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Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL STANDARDS 

Part LXXXV.  Veterinarians 

 

Chapter 1.  Operations of the Board 

of Veterinary Medicine 

§101. Information, Agency Office, Request for Rules 

or Action 

A. Principal Office. The board shall maintain its 

principal office in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, where the 

records of the board shall be maintained for public 

inspection by any interested parties during regular office 

hours. 

B. Requests for Copies of Public Records. Persons who 

wish to receive notices of meetings, copies of meeting 

minutes, copies of the Notice of Intent for a rule change, or 

any other public information from the board office must 

submit a written request. The board shall charge the fee set 

by the Division of Administration for providing copies and 

mailing documents so requested. Payment may be requested 

in advance of mailing or otherwise providing documents. 

Any person indebted to the board may be denied further 

services until such time as the indebtedness has been 

cleared. The board may provide copies free of charge to 

other governmental agencies or when the total charges are 

less than $1. 

C. Requests to Review Public Records. Persons who 

wish to obtain information concerning board activities or to 

review any public documents on file at the offices of the 

board, may do so at the principal office of the board during 

regular business hours. Notices of board meetings, proposed 

rules, and all other information concerning the activities, 

functions and actions of the board which are public records 

shall be available for public inspection at the principal office 

of the board during regular business hours. 

D. Submission of Rulemaking Petition. In accordance 

with R.S. 49:953(C)(l), any interested person may petition 

the board to adopt a new rule, or to amend or repeal an 

existing rule.  

1. To petition the board for changes to an existing rule 

or for the adoption of a new rule, an interested person shall 

submit a written letter to the board. The petition shall 

include: 

a. petitioner’s name and address; 

b. the specific text or a description of the proposed 

language desired for the adoption or amendment of a rule in 

the LA Veterinary Practice Act, or the specific rule and 

language in the LA Veterinary Practice Act identified for 

repeal; 

c. justification for the proposed action; and, 

d. the petitioner’s signature. 

2. The rulemaking petition shall be mailed to the 

board by certified mail and addressed to: 

LA Board of Veterinary Medicine 
ATTN: Executive Director 

5825 Florida Blvd 

Baton Rouge, LA 70806 
3. Upon receipt, a rulemaking petition shall be 

reviewed by the full board at its next available meeting date. 

Within 90 days of receipt of the rulemaking petition, the 

board shall either: 

a. initiate rulemaking procedures to adopt a new 

rule, or to amend or repeal an existing rule; or 

b. notify the petitioner in writing of the denial to 

proceed with rulemaking, stating the reason(s) therefore. 

E. Reports to Licensees. The board shall provide a 

regular report, which shall include, but not be limited to, 

notices of changes in policy, procedure, regulations, and/or 

statutes by the board or other governmental entities and 

dispositions of disciplinary cases. Other information deemed 

by the board to be pertinent in its mission of protecting the 

public health, safety, and welfare in the practice of 

veterinary medicine shall be printed and mailed to all 

licensees and other interested parties who have requested in 

writing to receive this report. The report shall be published 

not less than one time per fiscal year and may be published 

more frequently as the president of the board shall order. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 

8:66 (February 1982), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:223 (March 1990), 

LR 19:1327 (October 1993), LR 23:966 (August 1997),  

LR 25:2226 (November 1999), LR 49:1373 (August 2023). 

§103. Meetings 

A. The annual meeting of the board shall be held during 

the last quarter of the fiscal year in April, May or June of 

each year, at a time and place to be announced by posting 

public notice. 

1. Notice for In-Person Meetings. At least 24 hours 

prior to an in-person meeting, the board shall post the 

following at the principal office of the board in Baton 

Rouge, Louisiana as well as on the agency’s website at 

www.lsbvm.org: 

a. meeting notice and agenda; and 

b. detailed information regarding how members of 

the public may submit written comments regarding matters 

on the agenda prior to the meeting. 
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2. Notice for Meetings via Electronic Means. At least 

24 hours prior to a meeting held via electronic means, the 

board shall post the following at the principal office of the 

board in Baton Rouge, Louisiana as well as on the agency’s 

website at www.lsbvm.org: 

a. meeting notice and agenda; and 

b. detailed information regarding how members of 

the public may: 

 i. participate in the meeting via electronic means, 

including the applicable videoconference link and/or 

teleconference phone number; and 

 ii. submit written comments regarding matters on 

the agenda prior to the meeting. 

B. Additional meetings of the board may be called by the 

president or by any three members of the board. Additional 

meetings shall be announced in accordance with §103.A. 

C. The board meets the below criteria pursuant to Act 

393 to be eligible to conduct open public meetings via 

electronic means: 

1. is a state agency as defined by R.S. 49:951; 

2. has powers, duties, or functions that are not limited 

in scope to a particular political subdivision or region; 

3. conducts at least six regularly scheduled meetings 

in a calendar year; and 

4. is not one of the agencies identified by R.S. 

42:17.2(I) to which open meetings via electronic means shall 

not apply. 

D. Electronic Meeting Requirements and Limitations 

1. For any meeting conducted via electronic means, 

the board shall ensure compliance with all requirements 

outlined in R.S. 42:17.2(C). 

2. The board shall not conduct any more than one-

third of its open meetings via electronic means, and will only 

conduct successive meetings via electronic meetings as 

needed. 

3. A schedule of meetings identifying which will be 

conducted via electronic means and which will be conducted 

as in-person meetings shall be posted on the agency’s 

website at www.lsbvm.org on an annual basis. 

4. All members of the board, whether participating 

from the anchor location or via electronic means, shall be 

counted for the purpose of establishing a quorum and may 

vote. 

5. An online archive of any open meetings conducted 

via electronic means shall be maintained and available for 

two years on the agency’s website at www.lsbvm.org. 

E. Disability Accommodations 

1. Although an open meeting may be scheduled as in-

person, the board is obligated to provide for participation via 

electronic means on an individualized basis by people with 

disabilities. 

2. People with disabilities are defined as any of the 

following: 

a. a member of the public with a disability 

recognized by the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA); 

b. a designated caregiver of such a person; or 

c. a participant member of the agency with an 

ADA-qualifying disability. 

3. The written public notice for an open meeting, as 

required by R.S. 42:19, shall include the name, telephone 

number and email address of the designated agency 

representative to whom a disability accommodation may be 

submitted. 

4. The requestor shall be provided with an 

accommodation, including the teleconference and/or video 

conference link, for participation via electronic means as 

soon as possible following receipt of the request, but no later 

than the start of the scheduled meeting. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 

8:65 (February 1982), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:223 (March 1990), 

LR 19:345 (March 1993), LR 20:1380 (December 1994),  

LR 23:966 (August 1997), amended by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:653 

(May 2024). 

§105. Appeals and Review 

A. Applicants for Licensure or Examination. Any 

applicant desiring to review his or her (hereinafter in this 

title, the masculine pronouns he, him, and his shall be 

deemed to include the feminine pronouns she, her, and hers) 

national examination and/or the master answer sheet and/or 

the examination questions shall make arrangements with the 

national examination service vendor and/or any person, firm, 

corporation or entity charged by the board with the 

preparation, grading and/or administration of the national 

examination(s). The board shall not provide to applicants: 

1. reviews of the questions contained on the national 

examination; 

2. the answers to the questions contained on the 

national examination; or 

3. any applicant's score on the national examination. 

B. Persons Aggrieved by a Decision of the Board 

1. Any person aggrieved by a decision of the board 

may, within 30 days of notification of the board's action or 

decision, petition the board for a review of the board's 

actions. 

2. Such a petition shall be submitted in the form of a 

written letter to the board. The petition shall include: 

a. petitioner’s name and address; 

b. the specific grievance and any details related to 

the board’s decision; and, 
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c. the petitioner’s signature,  

3. The petition shall be mailed to the board by 

certified mail and addressed to: 

LA Board of Veterinary Medicine 

ATTN: Executive Director 
5825 Florida Blvd 

Baton Rouge, LA 70806 
4. Upon receipt of such petition, the board may then 

proceed to take such action as it deems expedient or hold 

such hearings as may be necessary, and may review such 

action as it deems expedient, and may review such testimony 

and/or documents and/or records as it deems necessary to 

dispose of the matter; but the board shall not, in any event, 

be required to conduct any hearings or investigations, or 

consider any offerings, testimony or evidence unless so 

required by statute or other rules or regulations of the board. 

5. The party requesting the appeal shall pay all costs 

incurred by the board for review and appeal proceedings 

called in accordance with Section 105, and such costs shall 

include, but not be limited to, board member expenses, court 

reporter fees, investigative fees, attorney's fees, and 

administrative costs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 

8:66 (February 1982), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:223 (March 1990), 

LR 19:345 (March 1993), LR 23:966 (August 1997), LR 23:1529 

(November 1997), LR 25:2226 (November 1999), LR 49:1373 

(August 2023). 

§106. Disciplinary Proceedings 

A. Any person against whom disciplinary proceedings 

have been instituted and against whom disciplinary action 

has been taken by the board pursuant to R.S. 37:1526 and/or 

37:1531 and/or the board's rules, shall have rights of review 

and/or rehearing and/or appeal in accordance with the terms 

and provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act and 

§1401 et seq., of the board's rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:345 

(March 1993), amended LR 23:967 (August 1997), LR 24:940 

(May 1998), LR 25:2226 (November 1999). 

§108. Terms of Board Members 

A. Terms of the members of the board shall be of five 

years duration beginning on August 1 of the year appointed 

by the governor and ending on July 30 of the fifth year. 

When a member is not appointed or seated by August 1, the 

term itself will begin on August 1 although the member may 

not be seated until the date of the governor's commission 

order. The outgoing member must remain seated on the 

board until such time as the governor's commission order is 

signed. 

B. One board member will be appointed each year. The 

board office will notify the LVMA in writing in December of 

each year of the need to advertise for nominations to be 

made at the next regular full membership meeting of the 

LVMA in accordance with R.S. 37:1515. 

C. In the event that a member of the board cannot fulfill 

the appointed term, the LVMA will be notified by the board 

office that an emergency appointment is needed. 

Nominations will be made by the LVMA as per  

R.S. 37:1515. Upon the selection and signing of the 

appointment commission by the governor, the member so 

appointed will serve until the July 30 date of the unexpired 

term. A person so appointed may be nominated for a full 

five-year appointment to follow the expiration of the 

emergency appointment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 and 37:1515. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:345 

(March 1993). 

Chapter 3.  Licensure Procedures 

§301. Applications for Licensure 

A. The application for licensure to practice veterinary 

medicine in the state of Louisiana shall be in writing, signed 

by the applicant, contain the information set forth in R.S. 

37:1520.A, and shall include a sworn affidavit that the 

applicant has not practiced veterinary medicine in this state 

without a license, temporary permit, or exception from 

licensure as provided by R.S. 37:1514 for the two-year 

period immediately prior to the date of application. 

B. In addition to the above requirements, the board may 

also require that any applicant furnish the following 

information: 

1. a current passport-type photograph of the applicant; 

2. a copy of the applicant's diploma from a veterinary 

medical school or college accredited or approved by the 

American Veterinary Medical Association; 

3. a certificate by the applicant that the applicant has 

not been convicted, pled guilty, or pled nolo contendere to 

either a felony or misdemeanor other than minor traffic 

violations, and, in the event that the applicant is unable to so 

certify, the board may require the applicant to explain in full 

and/or provide further documentation; 

4. a certificate by the applicant that the applicant has 

not been arrested or indicted for or been convicted, pled 

guilty, or pled nolo contendere to either a felony or 

misdemeanor, other than minor traffic violations; and, in the 

event that the applicant is unable to so certify, the board may 

require the applicant to explain in full and/or provide further 

documentation; 

5. a certificate that the applicant has never had his or 

her license to practice veterinary medicine revoked, 

suspended or denied in any state, territory, or district of the 

United States; and, in the event that the applicant is unable to 

so certify, the board may request or require full explanation 

and/or documentation concerning such revocation, 

suspension, or denial; 
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6. the certified score on any previous national 

examinations or state examinations (whether Louisiana state 

examinations or state examinations from other states) 

previously taken by the applicant; 

7. prior to licensure in Louisiana, a foreign veterinary 

school graduate must provide to the board proof of 

completion of the Educational Commission for Foreign 

Veterinary Graduates (ECFVG) program offered through the 

American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA) or the 

Program for the Assessment of Veterinary Education 

Equivalence (PAVE) program offered through the American 

Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB). 

C. The board may require such application to be sworn 

to by the applicant, notarized, or attested to by the applicant 

under penalty of perjury. 

D. The board may reject any applications which do not 

contain full and complete answers and/or information as 

requested, and may reject any application, or take action 

against the license of any licensee, if any of the information 

furnished in the application is fabricated, false, misleading 

or incorrect. 

E. The board shall reject the application of an applicant 

who has practiced veterinary medicine in this state without a 

license, temporary permit, or exception from licensure as 

provided by R.S. 37:1514, during the two-year period 

immediately prior to the date of application. 

F. An application shall become stale if not completed by 

issuance of a license within two years from the initial date of 

submission to the board. Once stale, the entire application 

process, including the payment of applicable fees, shall 

begin anew. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 

8:66 (February 1982), amended LR 10:464 (June 1984), amended 

by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, LR 16:223 (March 1990), LR 19:343 (March 1993); LR 

23:964 (August 1997), LR 25:2231 (November 1999), LR 28:1982 

(September 2002), LR 40:308 (February 2014), LR 49:2074 

(December 2023), effective July 1, 2024. 

§303. Examinations 

A. Examinations Required for Licensure 

1. The board requires that all applicants for licensure 

to practice veterinary medicine in the state of Louisiana shall 

pass the national examination in addition to any and all state 

examinations (herein defined as such written examination, 

oral interviews and/or practical demonstrations as the board 

may request or require). 

