
DECLARATION OF EMERGENCY 

Department of Revenue 
Policy Services Division 

Limited Raffle Licenses 
(LAC 42:I.1722) 

In accordance with the emergency provisions of the 
Administrative Procedures Act, R.S. 49:962(A)(1)(a), the 
Department of Revenue, Office of Charitable Gaming adopts 
LAC 42:I.1722. This action has been deemed necessary by 
the office to prevent imminent peril to the public welfare by 
“ensuring that the net proceeds of charitable games of 
chance conducted pursuant to the Charitable Raffles, Bingo 
and Keno Licensing Law are contributed to bona fide 
charitable causes” and to expand and expedite access to 
smaller non-profit entities in need of funding by reducing 
requirements in accordance with R.S. 4:707.1. And further, 
to decrease the potential for fraud in charitable games of 
chance and increase compliance in accordance with R.S. 
4:702. This Emergency Rule shall be effective September 1, 
2023, and shall remain in effect for a period of 180 days 
unless renewed by the office or until adoption of the final 
rules, whichever occurs first. 

Act 89 of the 2023 Regular Session of the Louisiana 
Legislature enacted R.S. 4:707.1 to establish a limited raffle 
license and provide exemptions from the requirements of 
R.S. 4:705(2)(c) ($75 license fee) and 4:714(F)(1) (requiring 
a separate charitable gaming account). LAC 42:I.1722 sets 
forth the qualifications and requirements for a limited raffle 
license. The rule establishes a reduced license and renewal 
fee of $25. Limited raffle licenses are available to 
organizations who conduct one or more raffle games during 
the 12-month license period with aggregate total prize 
winnings that do not exceed $10,000. Act 89 became 
effective August 1, 2023.  

Title 42 
LOUISIANA GAMING 

Part I.  Charitable bingo, Keno, Raffle 
Subpart 1.  Bingo 

Chapter 17. Charitable Bingo, Keno and Raffle 
§1722. Limited Raffle License Requirements 

A. A limited raffle license may be issued pursuant to 
R.S. 4:707.1 to an organization that: 

1. qualifies under Louisiana law to conduct charitable 
gaming; 

2. holds one or more raffle games during the 12-
month license period for which the aggregate value of all 
prizes to be awarded for all raffle games does not exceed 
$10,000; and 

3. the raffles are not conducted at a time and place 
other games of chance allowed under R.S. 4:707 are 
conducted. 

B. Limited raffle licensees shall be subject to the same 
requirements as other licensed organizations conducting 
raffles except that: 

1. the license and renewal fee shall be $25; 
2. a separate charitable gaming account shall not be 

required;  
3. the information required by R.S. 4:716 shall be 

submitted annually rather than quarterly; and 
4. the license renewal application may be submitted 

after June 30 without penalty, provided it is filed at least 30 

days prior to the scheduled raffle unless the secretary waives 
this requirement for good cause. 

C. Notwithstanding Paragraph B.1 of this Section, if the 
aggregate value of all prizes to be awarded during the 
license period will not exceed $250, the license and renewal 
fees shall be waived.  

D. Raffle games for which the prize value cannot 
reasonably be predetermined, such as 50/50 and split the pot 
raffles do not qualify for a limited raffle license. Similarly, 
raffles with prizes that by nature exceed $10,000, such as 
automobiles and immovable property, do not qualify for the 
limited raffle license.  

E. If the total prize winnings distributed by the licensee 
during the 12-month limited license period exceed $10,000, 
the organization shall be prohibited from renewing its 
limited raffle license and shall be subject to a penalty of $50 
unless waived for good cause. In this case, the organization 
shall apply for a standard charitable gaming license. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 
4:707.1 and 47:1511. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 
Revenue, Policy Services Division, LR 49: 

 
Kevin J. Richard, CPA 
Secretary  

2309#007 


