply with this Rule or with requests issued 
by LDH pursuant to this Rule. The severity of such action 
will depend on the following factors: 

a. failure to pass 70 percent of the PAS and ADHC 
provider rate increases directly to the direct support/service 
workers in the form of a floor minimum of $9 per hour and 
in other wage and non-wage benefits and/or the $250 
monthly bonus payments; 

b. the number of employees identified that the PAS 
and ADHC provider has not passed 70 percent of the 
provider rate increases directly to the direct support/service 
workers in the form of a floor minimum of $9 per hour and 
in other wage and non-wage benefits and/or the $250 
monthly bonus payments; 

c. the persistent failure to not pass 70 percent of the 
PAS and ADHC provider rate increases directly to the direct 
support/service workers in the form of a floor minimum of 
$9 per hour and in other wage and non-wage benefits and/or 
the $250 monthly bonus payments; or 

d. failure to provide LDH with any requested 
documentation or information related to or for the purpose of 
verifying compliance with this Rule. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
36:254 and Title XIX of the Social Security Act. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Health, Bureau of Health Services Financing and the Office of 
Aging and Adult Services, LR 49: 

Implementation of the provisions of this Rule may be 
contingent upon the approval of the U.S. Department of 
Health and Human Services, Centers for Medicare and 
Medicaid Services (CMS), if it is determined that 
submission to CMS for review and approval is required. 

Interested persons may submit written comments to Tara 
A. LeBlanc, Bureau of Health Services Financing, P.O. Box 
91030, Baton Rouge, LA 70821-9030. Ms. LeBlanc is 
responsible for responding to inquiries regarding this 
Emergency Rule. A copy of this Emergency Rule is available 
for review by interested parties at parish Medicaid offices. 

 
Dr. Courtney N. Phillips 
Secretary 
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