2. The Board of Veterinary Medicine shall annually 

adopt national examination(s) as the board deems 

appropriate. Said examinations are hereafter referred to as 

the "national examination(s)." 

3. All applications, correspondence, and examinations 

shall be in the English language. 

4. A candidate for examination must be: 

a. a graduate of a school or college of veterinary 

medicine accredited or approved by the American Veterinary 

Medical Association; or 

b. currently enrolled in or certified by the AVMA's 

ECFVG program or the AAVSB's PAVE program; or 

c. currently enrolled in the fourth year of veterinary 

school. 

B. National Examinations 

1. All applicants for licensure must take and 

successfully pass the national examinations as a condition 

for licensure in Louisiana. 

2. The board hereby adopts the passing scores on the 

national examinations set by the NBEC and adopted or 

endorsed by the AAVSB. 

3. Scores shall be valid for a period of five years from 

the date of the examination administration. 

4. The requirement for taking the national 

examinations may be waived when an applicant: 

a. holds a currently valid license in good standing in 

another state, district, or territory of the United States; and 

b. has worked as a licensed veterinarian an average 

of 20 hours per week in a private practice or its equivalent 

continuously and without substantial interruption for a 

period of five years immediately preceding his application. 

5. An applicant who cannot demonstrate eligibility for 

a waiver of the national examinations will be required to 

provide official copies of his scores to the board. Said scores 

shall be no more than five years old. 

6. An applicant whose scores are greater than five 

years old and who cannot demonstrate eligibility for a 

waiver of the national examination pursuant to §303.B.4, 

shall be required to successfully pass the national 

examination in order to be eligible for a license. 

7. An applicant for licensure may only sit for the 

national examinations a maximum of five times. Thereafter, 

the applicant will no longer be eligible for licensure in 

Louisiana and any application submitted will be rejected. 

C. State Examination 

1. A state board examination shall be required of all 

applicants for licensure in Louisiana. No person shall obtain 

any license to practice veterinary medicine without 

successfully passing the Louisiana state board examination. 

No waivers of the state board examination shall be granted. 

2. The state board examination shall consist of no 

fewer than 25 questions taken from the veterinary practice 

act statutes and rules promulgated by the board. This test 

may also contain items taken from statutes and/or 

regulations promulgated by the other state and federal 

agencies deemed by the board to be pertinent to the practice 

of veterinary medicine. 



Title 46, Part LXXXV 

 Louisiana Administrative Code February 2025 5 

3. Prior to taking the examination, applicants will be 

provided with copies of all rules, regulations, and statutes 

from which items on the RPC examination may be taken. 

4. The state board examination may be prepared, 

administered and graded by the members of the Board of 

Veterinary Medicine or may be prepared, administered 

and/or graded, in whole or in part, by any person, firm, 

corporation or other entity selected, requested or designated 

to do so by the Board of Veterinary Medicine. 

5. The state board examination shall be administered 

monthly or as often as is practicable and necessary. To be 

eligible to sit for the state board, an applicant shall 

demonstrate that he is a graduate of an accredited school of 

veterinary medicine or eligible for graduation within not less 

than 60 days of the date that the examination is 

administered. 

6. Scores shall be valid for a period of five years from 

the date of the examination administration. 

D. Any applicant who fails to take and/or pass all 

required examinations in a continuous five-year period shall 

be required to retake all examinations whose scores are 

greater than five years old, unless the applicant can 

demonstrate eligibility for a waiver as described in this 

Section. 

E. Veterinary Faculty License 

1. Pursuant to section 1533 of the Veterinary Practice 

Act, a faculty license to practice veterinary medicine issued 

by the board to a veterinarian member of the faculty at LSU-

SVM is required when the conduct extends to the direct 

(hands-on) practice of veterinary medicine on an animal 

owned by the public whether by referral from another 

veterinarian, or by direct patient access without referral, as 

part of his employment at the school. The licensed faculty 

veterinarian shall be ultimately responsible for the proper 

veterinary care of the animal and held administratively 

accountable by the board per its regulatory authority. 

2. A faculty license shall not be used to practice 

veterinary medicine beyond the holder’s employment at the 

school. A faculty license cannot be used to practice 

veterinary medicine at a private or another public facility 

where veterinary care is provided, or to practice veterinary 

medicine at an emergency veterinary care facility. However, 

an active license to practice veterinary medicine issued by 

the board to a qualified faculty veterinarian may be used by 

the holder for all aspects of his employment and practice at 

the school. 

3. Further criteria for issuance of a faculty license is 

when the applicant: 

a. provides proof of graduation from a school of 

veterinary medicine with a degree of doctor of veterinary 

medicine or its equivalent and: 

 i. has possessed an active license in good 

standing issued by another state, territory, or district in the 

United States at some time within the five years prior to the 

date of application for a faculty license; or 

 ii. has a current certificate or other documentation 

indicating successful completion of a residency or program 

in a specialty field of veterinary medicine accepted by the 

board at the time of application for a faculty license; or 

 iii. has a current certification, or is in the process 

of attaining certification, in a specialty area of veterinary 

medicine by the American Board of Veterinary Specialty 

Colleges, or its international equivalents accepted by the 

board; 

b. prior to commencement of practice at the school, 

the submission of the board approved application for a 

faculty license and the payment of the initial application fee 

of $100 for issuance of the license to the board are 

applicable; and thereafter, for annual renewal, the 

submission of the renewal application with the payment of 

the annual renewal fee of $100 are required. 

4. The faculty license shall be subject to cancellation 

for any of the reasons and under the same conditions and 

costs set forth in R.S. 37:1526 and the board’s rules, or if the 

holder permanently moves out of Louisiana, or leaves the 

employment of LSU-SVM. 

5. Pending issuance of a faculty license or an active 

license, an intern, who is a graduate of a board-approved 

school of veterinary medicine, may practice veterinary 

medicine at LSU-SVM, provided the practice is limited to 

such duties as intern, and is under the supervision of a 

veterinarian who holds a faculty license issued by the board 

(or a faculty veterinarian with an active license issued by the 

board). Supervision, as used in this rule, shall mean the 

supervising, faculty licensed veterinarian (or a faculty 

veterinarian with an active license issued by the board) is on 

the premises or available by telephone for prompt 

consultation and treatment. The supervising, faculty licensed 

veterinarian (or a faculty veterinarian with an active license 

issued by the board) shall be ultimately responsible for and 

held accountable by the board for the duties, actions, or 

work performed by the intern. 

6. For purposes of this rule, an intern is an employee 

of LSU-SVM, who is a graduate from a school of veterinary 

medicine with a degree of doctor of veterinary medicine or 

its equivalent as accepted by the board, and is undergoing 

training at the school for a one year period, and rotates in 

various specialties during such period. For purposes of this 

rule, a resident is an employee of LSU-SVM, who is a 

graduate from a school of veterinary medicine with a degree 

of doctor of veterinary medicine or its equivalent as accepted 

by the board, and has satisfied the one-year internship 

requirement, or was in private practice for at least one year, 

and is thereafter working towards a certification in a 

specialty area of veterinary medicine.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 

8:66 (February 1982), amended LR 8:144 (March 1982), amended 

by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, LR 19:343 (March 1993), LR 19:1327 (October 1993), 

LR 23:964 (August 1997), LR 25:2232 (November 1999), LR 
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28:1982 (September 2002), LR 38:1592 (July 2012), LR 40:308 

(February 2014), LR 41:2151 (October 2015), amended by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, LR 48:2546 (October 2022). 

§305. Renewals 

A. Annual Renewal of License. Pursuant to R.S. 

37:1524, all licenses expire annually on September 30 of 

each year and must be renewed by making application for 

renewal of license with the board and payment of the annual 

renewal fee. A complete application for renewal of license 

must be submitted to the board or the license shall be 

expired. For an application for renewal of license to be 

considered complete, the following conditions must be met: 

1. application for renewal must be postmarked by 

September 30 of the year of application for renewal; 

2. full payment of renewal fee must be submitted; 

3. documentation of compliance with continuing 

education requirements in accordance with Chapter 4 of this 

Part must be submitted; and 

4. if applicable, late continuing education fee must be 

submitted. 

B. Renewal of Expired Licenses. A license which expires 

may be renewed within five years of the date of its 

expiration by submitting an application for renewal which 

meets the following conditions: 

1. application for renewal must be submitted; 

2. full payment of current renewal fee must be 

submitted; 

3. full payment of delinquent annual renewal fees 

must be submitted; 

4. full payment of late fees for delinquent license 

renewal must be submitted; 

5. documentation of compliance with continuing 

education requirements, for the current year and delinquent 

years, in accordance with Chapter 4 of this Part must be 

submitted; and 

6. if applicable, late continuing education fee must be 

submitted. 

C. Notice 

1. A person failing to renew his license shall receive 

one notification via certified mail, return receipt requested, 

which notification shall be mailed within 10 days after 

expiration of license. Such notice will advise that any person 

who shall practice veterinary medicine after the expiration of 

his license and willfully or by neglect fails to renew such 

license shall be guilty of practicing in violation of R.S. 

37:1514. Such notice shall also state that the board may 

publish the name of any person holding an expired license 

and that the board may distribute the name of any person 

holding an expired license to agencies which may include, 

but is not limited to, the Louisiana state controlled 

dangerous substances program, the United States Drug 

Enforcement Administration, the United States Food and 

Drug Administration, the United States Department of 

Agriculture, drug supply wholesalers, veterinary supply 

wholesalers, the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy, the 

Louisiana Board of Wholesale Drug Distributors, the 

Louisiana Veterinary Medical Association, and any other 

entity that requests or is entitled to such information. 

2. Pursuant to R.S. 37:1525, after five years have 

elapsed since the date of expiration, a license may not be 

renewed. No later than 60 days prior to the end of the five-

year period, the board shall mail notice via certified mail, 

return receipt requested, to the person holding such expired 

license. Such notice shall state that if the license is not 

renewed prior to the end of the five-year period, the license 

shall be permanently removed from the board's rolls and that 

the holder shall be required to make application for a new 

license. 

D. It is the duty of the licensee to maintain a current 

address with the office of the Board of Veterinary Medicine 

and to notify the board's office if an annual re-registration 

form is not received. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:343 

(March 1993); amended LR 23:965 (August, 1997), LR 24:941 

(May 1998), LR 26:322 (February 2000). 

§307 Expedited License/Military Qualifications 

A. Pursuant to, and in compliance with, Act 276 of the 

2012 Regular Legislative Session (R.S. 37:3650), a qualified 

military-trained applicant licensed as a veterinarian in 

another state, or having been awarded a military 

occupational specialty which is equivalent to or exceeds the 

requirements for licensure, or a military spouse licensed as a 

veterinarian in another state, both of whom having also 

actively practiced such discipline for the 90 day period 

immediately prior to submission of the application to the 

board, may be issued an expedited license to practice 

veterinary medicine pending good faith completion of all 

requirements for licensure in Louisiana set forth in the 

board’s rules. 

B. In order for the expedited license to remain in effect, 

the applicant must successfully pass the next available 

national examination after initial application, or qualify for 

waiver granted by the board for the national examination 

pursuant to established rule.  

C. In order for the expedited license to remain in effect, 

the applicant must successfully pass the next available state 

board examination after initial application. The successful 

passage of the state board examination is required of all 

applicants for licensure.  

D. The board shall expedite the processing of the license 

to an individual who timely and properly submits 

information necessary to comply with the application 

protocol, the board’s rules, and the law.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 

8:66 (February 1982), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 23:965 (August 

1997), LR 40:308 (February 2014), LR 49:640 (April 2023). 

§309. Temporary Registration during a Declared 

Public Health Emergency 

A. In a public health emergency lawfully declared as 

such by the governor of Louisiana, the requirement for a 

Louisiana license (veterinarian) or Louisiana registration 

(veterinary technician) may be suspended by the board 

through its emergency rule-making authority at that time to 

those out of state veterinarians and/or veterinary technicians, 

whose licenses, certifications or registrations are current and 

unrestricted in another jurisdiction of the United States, for a 

period of time not to exceed the duration and scope of  

R.S. 29:769(E), as more particularly set forth in this rule. 

B. The Emergency Rule implemented by the board 

pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Practice Act 

shall address the necessity for such an Emergency Rule and 

the specificity necessary to address the needs of the 

particular declared emergency at issue. Such information 

will be posted on the board's Internet website along with the 

appropriate forms for review and use by interested parties. 

C. Accordingly, the following requirements for 

temporary registration may be imposed pursuant to the 

Emergency Rule issued and/or any other requirements which 

more properly address the needs of the particular declared 

emergency. 

D. A veterinarian or veterinary technician not licensed, 

certified or registered in Louisiana, whose licenses, 

certifications or registrations are current and unrestricted in 

another jurisdiction of the United States, may gratuitously 

provide veterinary services if: 

1. the veterinarian or veterinary technician has photo 

identification and a license to verify a current and 

unrestricted license, certification or registration in another 

jurisdiction of the United States, and properly registers with 

the board prior to providing veterinary services in Louisiana 

as follows; 

2. the veterinarian or veterinary technician is engaged 

in a legitimate relief effort during the emergency period, and 

provides satisfactory documentation to the board of the 

location site(s) that he will be providing gratuitous 

veterinary services; 

3. the veterinarian or veterinary technician shall 

comply with the Louisiana Veterinary Practice Act, board 

rules, and other applicable laws, as well as practice in good 

faith, and within the reasonable scope of his skills, training, 

and ability; and 

4. the veterinarian or veterinary technician renders 

veterinary services on a gratuitous basis with no revenue of 

any kind to be derived whatsoever from the provision of 

veterinary services within the state of Louisiana. 

E. The authority provided for in the Emergency Rule 

shall be applicable for a period of time not to exceed 60 days 

at the discretion of the board, with the potential extension of 

up to two additional periods not to exceed 60 days for each 

extension as determined appropriate and necessary by the 

board. 

F. All interested veterinarians or veterinary technicians 

shall submit a copy of their respective current and 

unrestricted licenses, certifications or registrations issued in 

other jurisdictions of the United States and photograph 

identification, as well as other requested information, to the 

Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine Office for 

registration with this agency prior to gratuitously providing 

veterinary services in Louisiana. 

G. Should a qualified veterinarian or veterinarian 

technician registered with the board thereafter fail to comply 

with any requirement or condition established by this rule, 

the board may terminate his registration upon notice and 

hearing. 

H. In the event a veterinarian or veterinarian technician 

fails to register with the board, but practices veterinary 

medicine, whether gratuitously or otherwise, then such 

conduct will be considered the unlawful practice of 

veterinary medicine and prosecuted accordingly. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 32:1900 

(October 2006). 

Chapter 4.  Continuing Education 

§400. Definitions 

Active Status—a veterinarian who has met all of the 

requirements for annual licensure and is entitled to practice 

veterinary medicine in the state of Louisiana. 

Contact Participation—physical attendance at seminars, 

lectures, conferences, or workshops. 

Continuing Veterinary Education—approved, accredited 

experience obtained from participation in post graduate 

veterinary studies, institutes, seminars, lectures, conferences, 

workshops, and other authorized forms of educational 

experiences so as to maintain and improve professional 

competencies for the health, welfare, and safety of the 

citizens and animals of Louisiana. A continuing veterinary 

education program accepted by another state’s regulatory 

board of veterinary medicine, a governmental entity, and/or 

AAVSB, as well as those programs sponsored by AVMA 

accredited schools of veterinary medicine and/or any 

professional associations recognized by the board, shall be 

accepted as units or hours of continuing education; however, 

all other programs and/or their participants, including in-

house programs, shall be required to obtain pre-approval 

from the board in accordance with LAC 46:LXXXV.409.A.3 

and 4, respectively. 

Continuing Veterinary Education Units—units of measure 

approved by the board for the purpose of accreditation of 
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various continuing education activities. One continuing 

education unit is equivalent to one hour of activity. 

Inactive Status—a veterinarian who wishes to retain a 

Louisiana license, but who has not met all of the 

requirements for active status and, therefore, is not entitled 

to practice veterinary medicine in the state of Louisiana. 

Online Participation—mediums regarded as online 

participation include: 

1. pre-recorded, self-test audio or video presentations 

with third-party grading; 

2. non-interactive audio or video presentations in real-

time available via the internet; and  

3. interactive or “live” audio or video presentations or 

webinars in real-time available via the internet. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:224 

(March 1990), amended LR 19:1427 (November 1993), LR 33:648 

(April 2007), repromulgated LR 33:847 (May 2007), amended LR 

37:1152 (April 2011), LR 38:1592 (July 2012), amended by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, LR 50:1135 (August 2024). 

§401. Purpose 

A. The Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine, 

recognizing that a veterinarian's competency is a safeguard 

for public health and the safety and welfare of the citizens of 

the state of Louisiana, hereby adopts the following 

continuing veterinary education requirements as a 

prerequisite for the annual veterinary re-registration of a 

license to practice in Louisiana. All such educational 

programs shall be designed to keep the members of the 

profession abreast with current learning and scholarship. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:224 

(March 1990), amended LR 19:1427 (November 1993). 

§403. Continuing Education Requirements 

A. A minimum of 20 actual hours is required each fiscal 

year (July 1 through June 30) as a prerequisite for annual 

renewal of a license; however, a maximum of 10 hours shall 

be earned for each fiscal period (July 1 to June 30) through 

online participation as defined in LAC 46:LXXXV.400. 

B. A continuing veterinary education program accepted 

by another state’s regulatory board of veterinary medicine, a 

governmental entity, and/or AAVSB, as well as those 

programs sponsored by AVMA accredited schools of 

veterinary medicine and/or any professional associations 

recognized by the board; however, any other programs 

and/or their participants, including in-house programs, shall 

be submitted to the board for pre-approval of the units or 

hours of continuing education in accordance with LAC 

46:LXXXV.409.A.3 and 4, respectively; 

C. The 20-hour requirement for annual renewal of a 

license may be taken in any combination of the following 

board-approved programs regarding subject matter content: 

clinical, alternative, regulatory, practice management, and/or 

research; however, online participation hours are limited to 

the 10-hour maximum set forth in Subsection A. of this 

Section. 

D.1. Proof of attendance for all completed continuing 

education activity shall be submitted annually for each 

renewal period and shall include the following: 

a. the DVM’s full name; 

b. the name of the course/program; 

c. the name of the sponsor and/or presenter;  

d. the date(s) of attendance; 

e. the total number of hours completed; 

f. the delivery method; and 

g. the specific subject matter completed. 

2. All completed proof of attendance must be 

submitted to the board by September 30.  

E. All hours shall be obtained in the 12 months 

preceding the renewal period of the license. Hours taken 

prior to the 12-month continuing education period shall not 

be accepted. Hours taken after the beginning of the renewal 

period shall be considered late and shall require payment of 

a late fee and possible fine as set forth in §411.B. Hours 

submitted late, if accepted by the board in accordance with 

§413.D, cannot be applied to other renewal periods. 

F. Employment at an accredited school or college of 

veterinary medicine will not be accepted in lieu of 

completion of the required continuing education hours. 

G. Presenters of approved continuing education 

programs may not submit hours for their presentation of, or 

preparation for, the program as continuing education hours. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated as §405 by the Department 

of Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:224 

(March 1990), amended LR 19:1427 (November 1993), LR 

23:1147 (September 1997), LR 28:1208 (June 2002), LR 33:649 

(April 2007), repromulgated LR 33:847 (May 2007), amended LR 

36:319 (February 2010), LR 37:1152 (April 2011), amended by the 

Department of Health, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 44:587 

(March 2018), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:1135 (August 2024). 

§405. Exceptions and Exemptions 

A. The board may grant an extension of no more than 90 

days for extenuating circumstances. The licensee requesting 

the extension must petition the board at least 30 days prior to 

the September 30 license expiration date. The board may 

require whatever documentation it deems necessary to verify 

the circumstances necessitating the extension. The board 

may also assess a late fee and/or fine as a result of granting 

the extension of time pursuant to §411.B. 
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B. Exemptions from these continuing veterinary 

education requirements may be made for persons in the 

following categories: 

1. disabled licensees for whom completion of the 

continuing veterinary education requirements represents 

undue hardship. A request for a disability exemption must be 

documented by submitting a physician’s statement of total 

disability without probability of return to practice for the 

annual renewal period. The documentation must be 

submitted annually in each renewal period; 

2. a licensee who submits an affidavit of retirement 

for inactive status as provided by the board is entitled to a 

waiver of continuing veterinary education if he has reached 

the age of 65 years, or he submits an affidavit of disability 

and physician’s statement of total disability without 

probability of return to practice for the annual renewal 

period: 

a. once an affidavit is received by the board, a 

written request for reinstatement of a license may thereafter 

be submitted to the board within five years of such date of 

receipt, provided the applicant demonstrates that he has 

successfully obtained all continuing veterinary education 

hours for the past years at issue, as well as the current year; 

b. a request for reinstatement within five years of 

the date an affidavit is received by the board may be subject 

to certain conditions being met as set by the board prior to 

such reinstatement; 

c. once an affidavit is received by the board, a 

written request for reinstatement of a license may be 

submitted to the board after the expiration of five years of 

such date of receipt, however, the applicant shall submit an 

application for re-licensure, pay all required fees and 

satisfactorily pass all licensure examinations; and 

d. a request for reinstatement shall be made in 

writing for review and consideration by the board; 

3. licensees on active military duty. An affidavit, or 

other sworn document from the licensee’s commanding 

officer must be submitted annually in each renewal period. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:224 

(March 1990), amended LR 19:1428 (November 1993), LR 

23:1147 (September 1997), LR 29:1478 (August 2003), LR 33:649 

(April 2007), repromulgated LR 33:848 (May 2007), amended LR 

38:1592 (July 2012), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:1136 (August 2024). 

§407. Expired License Renewals 

A. Persons who have not renewed their license and wish 

to do so pursuant to R.S. 37:1525, may be required to submit 

proof of continuing education for each year for which the 

license was not renewed. Where insufficient hours have been 

acquired, the board may require additional hours to be 

obtained as a condition of licensure and/or as a condition of 

renewal for the next fiscal year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1428 

(November 1993). 

§409. Approved Continuing Education Programs 

A. It shall be the duty of the board to approve all 

continuing veterinary education programs for which credit 

shall be given to Louisiana licensed veterinarians as follows. 

1. All units or hours from contact participation and 

online participation programs as defined in LAC 

46:LXXXV.400 listed on the pre-approved list of the board 

shall be accepted, as well as all units or hours from contact 

participation and online participation and online 

participation from programs accepted by another state’s 

regulatory board of veterinary medicine, a governmental 

entity, and/or AAVSB, as well as those programs sponsored 

by AVMA accredited schools of veterinary medicine and/or 

any professional associations recognized by the board. 

2. The list of programs for which pre-approval has 

been granted will be updated as needed and published by the 

board on its website, as well as those programs which are 

accepted by another state’s regulatory board of veterinary 

medicine, a governmental entity, and/or AAVSB, and those 

programs sponsored by AVMA accredited schools of 

veterinary medicine and/or any professional associations 

recognized by the board. 

3. Additions to the list of pre-approved programs may 

be requested by writing to the board office and submitting all 

required documentation. All programs not on the pre-

approved list must be submitted for pre-approval at least 14 

days prior to the date of the program for the units or hours to 

be credited. Pre-approval may be obtained by writing or 

calling the board office during regular business hours. 

4. An in-house continuing veterinary education 

program may be approved by the board if such program’s 

subject matter content complies with the board's rules, and 

the program is open by invitation/advertisement to interested 

veterinarians in general who are not associated with the in-

house practice. The general requirements regarding 

continuing education, including timely submission for pre-

approval of the program by the board, continue to apply. 

5. In order to qualify for board approval, all 

continuing education programs must be open by 

invitation/advertisement to interested veterinarians in 

general. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:224 

(March 1990), amended LR 19:1428 (November 1993), LR 33:649 

(April 2007), repromulgated LR 33:848 (May 2007), amended LR 

36:319 (February 2010), LR 37:1152 (April 2011), amended by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, LR 50:1136 (August 2024). 
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§411. Fees 

A. Each license holder must fulfill his annual continuing 

veterinary education requirements at his own expense. Any 

registration fee(s) for his annual continuing veterinary 

education requirements are not included in the annual 

renewal fee. 

B. A late fee of $25 shall be paid for any late continuing 

education hours taken after the beginning of the renewal 

period. A fine of up to $50 may also be levied for non-

compliance with these rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:225 

(March 1990), amended LR 19:1428 (November 1993), amended 

by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, LR 50:1136 (August 2024). 

§413. Non-Compliance 

A. Complete compliance with these rules (Chapter 4) is a 

prerequisite for renewal of a veterinarian's license on and 

after July 1, 1989. 

B. Non-compliance with these rules shall be considered 

to be a violation of R.S. 37:1526(14). 

C. Failure to submit all satisfactory proof of attendance 

for continuing veterinary education hours by the September 

30 deadline pursuant to §403 or §403 or falsifying 

certification shall be considered a violation of R.S. 

37:1526(14) and/or (15). 

D. Failure to obtain the required number of hours in the 

specified time period shall be considered a violation of the 

rules of professional conduct. An extension of no more than 

90 days after the September 30 license expiration date may 

be granted by petitioning the board in accordance with 

§405.A.  

E. A licensee who fails to obtain the required minimum 

of 20 approved hours within the prescribed 12-month period 

will not meet the requirements for renewal of his license. 

Such a license shall expire on September 30 for any licensee 

who does not timely and properly comply with the annual 

continuing veterinary education requirements. Thereafter, a 

licensee may apply for renewal of his expired license; 

however, he shall be unable to lawfully practice veterinary 

medicine with an expired license and may be subject to 

disciplinary action by the board, until such time as all 

requirements for renewal have been met and documented to 

the satisfaction of the board. Any late fees and/or fines 

assessed by the board shall be paid before the renewal is 

issued.  

F. The promulgation of rule amendments by the board 

published in the Louisiana Register on January 20, 2011 

shall become effective for the period of time (July 1, 2010 - 

June 30, 2011) for the 2011-2012 annual license renewal and 

every annual license renewal period thereafter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:225 

(March 1990), amended LR 19:1428 (November 1993), LR 33:649 

(April 2007), repromulgated LR 33:848 (May 2007), amended LR 

36:320 (February 2010), LR 37:1152 (April 2011), amended by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, LR 50:1137 (August 2024). 

Chapter 5.  Fees 

§500. Definitions 

Active Status—the fees charged to a veterinarian who has 

met all of the requirements for annual licensure and is 

entitled to practice veterinary medicine in the state of 

Louisiana. 

Duplicate License Fee—a charge assessed for the 

replacement of a certificate. 

Inactive Status—the fees charged to a veterinarian who 

wishes to retain a Louisiana license, but who has not met all 

of the requirements for active status and, therefore, is not 

entitled to practice veterinary medicine in the state of 

Louisiana. Inactive status licenses may be upgraded to active 

status by written request and payment of the differences 

between the fees. 

Original License Fee—the fee charged for the first 

issuance of a Louisiana license includes the cost of 

preparation of the licensee's certificate. The original license 

may be issued in any month but shall expire on the next 

renewal date as specified in R.S. 37:1524 except where the 

license is issued in May or June. Licenses issued in these 

months will be valid for the next immediate fiscal year. 

Temporary License Fee—the fee charged for the issuance 

of a temporary license according to the Rules found in 

Chapter 3. The temporary license is valid for a maximum of 

12 months. At the time of regular licensure, an original 

licensing fee shall be assessed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1429 

(November 1993), amended LR 38:1592 (July 2012). 

§501. Fees 

A. The board hereby adopts and establishes the 

following fees. 

Licenses 

Annual renewal-active license $250 

Annual renewal-inactive license $125 

Annual renewal-faculty license $100 

Duplicate license $ 25 

Original license fee $250 

Temporary license $100 

Exams 

Clinical Competency Test (CCT) $190 

National Board Exam (NAVLE) $215 

State board exam $200 

Exam and/or License Application 

Application fee $100 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 

8:65 (February 1982), amended by Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 18:380 (April 1992), 

LR 19:1326 (October 1993), LR 23:963 (August 1997), LR 

25:2408 (December 1999), LR 30:796 (April 2004), LR 40:2258 

(November 2014). 

§503. Exemption of Fee for Active Military 

Duty/Reduction of Fee for Qualified 

Retirement/Disability  

A. The board shall exempt a veterinarian licensed in the 

state of Louisiana from the annual license renewal fee for 

active status if he is a member of the armed forces and is on 

active duty. The board shall apply the reduced annual 

renewal fee for inactive status if the veterinarian is totally 

disabled to practice veterinary medicine without probability 

of return to practice for the annual renewal period at issue as 

certified by a physician’s statement, or if he is retired and 

has reached the age of 65 years. 

B. In each of the above cases, the veterinarian who 

requests fee exemption or reduction for inactive status must 

register with the board annually and provide proof of his 

eligibility for fee exemption or reduction for inactive status 

in affidavit form approved by the board.  

C. A licensee who submits an affidavit of retirement as 

provided by the board for this purpose is entitled to the 

reduced annual fee for inactive status if he has reached the 

age of 65 years, or submits an affidavit of disability and 

physician’s statement of total disability without probability 

of return to practice for the annual renewal period at issue. 

The documentation must be submitted annually with the 

registration form. 

1. Once an affidavit is received by the board, a written 

request for reinstatement of a license may thereafter be 

submitted to the board within five years of such date of 

receipt, provided the applicant submits with his request the 

payment of all back active annual renewal fees, as well as 

current active annual renewal fees for application. 

2. A request for reinstatement within five years of the 

date an affidavit is received by the board may be subject to 

certain conditions being met as set by the board prior to such 

reinstatement. 

3. Once an affidavit is received by the board, a written 

request for reinstatement of a license may be submitted to 

the board after the expiration of five years of such date of 

receipt, however, the applicant shall submit an application 

for re-licensure, pay all required fees and satisfactorily pass 

all licensure examinations. 

4. A request for reinstatement shall be made in writing 

for review and consideration by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 and 1520.A. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 

10:208 (March 1984), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 23:963 (August 

1997), LR 29:1478 (August 2003), LR 38:1592 (July 2012). 

§505. License Renewal Late Fee 

A. Any license renewed after the published expiration 

date stated in R.S. 37:1424 shall be subject to an additional 

late charge of $150 as a late fee for each applicable expired 

year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 

10:208 (March 1984), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1429 (November 

1993), LR 20:1114 (October 1994), LR 25:2408 (December 1999), 

LR 40:2258 (November 2014). 

Chapter 7.  Veterinary Practice 

§700. Definitions 

Alternative Livestock—animals that have not been 

domesticated, but are bred or kept on a farm for use or 

commercial profit. 

Animal Control Officer—a bona fide employee of a 

governmental agency meeting the requirements of R.S. 

37:1514(1). 

Boarding Animal—an animal which is housed at a 

veterinary facility and is not actively undergoing diagnosis 

or treatment for illness, disease, or injury, and/or is not 

actively receiving veterinary care to promote good health. 

An animal which becomes ill, diseased, or sustains an injury 

while in a veterinary facility ceases to be a boarding animal 

under this definition. 

Certified Animal Euthanasia Technicians—individuals 

who have met all of the requirements for certification as 

found in R.S. 37:1551-1558. 

Clinic—a facility in which the practice conducted is 

essentially an out-patient type of practice. 

Controlled Substances—any controlled substance as 

defined by the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration. 

Cosmetic Surgery—that branch of veterinary medicine 

that deals with surgical procedures designed to improve the 

animal's appearance. 

Dental Operation— 

1. the application or use of any instrument or device to 

any portion of an animal's tooth, gum or any related tissue 

for the prevention, cure or relief of any wound, fracture, 

injury, disease or other condition of an animal's tooth, gum 

or related tissue; and 

2. preventative dental procedures including, but not 

limited to, the removal of calculus, soft deposits, plaque, 

stains, or the smoothing, filing or polishing of tooth surfaces. 

Direct Supervision—Unless otherwise specifically defined 

in a provision, the supervision of those tasks or procedures 

that do not require the presence of a licensed, supervising 

veterinarian in the room where performed, but which require 
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the presence of a licensed, supervising veterinarian on the 

premises and his availability for prompt consultation and 

treatment. 

Emergency Facility—a veterinary medical service whose 

primary function is the receiving, treatment and monitoring 

of emergency patients during specified hours of operations. 

Hospital Facility—a facility in which the practice 

conducted includes the confinement as well as the treatment 

of animals. 

Laypeople—individuals who are not registered and/or 

licensed in any of the categories defined in this Rule. 

Layperson—a person who is not registered and/or licensed 

in any of the categories defined in this Rule. 

Legend Drug—any drug or medicinal agent which is not 

listed as a controlled substance by the U.S. DEA but which 

carries the legend "Federal (USA) law restricts this drug to 

use by or on the order of a licensed veterinarian." 

Livestock—domestic animals to include only cattle, hogs, 

sheep, and goats, bred or kept on a farm for use or 

commercial profit. 

Mobile Clinic―a vehicle with special medical or surgical 

facilities, including examination and treatment areas and/or 

surgical facilities, which provides veterinary care to small 

animals and/or large animals where the patient can be taken 

into the vehicle. 

Mobile Practice Vehicle―a vehicle used by a veterinarian 

in a house call or farm call to provide veterinary care where 

the patient is not taken into the vehicle. The vehicle may be 

an extension of a hospital or clinic, and/or may have the 

capabilities of providing aftercare and/or emergency care 

services. 

Non-Boarding Animal—an animal which is actively 

undergoing diagnosis or treatment for illness, disease, or 

injury, and/or is actively receiving veterinary care to 

promote good health. A non-boarding animal may, or may 

not, be housed at a veterinary facility. 

Over-the-Counter (OTC) Product—any product that is 

sold to the public that is not regulated as a legend drug or as 

a controlled substance. 

Prescribe, Prescribing or Prescription—an order for any 

drug, medicine, chemical or controlled substance provided 

by a veterinarian licensed by the board, stemming from the 

veterinarian-client-patient relationship, that is patient 

specific, which is either: 

1. dispensed or administered by the prescribing 

veterinarian; 

2. dispensed by a veterinarian licensed by the board 

other than the prescribing veterinarian; or 

3. written, electronically communicated or given 

orally to a registered pharmacist to be filled, compounded or 

dispensed by the pharmacist in a registered pharmacy. 

Registered Veterinary Technicians—individuals who have 

met all of the requirements for registration pursuant to  

R.S. 37:1541-1549. 

Unlicensed Veterinarians—individuals who have 

completed an approved, accredited program of instruction 

and have received a degree as a Doctor of Veterinary 

Medicine, or if foreign educated have completed the 

Educational Commission for Foreign Veterinary Graduates 

(ECFVG) or the Program for the Assessment of Veterinary 

Education Equivalence (PAVE) program through the 

American Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB), 

but who have not yet successfully passed the national exam 

(NAVLE) or have not been issued a license by the board to 

practice veterinary medicine in the state of Louisiana. 

Individuals who have a Louisiana license in an expired 

status are also unlicensed veterinarians.  

Veterinarian-Client-Patient-Relationship—exists when: 

1. the veterinarian has assumed the responsibility for 

making medical judgments regarding the health of the 

animal(s) and the need for medical treatment; and 

2. the client (owner or duly authorized agent) has 

agreed to follow the instructions of the veterinarian; and 

3. the veterinarian has sufficient knowledge of the 

animal(s) to initiate at least a general or preliminary 

diagnosis of the medical condition of the animal(s). This 

means that: 

a. the veterinarian or associate veterinarian has 

recently seen and is personally acquainted with the keeping 

and care of the animal(s) by virtue of an in-person, physical 

examination of the animal(s) and/or by medically 

appropriate and timely visits to the premises where the 

animal(s) are kept; or 

b. the veterinarian has agreed to serve as a 

consultant to the licensed, primary care veterinarian with 

whom the client and patient have established a relationship 

which meets the criteria of Subparagraph a above; and 

c. the primary veterinarian is readily available for 

follow-up in the event of adverse reactions of the failure of 

the regimen of therapy. 

Wellness or Preventative Care Clinic―a service in which 

a veterinarian licensed by the board administers vaccine, 

performs examinations, and/or diagnostic procedures to 

promote good health, excluding treatment for a diagnosed 

disease, illness or medical condition, at a location other than 

a veterinary hospital, clinic, mobile clinic, or mobile practice 

vehicle. A program for the administration of rabies 

vaccination conducted at a location solely for the specific 

purpose of rabies prevention shall not be considered a 

wellness or preventative care clinic. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1328 

(October 1993), amended LR 20:666 (June 1994), LR 20:1381 

(December 1994), LR 24:940 and 941 (May 1998), LR 24:1932 
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(October 1998), LR 24:2257 (December 1998), LR 27:51 (January 

2001), LR 27:543 (April 2001), LR 31:3162 (December 2005), LR 

33:2424 (November 2007), LR 35:244 (February 2009), LR 40:308 

(February 2014), LR 49:640 (April 2023), amended by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, LR 51:249 (February 2025). 

§701. Record Keeping 

A. It shall be considered unprofessional conduct within 

the meaning of R.S. 37:1526(14) for a licensed veterinarian 

to keep improper records. The purpose of these regulations is 

to produce a record such that a veterinary peer can, by using 

said records, gain a full understanding of the findings, 

diagnostic process, reasons for treatment protocol, and 

applicability of surgical procedures. Records shall be legible, 

and established and maintained as follows. 

1. Each Louisiana licensed veterinarian shall maintain 

an individual written, or computer generated, record on each 

animal or herd to include identification of animal or herd, 

diagnosis of illness, disease or condition and treatment 

provided, progress notes and reassessment, and discharge 

summary, as follows. 

a.i. Identification of the animal or herd shall include 

the breed, sex, description or permanent identification (if 

available), tattoos or other identifying marks, and the name 

and address of the owner. 

 ii. Diagnosis of illness, disease or condition shall 

document the animal or herd's history, signs, symptoms, 

complaints, objective tests such as radiographs and 

laboratory results, and the veterinarian's interpretation of 

examination findings, as well as intended goals and 

treatment including surgical procedures and/or drug therapy. 

Drug therapy shall include the names of legend drugs, 

controlled substances and/or over-the-counter (OTC) 

products as set forth below; the date and amount 

administered, prescribed or dispensed; and the method of 

administration. 

 iii. A progress note shall document the animal or 

herd's subjective status, changes in objective findings, and 

progression or regression of goals and treatment. A progress 

note shall be documented for each visit, for continuation of 

treatment, for the particular diagnosed illness, disease, or 

condition. 

 iv. Reassessment shall include all elements of a 

progress note, as well as a revision of the treatment plan as 

indicated. A new diagnosis of illness, disease or condition 

may be warranted. Reassessment shall only be performed by 

the veterinarian. Reassessment, including a new diagnosis of 

illness, disease, or condition when applicable, shall be 

documented at the time such is performed. 

 v. Discharge summary shall document the reasons 

for discontinuation of care, degree or goal of achievement, 

and a discharge plan, if required, which shall only be 

documented and signed by the attending veterinarian. 

 vi. The documentation standards set forth above 

do not mandate a particular format, however, a record must 

include these elements, as well as any other document 

required by law or the board's rules. Examples include 

General Anesthesia Consent Forms, Euthanasia Consent 

Forms, documents involving prescribing, administering, or 

dispensing legend drugs or controlled substances, and billing 

invoices or statements of services or products provided. The 

veterinarian shall be ultimately responsible for the content 

and maintenance of the record. 

b. records shall be maintained for at least five years, 

including records of large animal and/or herd type practice; 

c. the record keeping requirements contained in 

§701 do not apply to Over-the-Counter (OTC) products 

except: 

 i. if an OTC product has been prescribed by the 

licensed veterinarian as part of a treatment regimen, then the 

sale and instructions must be recorded in the medical record 

in accordance with §701.A.1.a; or 

 ii. if a licensed veterinarian dispenses an OTC 

product and directs the client to use the product in any 

manner not on the product's label, then the product must be 

treated as a legend drug and its use must be properly 

recorded in the animal's medical record in accordance with 

§701.A.1.a. 

2. Radiographs shall be kept in the following manner: 

a. marker must have name of hospital and/or 

clinician; 

b. marker must have identification of the animal, 

i.e., number and/or owner's name; 

c. marker must have date radiograph was made; 

d. radiograph must be properly identified with "L" 

for left and "R" for right; 

e. radiograph must be kept for at least five years. 

B. Maintenance, Ownership, and Release of Records 

1. Patient records shall be maintained for a period of 

five years and are the responsibility and property of the 

veterinarian. The veterinarian shall maintain such records 

and shall not release the records to any person other than the 

client or a person authorized to receive the records for the 

client. 

2. The veterinarian shall provide any and all records 

as requested by the board to the board. Failure to do so shall 

be considered unprofessional conduct. 

3. The records of a veterinary facility are the sole 

property of that facility, and when a veterinarian leaves 

salaried employment or contract services therein, the 

departing veterinarian shall not copy, remove, or make any 

subsequent use of those records. The copying, removal, or 

any subsequent use of those records by the departing 

veterinarian shall be considered a violation of the rules of 

professional conduct within the meaning of R.S. 37:1526. 

C. Copies or synopsis of patient records shall be 

provided to the client or the client's authorized representative 

upon request of the client. A reasonable charge for copying 
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and providing patient records may be required by the 

veterinarian. Refusal to provide such records upon written 

request by the client shall be considered a violation of the 

rules of professional conduct within the meaning of  

R.S. 37:1526. A synopsis record shall include at a minimum 

the following information: 

1. name or identification of animal or herd; 

2. name of owner; 

3. all dates of treatment; 

4. the complaint; 

5. any abnormal findings; 

6. diagnosis; and 

7. therapy; including: 

 i. the amount administered; and 

 ii. the method of administration of: 

(a). all drugs; 

(b).  chemicals; and 

(c). medications; and 

8. surgical procedures performed for each date of 

treatment. 

D. A consultant veterinarian who dispenses a legend 

drug upon authorization of the primary care veterinarian 

must establish a patient record and/or dispensing log which 

shall contain at least the following information: 

1. name of patient and/or other identification; 

2. breed; 

3. sex; 

4. name of client/owner; 

5. name of drug dispensed; 

6. amount dispensed; 

7. date dispensed; 

8. name of the patient's primary care veterinarian; and 

9. his/her diagnosis or therapy regime for which the 

drug being dispensed has been prescribed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 

6:71 (February 1980), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:225 (March 1990), 

LR 19:1328 (October 1993), LR 20:1381 (December 1994), LR 

23:969 (August 1997), LR 24:941 (May 1998), LR 25:872 (May 

1999), LR 33:2424 (November 2007), amended by the Department 

of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 

51:249 (February 2025). 

§702. Direct Supervision 

A. Employees of a licensed veterinarian working under 

the definition of direct supervision must be employed 

according to the following provisions: 

1. a veterinarian-client-patient relationship with the 

licensed, supervising veterinarian has been established; and 

2. treatment is being performed on the order or 

prescription of the licensed, supervising veterinarian, except 

that no unlicensed person may perform surgery, diagnosis, 

prognosis, or the prescribing of drugs, medicines, or 

appliances; and 

3. the licensed, supervising veterinarian has assumed 

the liability for any treatment performed. 

B. A Certified Animal Euthanasia Technician (CAET) as 

defined in §700 may perform only those tasks or procedures 

defined in R.S. 37:1556. 

C. A Registered Veterinary Technician (RVT) as defined 

in §700 shall perform all tasks or procedures under direct 

supervision of a licensed veterinarian, except: 

1. an RVT may perform the duties listed in §702.E.1 

without the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian, but 

the RVT is required to follow the record keeping 

requirements found in §702.E.3; and 

2. an RVT may administer medications and/or 

treatments to non-boarding animals (hospitalized or ill) 

without direct supervision by a licensed veterinarian under 

the following conditions: 

a. the licensed veterinarian must chart the precise 

treatment plan to be used in the animal's medical record. 

This treatment plan may include oral, topical, and injectable 

treatments, including fluid therapy; 

b. no diagnostic decisions or treatment changes may 

be made by an RVT; 

c. the licensed veterinarian must personally check 

the animal and update the treatment plan at least once every 

24 hours; 

d. the licensed veterinarian has the ultimate 

responsibility for the proper diagnosis and treatment of the 

animal, including the work delegated to the RVT; 

e. the licensed veterinarian has the responsibility to 

verify that any person who is assigned duties under §702 is 

legally licensed in Louisiana as an RVT. Failure to verify 

this information shall be considered unprofessional conduct 

within the meaning of R.S. 37:1526; 

f. if the animal's medical condition changes, the 

licensed veterinarian must be available for consultation and 

reevaluation of the animal. 

D. Unlicensed veterinarians, as defined in §700, shall 

not practice veterinary medicine until such time as they are 

licensed by the state of Louisiana. An unlicensed 

veterinarian may only function as a veterinary assistant 

under direct supervision. 
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E. A layperson shall perform all tasks or procedures 

under direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian under the 

following conditions and with the exception described in 

§702.E.1. 

1. A layperson may administer medications to 

boarding animals without direct supervision by a licensed 

veterinarian if the medication is directed to be used orally or 

topically and if the licensed veterinarian has recorded the 

exact treatments to be given in the animal's medical record. 

2. When a layperson administers medications to non-

boarding animals under the direct supervision of a licensed 

veterinarian, the licensed veterinarian must personally check 

the animal and update the treatment plan in the medical 

record at least once every 24 hours. 

3. When a layperson administers medications, with or 

without direct supervision, the layperson shall keep a written 

record of all treatments which are performed, and that 

written record shall be incorporated into the animal's 

medical record. 

4. The licensed veterinarian has the ultimate 

responsibility for the proper diagnosis and treatment of the 

animal, including the work delegated to a layperson. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:225 

(March 1990), amended LR 19:1329 (October 1993), LR 24:940 

(May 1998), LR 40:309 (February 2014), LR 49:640 (April 2023), 

amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of 

Veterinary Medicine, LR 51:249 (February 2025). 

§703. Consultant 

A. The term consulting as used in R.S. 37:1514(4) does 

not include any acts which constitute the practice of 

veterinary medicine as defined in R.S.37:1513(4). 

B. The term consultant as used in the definition of a 

veterinarian-client-patient relationship found in §700 may 

only be applied to a Louisiana licensed veterinarian. To 

perform a consultation, the consultant veterinarian must 

speak directly with the patient's primary provider of 

veterinary care who must also be a licensed veterinarian in 

Louisiana or in the patient's primary or most recent state of 

residence. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 

6:71 (February 1980), amended by the Department of Health and 

Human Resources, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:225 

(March 1990), LR 20:1381 (December 1994), repromulgated by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, LR 50:1140 (August 2024). 

§704. Consulting and Providing Legend and Certain 

Controlled Substances 

A. Legend Drugs 

1. When an animal control agency which is operated 

by a state or local governmental agency or which is operated 

by any duly incorporated humane society which has a 

contract with a local governmental agency to perform animal 

control services on behalf of the local governmental agency 

seeks to administer legend drugs to an animal for the sole 

purpose of animal capture and/or animal restraint, the animal 

control agency must have a staff or consulting veterinarian 

who is licensed to practice veterinary medicine by the board 

and who obtains the legend drugs. 

2. Said legend drugs must be stored and administered 

under the general supervision of the licensed veterinarian. 

General supervision means that the licensed veterinarian 

must provide the employee(s) of the animal control agency 

with written instructions and follow-up assistance on the 

proper storage, use and administration of the drug(s) being 

provided. 

3. The licensed veterinarian may submit to the board, 

for review and/or approval, a written protocol of his 

supervision of the animal control agency's employees. 

4. The licensed veterinarian shall also require the 

animal control agency's employees to maintain record 

keeping logs which shall include, but would not be limited 

to, the following: 

a. date of each use of a legend drug; 

b. species of animal; 

c. estimated weight of animal; 

d. dose administered; 

e. name of animal control officer administering the 

drug. 

5. Said records should be reviewed by the supervising 

veterinarian on at least a quarterly basis. 

B. Telazol (Tiletamine HCl and Zolazepam HCl) and 

Ketamine (Ketamine HCl) 

1. When an animal control agency which is operated 

by a state or local governmental agency or which is operated 

by any duly incorporated humane society which has a 

contract with a local government agency to perform animal 

control services on behalf of the local governmental agency 

seeks to administer the controlled substance Telazol 

(tiletamine HCl and zolazepam HCl) or Ketamine (ketamine 

HCl), to an animal for the sole purpose of animal capture 

and/or animal restraint, the animal control agency, unless it 

has a Lead CAET as defined in R.S. 37:1552(4), must have a 

staff or consulting veterinarian who is licensed to practice 

veterinary medicine by the Board of Veterinary Medicine 

and who is registered with the Drug Enforcement 

Administration (DEA) and licensed by the state controlled 

dangerous substances program at the shelter location where 

the drugs will be stored and administered who obtains, and 

who is responsible for, the Telazol (tiletamine HCl and 

zolazepam HCl) or Ketamine (ketamine HCl) used. 

2. A storage and use plan for Telazol (tiletamine HCl 

and zolazepam HCl) and Ketamine (ketamine HCl) which 

meets or exceeds the requirements of all federal or state drug 

enforcement agencies (including storage of controlled 
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substances in a securely locked, substantially constructed 

cabinet and the keeping of a perpetual inventory as required 

by LAC 48:I.Chapter 39) and the record keeping 

requirements of this Chapter shall be submitted to the Board 

of Veterinary Medicine for approval. 

a. This usage plan shall include a requirement that 

each use of Telazol (tiletamine HCl and zolazepam HCl) and 

Ketamine (ketamine HCl) shall be documented for review 

by the licensed veterinarian responsible for the purchase and 

inventory of that drug. 

b. This usage plan shall include a requirement that 

this documentation include, but not be limited to: 

 i. date of each use of the drug; 

 ii. species of animal; 

 iii. estimated weight of animal; 

 iv. dose administered; 

 v. name of animal control officer administering 

the drug; 

 vi. a constant (running) inventory of the drug 

present at the facility. 

c. This usage plan shall include a requirement that a 

review of each use of Telazol (tiletamine HCl and zolazepam 

HCl) and Ketamine (ketamine HCl) shall be made by the 

responsible veterinarian and that said veterinarian shall 

initial the usage log entries to indicate this review. A review 

of the usage plan shall be made at least quarterly and the 

quantities of the drug used and on hand shall be tallied and 

authenticated. Any variance shall be noted in the log and 

steps should be taken and documented to correct the 

problem. 

d. This usage plan shall include a requirement that 

any removal of Telazol (tiletamine HCl and zolazepam HCl) 

or Ketamine (ketamine HCl) from the securely locked, 

substantially constructed cabinet shall be in minimal 

amounts, shall be maintained in a locked container when not 

in use, and shall be documented in a manner to include, but 

not be limited to: 

 i. a signed log indicating the person removing the 

drug; 

 ii. the date on which the drug was removed; 

 iii. an accounting for all drug used and the amount 

returned; 

 iv. the date on which the remaining drug was 

returned and the signature of the person returning it. 

C. A licensed veterinarian who chooses to assist an 

animal control shelter in the methods prescribed in §704 

shall be solely responsible for which drugs he or she is 

willing to provide and in what quantities. 

D. Section 704 does not pertain to any controlled 

substances listed in any DEA classification schedule or state 

of Louisiana classification schedule, except Telazol 

(tiletamine HCl and zolazepam HCl) and Ketamine 

(ketamine HCl). This Section specifically does not apply to 

sodium pentobarbital, which is regulated for animal control 

agency use in R.S. 37:1551-1558. 

E. The definitions found in §700 shall apply to all terms 

used in §704. 

F. Failure of a licensed veterinarian to comply with any 

and all provisions of §704 shall be considered a violation of 

the rules of professional conduct. Said veterinarian may be 

subject to disciplinary action as provided for in R.S. 37:1518 

and 1526. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 20:666 

(June 1994); amended LR 24:334 (February 1998), LR 25:519 

(March 1999), LR 26:317 (February 2000), amended by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, LR 51:250 (February 2025). 

§705. Prescribing and Dispensing Drugs 

A. Prohibited Activities 

1. No legend drug, as defined in §700, shall be 

administered, prescribed, dispensed, delivered to, or ordered 

for animals with which the veterinarian has not established a 

veterinarian-client-patient relationship as a primary care 

provider or as a consultant to the primary care provider. A 

consultant veterinarian who dispenses a legend drug must 

maintain records in accordance with §701. 

2. No controlled substance, as defined in §700, shall 

be administered, prescribed, dispensed, delivered to, or 

ordered for animals with which the veterinarian has not 

established a veterinarian-client-patient relationship as a 

primary care provider by having personally examined the 

individual animal, herd, or a representative segment or a 

consignment lot thereof, and determined that such controlled 

substance is therapeutically indicated following said 

examination. 

3. Any drug, medicine, chemical or controlled 

substance prescribed, dispensed, administered, delivered or 

ordered pursuant to this rule must be intended for the use of 

the patient and shall not be prescribed, dispensed, 

administered, delivered or ordered for the use of the client or 

any other human. 

B. All drugs, chemicals, medicines and/or biological 

agents shall be maintained, administered, dispensed and 

prescribed in compliance with state and federal laws. 

C. All repackaged drugs dispensed by a licensed 

veterinarian shall be stored in approved safety closure 

containers, except that this provision shall not apply to drugs 

dispensed to any person who requests that the medication 

not be placed in such containers, or in such form or size that 

it cannot be dispensed reasonably in such containers. 

D. Records shall be maintained in accordance with §701. 

E. A veterinarian who has a federal D.E.A. number and 

uses or dispenses controlled substances must comply with 
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the federal regulations pertaining to the dispensing, storage 

and usage of controlled substances. 

F. Any veterinarian who violates this rule or any portion 

thereof, shall be guilty of unprofessional conduct within the 

meaning of R.S. 37:1526(14). 

G. Providing Prescriptions 

1. A client is not obligated to purchase a prescription 

medication from the prescribing veterinarian. Therefore, 

when a veterinarian-client-patient relationship exists and a 

veterinarian has determined that a prescription medication 

will be used in a patient's treatment or preventive health 

plan, it shall be considered a violation of the rules of 

professional conduct, within the meaning of R.S. 

37:1526(14), for a veterinarian to refuse to provide a written 

prescription to the client so long as the following conditions 

exist: 

a. the veterinarian has determined that the patient's 

life is not endangered without the immediate administration 

of the prescription medication; and 

b. in the veterinarian's medical opinion, the 

prescribed substance is medically safe for in-home 

administration by the client. 

2. A veterinarian shall not be required under §705 to 

write a prescription for controlled substances or a 

prescription for any medication that, in the veterinarian's 

medical judgment, is not appropriate for the patient's 

medical care. 

3. A veterinarian may refuse to write a prescription 

under §705 if it is not directly requested by a client with 

whom a veterinarian-patient-client relationship exists. 

4. A written prescription can be construed to include 

any manner of authorization for filling a prescription, 

including verbal or electronic communication. 

H. It shall be a violation of the rules of professional 

conduct under R.S. 37:1526(14) for a veterinarian in the 

course of his veterinary practice to use or dispense any 

products, including drugs, which are expired. 

I. It shall be a violation of the rules of professional 

conduct under R.S. 37:1526(14) for a veterinarian to be in 

possession of drugs or other medical products which are 

over six months past their expiration date unless the 

materials are obviously removed from use and it can be 

documented that said drugs are in the process of being 

returned or otherwise disposed of. 

J. Only a veterinarian licensed by the board may 

prescribe any drug, medicine, chemical or controlled 

substance for a patient after the establishment of the 

veterinarian/client/patient relationship, with the exception of 

the delegation of such authority pursuant to Subsection M 

below. 

K. The veterinarian is responsible for and shall maintain 

accurate medical records when prescribing any drug, 

medicine, chemical or controlled substance which includes 

the following: 

1. client's name; 

2. patient's name; 

3. date of prescription; 

4. name of drug; 

5. usage dosage including the route of administration; 

6. quantity dispensed and number of refills; 

7. name of veterinarian prescribing the drug, 

medicine, chemical or controlled substance; 

8. telephone calls changing the prescription or 

dosages must be recorded in the medical record of the 

patient; and 

9. refill information must be recorded on the 

prescription and in the medical record of the patient. 

L. The initial prescription of a legend drug shall be 

communicated personally or by telephone to the pharmacy 

by the veterinarian. The initial prescription and any refills of 

a controlled drug shall be communicated personally or by 

telephone to the pharmacy by the veterinarian. A written 

prescription for a controlled drug shall be personally 

prepared by the prescribing veterinarian. A written 

prescription for a controlled drug shall be handwritten or 

typed, and shall contain the specific client/patient’s names 

(or identifying information if herd, etc.) and the drug(s) 

prescribed with usage directions, appropriate government 

registration numbers, dated, and signed by the prescribing 

veterinarian, affixed with his signature stamp, or electronic 

signature thereon if transmitted electronically to a pharmacy. 

However, the use of a signature stamp or electronic signature 

will have the presumption the prescribing veterinarian 

knows of, and has personally provided, the prescription for 

the use of the patient. 

M. The veterinarian may delegate to an office employee 

the authority to communicate a refill of a legend drug to the 

pharmacy on behalf of the veterinarian pursuant to written 

protocol established prior to the delegation of such authority. 

N. The written protocol required in Subsection M above 

shall be maintained on the premises as part of the 

prescribing veterinarian's facility procedure and shall 

include, but not be limited to, the following: 

1. an authorization dated and signed by the 

veterinarian delegating specific authority to the office 

employee; 

2. the authorization shall be for a stated limited 

period; 

3. the authorization shall specify the exact nature and 

extent of the delegation of authority; 

4. the medical record of the patient shall be 

documented to show the exercise of the delegated authority 

at the time the office employee communicates to the 

pharmacy the order to refill; 
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5. the office employee who has the delegated 

authority and the veterinarian shall sign the written protocol; 

and 

6. the written protocol shall be made available to the 

pharmacy at issue on request. 

O. A veterinarian licensed by the board may lawfully 

prescribe and/or dispense legend and controlled drugs, and a 

mix of these drugs, to a deer farmer licensed by, and in good 

standing with, the Department of Agriculture and Forestry 

only under the following terms and conditions. 

1. For the purpose of this Section, deer, deer farmer, 

and deer farm operation shall apply to cervids only which 

are further exclusively defined as imported exotic deer and 

antelope, elk and farm raised white tail deer as defined in 

R.S. 3:3101 et seq. 

2. The veterinary-client-patient relationship must first 

be established, and thereafter maintained, as defined in §700 

and §705.A.2. 

3. The veterinarian shall be familiar with the deer 

farm operation at issue and have general knowledge of the 

species and numbers of animals on the premises. 

4. The licensed deer farmer shall personally maintain 

a perpetual written inventory of the drugs referenced in this 

Section, including the following information: 

a. name of drug and date purchased; 

b. name and address of veterinarian the drug was 

purchased from and a written receipt; 

c. amount purchased; 

d. date of each use; 

e. amount used for each administration; 

f. reason for each administration; 

g. the identity of each animal by electronic device, 

tattoo and/or tag upon capture; and 

h. the date and amount of drug wasted, spilled or 

lost. 

5. The licensed deer farmer shall comply with all state 

and federal laws regarding the storage of the drugs, and the 

perpetual written inventory, in a double locked container 

when not in use. 

6. The licensed deer farmer who obtains the drugs 

from the veterinarian shall be the only person allowed to use 

or administer the drugs on his deer and for capture purposes 

and subsequent reversal of the effects of those drugs only. 

7. Prior to obtaining the referenced drugs, the licensed 

deer farmer must successfully complete a board approved 

chemical capture course. The veterinarian prescribing and/or 

dispensing the drugs must initially obtain and maintain in his 

records a copy of the deer farmer's current license issued by 

the Department of Agriculture and Forestry and a copy of 

the licensed deer farmer's current certificate verifying 

successful completion of the chemical capture course 

approved by the board. The licensed deer farmer must 

successfully complete a board approved chemical capture 

course every three consecutive calendar years. 

8. The veterinarian may only lawfully prescribe 

and/or dispense the drugs referenced herein in minimal 

quantities based on the size of the herd at issue and the 

history of prior use, if applicable, of the drug or drugs 

requested by the licensed deer farmer. 

9. Upon requesting a refill of, or an additional 

permissible amount of a drug, the licensed deer farmer shall 

provide to the prescribing and/or dispensing veterinarian a 

copy of the deer farmer's current license issued by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, a copy of the 

current certificate verifying successful completion within the 

last three consecutive calendar years of the chemical capture 

course approved by the board, and a copy of the perpetual 

written inventory, as well as return all empty or sealed 

containers of the drugs in the case of a refill. The copy of the 

deer farmer's current license, the copy of the current 

certificate verifying successful completion within the last 

three consecutive calendar years of the board approved 

chemical capture course, the copy of the perpetual written 

inventory, and all empty or sealed containers shall be kept by 

the veterinarian for his record keeping purposes as required 

in §701. 

10. Any prescribing and/or dispensing veterinarian who 

has reason to believe that a licensed deer farmer is not in 

compliance with the items and conditions of this Section, or 

is otherwise abusing the privileges established by this 

Section, shall notify, in writing, the board and the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry immediately. 

11. The prescribing and/or dispensing veterinarian shall 

comply with all state and federal laws and/or regulations 

regarding the prescribing and/or dispensing of any legend or 

controlled drug, or a mix thereof, to a deer farmer licensed 

by, and in good standing with, the Department of Agriculture 

and Forestry. 

12. Any prescribing and/or dispensing veterinarian who 

violates, or otherwise fails to comply with this Section, or 

any part thereof, including all state and federal laws and/or 

regulations, shall be guilty of unprofessional conduct within 

the meaning of R.S. 37:1526(14). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 

6:71 (February 1980), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:225 (March 1990), 

LR 19:1329 (October 1993) LR 20:1381 (December 1994), LR 

23:1686 (December 1997), LR 24:1932 (October 1998), LR 

25:1249 (July 1999), LR 25:1627 (September 1999), LR 27:51 

(January 2001), LR 30:797 (April 2004), LR 37:1571 (June 2011), 

amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of 

Veterinary Medicine, LR 51:250 (February 2025). 



Title 46, Part LXXXV 

 Louisiana Administrative Code February 2025 19 

§706. Labeling of Medications Dispensed 

A. It is the responsibility of the veterinarian to label all 

medications and/or other veterinary products as dispensed. 

This label must include the following: 

1. name, address and telephone number of clinic; 

2. name of veterinarian dispensing medications; 

3. patient name and client name; 

4. name of medication and/or other veterinary product 

dispensed; 

5. quantity and strength of product; 

6. directions for administration; 

7. date dispensed; and 

8. precautionary statements as required by law, i.e., 

not for human consumption, poisonous, etc. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:226 

(March 1990), LR 19:1329 (October 1993), repromulgated by the 

Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, LR 50:1140 (August 2024). 

§707. Accepted Livestock Management Practices 

A. The following are hereby declared to be accepted 

livestock management practices as provided by R.S. 

37:1514(3): 

1. the practice of artificial insemination (A.I.) and the 

non-surgical impregnation (with frozen embryo) of livestock 

to include that performed for a customer service fee or that 

performed on individually-owned livestock; 

2. the procedure involving the collection, processing, 

and freezing of semen from privately owned livestock 

carried out by NAAB-CSS approved artificial insemination 

business organizations;  

3. the carrying out of schools and short courses, 

teaching A.I. techniques for livestock and equine, 

prospective A.I. technicians, and university agricultural 

students by qualified university faculty, cooperative 

extension service specialists, and qualified employees of 

NAAB-CSS approved A.I. organizations; 

4. performing the operation of male castration, 

docking, or earmarking of livestock raised for human 

consumption; 

5. performing the normal procedure of dehorning 

livestock, with the exception of surgical cosmetic dehorning, 

which is defined as the practice of veterinary medicine; 

6. aiding in the nonsurgical birth process in livestock 

management; 

7. treating livestock for disease prevention with a non-

prescription medicine or vaccine; 

8. branding and/or tattooing for identification of 

livestock; 

9. reciprocal aid of neighbors in performing accepted 

livestock management practices without compensation; 

10. shoeing horses. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Human Resources, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 

9:213 (April 1983), amended by the Department of Health and 

Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 23:969 (August 

1997), LR 24:1933 (October 1998), amended by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 51:250 

(February 2025). 

§708. Anesthesia Services 

A. Anesthetic and Drugs. Anesthesia equipment in 

accordance with the level of surgery performed should be 

available at all times. The minimum amount of support 

equipment required for the delivery of assisted ventilation 

should be: 

1. resuscitation bags of appropriate volumes; and 

2. an assortment of endotracheal tubes in working 

condition. 

B. Examination and Monitoring 

1. Every animal shall be given a physical examination 

within 12 hours prior to the administration of a general 

anesthetic. 

2. Some method of respiratory monitoring is 

mandatory, such as observing chest movements, watching 

the rebreathing bag, or use of a respirometer. Some method 

of cardiac monitoring is recommended and may include use 

of a stethoscope or electrocardiographic monitor. 

3. The animal under general anesthesia shall be under 

continual observation until at least the swallowing reflex has 

returned. 

C. No patient should be released from veterinary 

supervision to the owner/client until it is ambulatory unless 

it is not ambulatory for reasons unrelated to anesthesia. The 

only exception to this rule would be the case where the client 

demands to take the animal home against the advice and 

judgment of the attending veterinarian. In this case, the 

veterinarian is recommended to have the client sign a release 

form stating that the owner/client has been advised to leave 

the animal, that the owner/client is aware of the risks 

involved, and that the owner/client is taking the animal 

against the advice and judgment of the attending 

veterinarian. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1330 

(October 1993), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture 

and Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:1140 (August 

2024). 
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§709. Surgical Services 

A. Aseptic surgery shall be practiced in all cases in 

which aseptic surgery is demanded by the profession. 

Aseptic surgery shall be defined as procedures in which 

aseptic technique is practiced in patient preparation, 

instrumentation, and surgical attire. 

B. Surgical attire and technique for aseptic surgery is 

defined as: 

1. disinfection of surgeon's hands by scrubbing with a 

disinfecting surgical scrub solution; 

2. sterilized surgical gown with long sleeves is 

recommended but not required. Clean clothing and sterilized 

gloves must be worn; 

3. aseptic surgery requires sterilization of all 

appropriate equipment. An acceptable method of sterilization 

sufficient to kill spores must be used on all instruments, 

packs, and equipment intended for use in aseptic surgical 

procedures; 

4. external use of heat sensitive tape type indicators 

on surgical gowns, packs, and resterilized gloves or the use 

of "steam clock" type indicators deep in surgical packs shall 

be required to monitor sterilization efficiency. The date the 

items were sterilized should be indicated; 

5. ancillary personnel in the surgery room should wear 

clean clothing and footwear. 

C. Hot and cold running water should be readily 

accessible to the surgery room. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1330 

(October 1993), amended LR 23:969 (August 1997), repromulgated 

by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, LR 50:1140 (August 2024). 

§710. Dental Operations 

A. Dental operations are included in the definition of the 

practice of veterinary medicine as found in R.S. 37:1513(4). 

B. Nothing in these rules shall prohibit any person from 

utilizing cotton swabs, gauze, dental floss, dentifrice, 

toothbrushes or similar items to clean an animal's teeth. 

C. In branches of veterinary medicine other than equine 

dentistry and livestock dentistry, with proper training and 

under the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian, 

laypeople and registered veterinary technicians employed by 

a licensed veterinarian may perform supragingival scaling 

and polishing of teeth, making and developing dental 

radiographs, taking impressions, production of dental 

models, and the charting of dental pathology. All other 

dental operations must be performed by a licensed 

veterinarian. 

D. In the branch of veterinary medicine dealing with 

equine dentistry, with proper training and under the direct 

supervision of a licensed veterinarian, laypeople and 

registered veterinary technicians employed by a licensed 

veterinarian may perform the rasping (floating) of molar, 

premolar, and canine teeth, and the removal of deciduous 

incisor and premolar teeth (caps). All other dental 

operations, including but not limited to the extraction of 

teeth, amputation of large molar, incisor, or canine teeth, the 

extraction of first premolar teeth (wolf teeth) and repair of 

damaged or diseased teeth must be performed by a licensed 

veterinarian. 

E. In the branch of veterinary medicine dealing with 

livestock dentistry, with proper training and under the direct 

supervision of a licensed veterinarian, laypeople and 

registered veterinary technicians employed by a licensed 

veterinarian may perform rasping (floating) of premolar and 

molar teeth, and the removal of deciduous incisor teeth 

(caps). All other dental operations, including but not limited 

to the extraction of teeth, amputation of incisors, premolars, 

and molar teeth, and repair of damaged or diseased teeth 

must be performed by a licensed veterinarian. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1330 

(October 1993), amended LR 25:519 (March 1999), repromulgated 

by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, LR 50:1141 (August 2024). 

§711. Definitions and Classification of Practice 

Facilities 

A. In order to be classified as, advertised as, or use the 

word "hospital" as defined in §700 in the name of a 

veterinary facility, all of the following minimum standards 

and requirements shall be met. 

1. Facility shall have a reception room and office, or a 

combination of the two. 

2. An examination room separate from other areas of 

the facility and of sufficient size to accommodate the doctor, 

assistant, patient and client shall be maintained. This room 

shall have: 

a. adequate materials and instrumentation to 

perform a thorough physical examination; and 

b. adequate lighting to perform a thorough physical 

examination; and 

c. immediate access to a sink with hot and cold 

running water; and 

d. an examination table with impervious surface 

which can be easily cleaned and disinfected. 

3. Facility shall have a surgery room which is separate 

and distinct from all other rooms. This room shall have: 

a. lighting adequate to perform surgery; 

b. a surgery table with an impervious surface which 

can be cleaned and easily disinfected; 

c. appropriate anesthesia equipment; 

d. oxygen readily available; 
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e. emergency drugs for cardiac and pulmonary 

resuscitation; and 

f. walls and floors constructed with materials 

capable of being cleaned and disinfected. 

4. Facility shall have a surgical scrub or preparation 

area containing pre-anesthetic medications and surgical 

scrub. 

5. Facility shall have access to a diagnostic X-ray 

machine and development equipment area kept in 

compliance with state and federal regulations.  

6. A clinical laboratory area shall be available 

containing diagnostic laboratory equipment, test kits and 

materials to perform necessary tests. This may be an in-

house laboratory or an outside diagnostic laboratory facility 

which is capable of returning diagnostic results in 24 hours. 

7. Facility shall have a kennel or housing area where 

animals can be retained for treatment and post-surgical 

observation. This area shall have at a minimum: 

a. separate compartments for each animal which 

provide for comfortable and sanitary conditions; and 

b. exercise areas which provide and allow effective 

separation of animals and their waste products and 

appropriate cleaning. 

8. Facility shall have adequate indoor lighting for 

halls, wards, reception areas, examining rooms and surgical 

rooms. 

B. Clinic 

1. In order to be classified as, advertised as, or use the 

word "clinic" as defined in §700 in the name of the facility, 

all standards described under §711.A, shall apply. 

2. A facility defined as a clinic is not required to meet 

the requirements for kennels as described in §711.A.7 except 

where surgery is being performed. 

3. A clinic performing surgery shall provide adequate 

kennel facilities as per §711.A.7 until the patient is 

discharged. 

C. A mobile clinic as defined in §700 shall have a 

permanent base of operations with a published address, 

telephone facilities for making appointments or responding 

to emergencies, and the following. 

1. A veterinarian operating or working in a mobile 

clinic must have a written agreement with a local veterinary 

hospital or clinic to provide hospitalization, surgery, and 

radiology if these services are not available at the mobile 

clinic. Local means within a 30-mile radius. 

2. A veterinarian operating or working in a mobile 

clinic must have a written agreement with a local veterinary 

hospital or clinic to provide emergency services and must 

display a notice to that effect in public view. The phone 

number and address for this emergency service provider 

must be provided to each patron of the mobile clinic. Local 

means within a 30-mile radius. 

3. A veterinarian operating or working in a mobile 

clinic must remain on site until all patients are discharged to 

their owners and must maintain autonomy for all medical 

decisions made. 

4. A physical examination and history must be taken 

for each patient at a mobile clinic and the medical records 

for such patients must meet the requirements for record 

keeping in §701. These records must be maintained by the 

veterinarian for five years and must remain accessible to the 

client for that period. 

5. The veterinarian operating or working in a mobile 

clinic is responsible for consultation with clients and referral 

of patients when disease is detected or suspected. The 

veterinarian is also responsible for information and 

recommendations given to the client by the mobile clinic's 

staff. 

6. The veterinarian operating or working in a mobile 

clinic must have his current Louisiana veterinary license on 

display to the clients. 

7. Operation of the veterinary medical mobile clinic 

requires the following: 

a. a clean, safe location; 

b. the mobile clinic must meet local sanitation 

regulations; 

c. lined waste receptacles; 

d. fresh, running water for cleaning and first aid; 

e. examination areas with good lighting and 

smooth, easily disinfected surfaces; 

f. examination and surgery preparation areas; 

g. surgical area must be sterile, and the surgery 

table must have an impervious surface which can be cleaned 

and easily disinfected; 

h. drugs must be kept according to federal, state, 

and local laws. If controlled drugs are kept on the premises, 

they must be kept in a locking, secure cabinet for storage 

and an accurate controlled substance log must be maintained 

and available for inspection; 

i. all equipment must be kept clean and in working 

order; 

j. the mobile clinic must have the capability to deal 

with sudden emergencies and should have oxygen, 

resuscitation drugs and equipment, treatment for shock, and 

fluid administration materials readily available; and 

k. the mobile clinic must have all biomedical waste 

properly disposed of and must have documentation to prove 

that fact on the premises for inspection. 

D. Emergency Facilities 

1. An emergency facility as defined in §700 shall have 

the following: 

a. doctors; 
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b. support staff; 

c. instrumentation; 

d. medications; and 

e. diagnostic equipment sufficient to provide an 

appropriate level of emergency care during all hours of 

operation. 

2. If an emergency facility offers surgery services and 

retains patients in the emergency facility, all facility 

standards pertaining to hospital facilities as defined in 

§711.A shall be furnished and maintained. 

E. A wellness or preventative care clinic shall have a 

published physical address for the specific location, 

telephone facilities for responding to emergency situations, 

and the following. 

1. The veterinarian operating or providing permissible 

services in a wellness or preventative care clinic shall have a 

prior written agreement with a local veterinary hospital or 

clinic, within a 30 mile or 30 minutes travel time, to provide 

laboratory services, hospitalization, surgery, and/or 

radiology, if these services are not available at the wellness 

or preventative care clinic. 

2. The veterinarian operating or providing permissible 

services in a wellness or preventative care clinic shall have a 

prior written agreement with a local veterinary hospital or 

clinic, within a 30 mile or 30 minutes travel time, to provide 

emergency care services. A notice of available emergency 

care services, including the telephone number and physical 

address of the local veterinary hospital or clinic, shall be 

posted in a conspicuous place at the wellness or preventative 

care clinic, and a copy of the notice or information shall be 

given to each client prior to the administration of a vaccine, 

the performance of an examination and/or a diagnostic 

procedure to promote good health. 

3. The veterinarian operating or providing permissible 

services in a wellness or preventative care clinic shall 

physically remain on site until all patients are discharged to 

their respective owners, or authorized agents. 

4. The veterinarian operating or providing permissible 

services in a wellness or preventative care clinic shall 

comply with the requirements for record keeping regarding 

the storage, maintenance and availability to the client of the 

medical records for the patients as set forth in the board's 

rules on record keeping. The veterinarian operating or 

providing permissible services in a wellness or preventative 

care clinic shall be the owner of the medical records of the 

patients. 

5. The veterinarian operating or providing permissible 

services in a wellness or preventative care clinic shall be 

responsible for consultation with clients and the prompt 

referral of patients when disease, illness or a medical 

condition is diagnosed. 

6. The veterinarian operating or providing permissible 

services in a wellness or preventative care clinic shall be 

responsible for the information and representations provided 

to the clients by the staff at the wellness or preventative care 

clinic. 

7. The veterinarian operating or providing permissible 

services in a wellness or preventative care clinic shall have 

his license or current renewal, in good standing, to practice 

veterinary medicine in Louisiana on display in a 

conspicuous place at each location of a wellness or 

preventative care clinic. 

8. Operation of a wellness or preventative care clinic 

shall also have the following on site at each location: 

a. a clean, safe location; 

b. meet local and state sanitation requirements; 

c. lined waste receptacles; 

d. fresh, running water for cleaning purposes and 

first aid; 

e. an examination area with good lighting and 

smooth, easily disinfected surfaces; 

f. all drugs, medicines, or chemicals shall be stored, 

inventoried, prescribed, administered, dispensed, and/or used 

in accordance with federal, state and local laws and rules; 

g. all equipment shall be kept clean and in proper 

working order; 

h. the ability to address sudden life-threatening 

emergencies which may arise, including the availability, on 

site, of oxygen, resuscitation drugs, treatment for shock, and 

fluid administration materials; and 

i. the proper disposal of biomedical waste and the 

required facilities, on site, for such disposal, as well as 

documentation on site to verify the proper disposal of 

biomedical waste. 

9. The veterinarian operating or providing permissible 

services in a wellness or preventative care clinic shall make 

all decisions which involve, whether directly or indirectly, 

the practice of veterinary medicine and will be held 

accountable for such decisions in accordance with the 

Veterinary Practice Act, the board's rules, and other 

applicable laws. 

10. The veterinarian operating or providing permissible 

services in a wellness or preventative care clinic shall be 

responsible for compliance with all standards and 

requirements set forth in the Veterinary Practice Act, the 

board's rules, and other applicable laws. 

11. The veterinarian operating or providing permissible 

services in a wellness or preventative care clinic shall 

provide a copy of any signed written agreement, including 

renewal, extension or amendment, required by this rule to 

the board prior to commencement of the terms of the 

agreement. 

12. The veterinarian operating or providing permissible 

services in a wellness or preventative care clinic shall 

provide the board, upon written demand, a copy of the 
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written agreement with the local veterinary hospital or clinic 

required by this rule. 

F. A mobile practice vehicle shall comply with the 

following requirements. 

1. A mobile practice vehicle shall provide veterinary 

care where the patient is not taken into the vehicle. 

2. A mobile practice vehicle may be an extension of 

an existing hospital and/or clinic defined in §700. The 

hospital or clinic associated with the mobile practice vehicle 

shall operate in compliance with Subsections 711.A and B. 

3. The veterinarian operating or providing veterinary 

care in a mobile practice vehicle which does not have the 

capabilities of providing aftercare and/or emergency care 

services, and/or which is not an extension of an existing 

hospital or clinic, shall have a prior written agreement with a 

local veterinary hospital or clinic, within a 30 mile or 30 

minutes travel time, to provide aftercare and/or emergency 

care services. The written agreement to provide aftercare 

and/or emergency care services in this Rule shall not be 

required if the mobile practice vehicle is an extension of an 

existing hospital or clinic, and/or has the capabilities of 

providing aftercare and/or emergency care services. 

4. A notice of available aftercare and/or emergency 

care services, including the telephone number and physical 

address of the local veterinary hospital or clinic, or hospital 

or existing clinic associated with the mobile practice vehicle 

if applicable, shall be posted in a conspicuous place in or on 

the mobile practice vehicle, and a copy of the notice or 

information shall be given to each client prior to the 

provision of veterinary care. 

5. The veterinarian operating or providing veterinary 

care in a mobile practice vehicle shall physically remain on 

site until all patients are discharged to their respective 

owners, or authorized agents. 

6. The veterinarian operating or providing veterinary 

care in a mobile practice vehicle shall comply with the 

requirements for record keeping regarding the storage, 

maintenance and availability to the client of the medical 

records for the patients as set forth in the board's rules on 

record keeping. 

7. The veterinarian operating or providing veterinary 

care in a mobile practice vehicle shall comply with the 

requirements for maintaining, administering, dispensing, and 

prescribing any drug, medicine, chemical, and/or biological 

agent as set forth in the board's rules. 

8. The veterinarian operating or providing veterinary 

care in a mobile practice vehicle shall be responsible for the 

information and representations provided to the clients by 

the staff of the mobile practice vehicle. 

9. The veterinarian operating or providing veterinary 

care in a mobile practice vehicle shall have his license or 

current renewal, in good standing, to practice veterinary 

medicine in Louisiana on display in a conspicuous place on 

or in the mobile practice vehicle. 

10. The veterinarian operating or providing veterinary 

care in a mobile practice vehicle shall make all decisions 

which involve, whether directly or indirectly, the practice of 

veterinary medicine and will be held accountable for such 

decisions in accordance with the Veterinary Practice Act, the 

board’s rules, and other applicable laws. 

11. The veterinarian operating or providing veterinary 

care in a mobile practice vehicle shall be responsible for 

compliance with all standards and requirements set forth in 

the Veterinary Practice Act, the board's rules, and other 

applicable laws. 

12. The veterinarian operating or providing veterinary 

care in a mobile practice vehicle shall provide the board, 

upon written demand, a copy of the written agreement with 

the local veterinary hospital or clinic required by this rule, if 

such is not the hospital or clinic associated with the mobile 

practice vehicle and/or the mobile practice vehicle does not 

have the capabilities of providing aftercare and/or 

emergency care services. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1330 

(October 1993), amended LR 23:969 (August 1997), LR 24:2123 

(November 1998), LR 31:3162 (December 2005), LR 33:2424 

(November 2007), LR 35:244 (February 2009), repromulgated by 

the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, LR 50:1141 (August 2024). 

§712. Alternative Therapy and Collaborative 

Treatment 

A. Alternative therapy and/or collaborative treatment 

may be performed by a layperson (a person not licensed, 

registered, or certified by the board) only with an order or 

prescription from a Louisiana licensed, supervising 

veterinarian who has first established the veterinarian-client-

patient relationship, and can be performed only under such 

supervising veterinarian’s direct supervision and with the 

written informed consent of the owner of the animal (client) 

or his duly authorized agent. The layperson must possess a 

license, registration, or certification issued by another 

Louisiana regulatory authority, or he must possess 

verification of an educational level acceptable by the board, 

in the subject matter of the alternative therapy and/or 

collaborative treatment at issue. 

B. Direct supervision as used in this Section means the 

supervising veterinarian must be on the premises where the 

alternative therapy and/or collaborative treatment are being 

performed and is directly responsible for the on-going 

evaluation and/or diagnosis. A layperson (a person not 

licensed, registered, or certified by the board) cannot 

perform surgery, on-going evaluation and/or diagnosis, 

prognosis, or prescribe treatment, medicines, or appliances 

as set forth in §702.A.2. 

C. The supervising veterinarian will be held accountable 

for the proper diagnosis and treatment of the animal, 

including the work delegated to the layperson, as well as 

compliance with proper documentation in the patient’s 
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medical record as set forth in §701, including the written 

informed consent for the alternative therapy and/or 

collaborative treatment obtained from the client or his duly 

authorized agent.  The supervising veterinarian will also be 

held accountable for the maintenance of the confidential 

relationship with the client and patient. 

D. Alternative therapy as used in this Section includes, 

but is not limited to, ultrasonography, magnetic field therapy, 

holistic medicine, homeopathy, animal chiropractic 

treatment, animal acupuncture, animal physical therapy, 

animal massage therapy, and laser therapy. 

E. Collaborative treatment as used in this Section 

includes, but is not limited to, ophthalmology, cardiology, 

neurology, radiology, and oncology.  

F. Written informed consent as used in this Section 

means the supervising veterinarian has informed the client or 

his duly authorized agent, in a manner that would be 

understood by a reasonable person, of the diagnostic and 

treatment options, risk assessment, and prognosis, and the 

client or his duly authorized agent has consented in writing 

to the recommended alternative therapy and/or collaborative 

treatment. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 23:970 

(August 1997), amended LR 38:357 (February 2012), amended by 

the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, LR 51:250 (February 2025). 

§713. Microchip Implantation 

A. The implantation of a microchip device into an animal 

shall be performed only by a licensed veterinarian or under 

the direct supervision of a licensed veterinarian, except that 

no unlicensed person may perform surgery, diagnosis, 

prognosis, or prescribe drugs, medicines, or appliances as 

stated in §702.A.2. The following are exempt from this 

provision: 

1. an animal control agency which is operated by a 

state or local governmental agency; or 

2. a duly incorporated humane society which has a 

contract with a local governmental agency to perform animal 

control services on behalf of the local governmental agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 23:1686 

(December 1997), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture 

and Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:1144 (August 

2024). 

§714. Student/Shelters and Faculty Veterinarian  

A. A person who is a regular student in an accredited 

veterinary school who is performing duties or actions 

assigned by his instructors as part of his curriculum under 

the direct supervision of a faculty veterinarian who is 

licensed by the board; however, the student's role shall be 

limited to assisting the licensed faculty veterinarian in a 

support capacity during assessment, diagnosis, treatment, 

and surgery in the shelters pre-approved by the board on 

shelter animals only. For example, observation of procedures 

and services by the student and the performance of menial 

support tasks to assist the licensed faculty veterinarian are 

legally permissible. However, the licensed faculty 

veterinarian must be the primary veterinarian, or surgeon of 

record, in all situations. To allow the student to perform 

beyond the support capacity as defined in this rule would, in 

effect, permit the student to enter into the realm of veterinary 

practice without first having to meet the requirements 

necessary to have a license as established by the Louisiana 

Veterinary Practice Act and the Louisiana Board of 

Veterinary Medicine rules. 

B. Direct supervision is defined as "continuous, visual, 

and on-site supervision" which shall only be performed by a 

faculty veterinarian licensed by, and accountable to, the 

Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine as per its regulatory 

authority. Accordingly, the licensed faculty veterinarian and 

the program shall comply with all requirements established 

by the Veterinary Practice Act and the board's rules 

regarding the practice of veterinary medicine including, but 

not limited to, such practice standards as a proper surgical 

facility, record keeping, aftercare, prescriptions, drug/device 

maintenance, etc. The faculty veterinarian as a licensed 

veterinarian shall be ultimately responsible, and accountable 

to the board, for the duties, actions, or work performed by 

the student; however, at no time shall the student's role 

extend beyond assisting the licensed faculty veterinarian in a 

support capacity during assessment, diagnosis, treatment, 

and surgery in the shelters pre-approved by the board on 

shelter animals only. 

C. The tasks assigned to a student is at the discretion of 

the supervising faculty veterinarian licensed by the board 

who shall be ultimately responsible and held accountable by 

the board for the duties, actions, or work performed by the 

student, however, at no time shall the student's role extend 

beyond assisting the licensed faculty veterinarian in a 

support capacity during assessment, diagnosis, treatment, 

and surgery. In addition, the tasks assigned to the student 

shall encompass the care, treatment, and/or surgery of one 

shelter animal at a time at a shelter pre-approved by the 

board. Again, the licensed faculty veterinarian must be the 

primary veterinarian, or surgeon of record, in each individual 

situation. 

D. Prior to commencement of a student's participation in 

a program, the supervising faculty veterinarian licensed by 

the board must first notify the board of such on board 

approved forms. 

E. A student shall not be permitted to perform 

supervision of any nature, as defined in §§ 700 and 702, of 

the tasks or procedures performed by other personnel of the 

shelter at issue. 

F. A student extern who is working during a school 

vacation for a licensed veterinarian shall be under 

continuous, visual, and on-site supervision of a veterinarian 

licensed by the board. The supervising veterinarian shall be 
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ultimately responsible and held accountable by the board for 

the duties, actions, or work performed by such person; 

however, at no time shall the student's role extend beyond 

observing the supervising veterinarian in a support capacity 

during assessment, diagnosis, treatment, and surgery. The 

student extern shall not perform supervision of any nature, 

as defined in §700 and §702, of the tasks or procedures 

performed by other personnel of the facility at issue. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 29:1479 

(August 2003), amended LR 34:1029 (June 2008), amended LR 

49:640 (April 2023), repromulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 

50:1144 (August 2024). 

Chapter 8.  Registered Veterinary 

Technicians 

§800. Definitions 

Contact Participation―physical attendance at seminars, 

lectures, conferences, or workshops. 

Online Participation―mediums regarded as online 

participation include: 

1. pre-recorded, self-test audio or video presentations 

with third-party grading; 

2. non-interactive audio or video presentations in real-

time available via the internet; and  

3. interactive or “live” audio or video presentations or 

webinars in real-time available via the internet. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1549. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 

50:1137 (August 2024). 

§801. Applications for Certificate of Approval 

A. The application for a certificate of approval for a 

registered veterinary technician in the state of Louisiana 

shall be in writing, signed by the applicant, contain the 

information set forth in R.S. 37:1543 and shall include a 

sworn affidavit that the applicant has not practiced 

veterinary medicine in this state without a license, temporary 

permit, or exception from certification as provided by R.S. 

37:1543. 

B. In addition to the above requirements, the board may 

also require that any applicant furnish all of the following 

information: 

1. a current passport-type photograph of the applicant; 

2. an official transcript of the applicant's high school 

records; 

3. an official transcript of the applicant's veterinary 

technology school records; 

4. a copy of the applicant's diploma from the 

veterinary technology school of graduation; 

5. a certificate by the applicant that the applicant has 

not been arrested or indicted for or been convicted, pled 

guilty, or pled nolo contendere to either a felony or 

misdemeanor, other than minor traffic violations; and, in the 

event that the applicant is unable to so certify, the board may 

require the applicant to explain in full and/or provide further 

documentation; 

6. a certificate that the applicant has never had his or 

her certificate as a registered veterinary technician in 

veterinary medicine revoked, suspended or denied and, in 

the event that the applicant is unable to so certify, the board 

may request or require full explanation and/or 

documentation concerning such revocation, suspension, or 

denial; 

7. a list of all certificates or licenses that the applicant 

currently holds and/or has held; 

8. the certified score on any previous national 

examinations or state examinations (whether Louisiana state 

examinations or state examinations from other states) 

previously taken by the applicant; 

9. a certificate that the applicant has received and read 

the Louisiana Veterinary Practice Law and the rules and 

regulations promulgated by the board. 

C. The board may require such application to be sworn 

to by the applicant, notarized, or attested to by the applicant 

under penalty of perjury. 

D. The board may reject any applications which do not 

contain full and complete answers and/or information as 

requested and may reject any application if any information 

furnished in the application is fabricated, false, misleading, 

or incorrect. 

E. The board shall reject the application of an applicant 

who has practiced veterinary medicine or veterinary 

technology in this state without a license, temporary permit, 

exception, or certificate of approval as provided by R.S. 

37:1543, during the two-year period immediately prior to the 

date of application. 

F. An application shall become stale if not completed by 

issuance of a certificate within two years from the initial 

date of submission to the board. Once stale, the entire 

application process, including the payment of applicable 

fees, shall begin anew. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1549. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:226 

(March 1990), amended LR 40:309 (February 2014), LR 49:2074 

(December 2023), effective July 1, 2024. 

§803. Examinations 

A. The Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine hereby 

adopts the examination prepared by the American 

Association of Veterinary State Boards (AAVSB) (hereafter 

referred to as the "veterinary technician national 

examination" or VTNE), and hereby requires that all 

applicants for licensure to practice as registered veterinary 
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technicians in the state of Louisiana shall pass this national 

examination in addition to any and all state examinations 

(herein defined as such written examinations, oral 

interviews, and/or practical demonstrations as the board may 

request or require). 

B. A state board examination shall be required of all 

applicants for licensure as a registered veterinary technician 

in Louisiana. No person shall obtain any certificate to 

practice as a registered veterinary technician without 

successfully passing the Louisiana state board examination. 

No waivers of the state board examination shall be granted. 

C. A passing score on the VTNE shall be deemed to be 

the pass point as determined by the examining agency 

contracted with by the board for the formulation, 

administration and/or grading of the VTNE. 

D. The state board examination shall consist of no fewer 

than 25 questions taken from the veterinary practice act 

statutes and rules promulgated by the board. 

E. A passing score on the state board examination for 

veterinary technicians shall be deemed to be the correct 

answering of at least 70 percent of the questions on the state 

examination. 

F. The administration of the VTNE shall be in 

accordance with rules, practices, policies or procedures 

prescribed by the AAVSB or by any person or persons with 

whom the AAVSB may have contracted to administer said 

exam. The VTNE may be administered by members of the 

Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine or any of the 

agents, employees, or designees of the board. 

G. The state board examination for veterinary 

technicians may be prepared, administered, and graded by 

the members of the Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine 

or may be prepared, administered, and/or graded, in whole 

or in part, by any person, firm corporation, or other entity 

selected, requested, or designated to do so by the Louisiana 

Board of Veterinary Medicine. 

H. In order to receive a certificate to practice as a 

registered veterinary technician in the state of Louisiana, an 

applicant must pass both the VTNE and the state board 

examination. 

I. A passing score on either required examination will 

be given effect for a period of three years. Should an 

applicant pass one of the required examinations but fail to 

pass the other required examination for a period of three 

years, such applicant will thereafter be required to pass both 

examinations notwithstanding such applicant’s previous 

passing of one of the required examinations. 

J. The requirement for taking the national examination 

(VTNE) may be waived when an applicant: 

a. holds a current valid license or certificate in good 

standing as a registered or certified veterinary technician in 

another state, district, or territory of the United States; and 

b. has been employed as a registered or certified 

veterinary technician an average of 20 hours per week in a 

private practice or its equivalent continuously and without 

substantial interruption for a period of three years 

immediately preceding his application. 

K. An applicant for certification may only sit for the 

national examination a maximum of five times. Thereafter, 

the applicant will no longer be eligible for certification in 

Louisiana and any application will be rejected. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1549. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:226 

(March 1990), amended LR 20:1380 (December 1994), LR 40:309 

(February 2014), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 48:2546 (October 

2022). 

§805. Certificates without Examination 

A. The board shall not issue certificates of approval 

without examination under any circumstances. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1549. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:227 

(March 1990). 

§807. Temporary Permits 

A. The board shall not issue temporary permits for 

certificates of approval under any circumstances. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1549. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:227 

(March 1990). 

§809. Fees 

A. The board hereby adopts and establishes the 

following fees. 

Examination Fee, Pre-Examination, State or National  
(This fee does not include vendor's cost.) 

 
$40 

Original Certificate Fee $30 

Annual Renewal of Certificate Fee $30 

Application Fee $25 

B. The examination fee shall be exclusive of vendor 

costs which must also be paid by the examinee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1549. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:227 

(March 1990), amended LR 26:84 (January 2000). 

§811. Certificate Renewal, Late Charge, Continuing 

Education 

A. All certificates of approval shall expire annually at 

midnight September 30. Certificates shall be renewed by 

completing a re-registration form, which shall be provided 

by the board, and by payment of the annual renewal fee 

established by the board. Each year, 90 days prior to the 

expiration date of the certificate of approval, the board shall 

mail a notice to each registered veterinary technician stating 
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the date his certificate will expire and providing a form for 

re-registration. 

B. The annual renewal registration must be 

countersigned by the employing licensed veterinarian. 

C. Any application for renewal of a certificate of 

approval and/or any payment of the annual renewal of 

certificate fee which is postmarked after September 30 of 

each year shall be subject to all accrued fees and an 

additional late fee of $20 per fiscal year. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1549. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:227 

(March 1990), amended LR 23:1686 (December 1997), LR 26:84 

(January 2000), LR 36:320 (February 2010), LR 37:1153 (April 

2011), amended by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, 

Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:1137 (August 2024). 

§812. Continuing Education 

A. Basic Requirements 

1. A minimum of 10 actual hours is required each 

fiscal year (July 1 through June 30) as a prerequisite for 

annual renewal of certification; however, a maximum of 5 

hours shall be earned for each fiscal period (July 1 to June 

30) through online participation as defined in LAC 

46:LXXXV.800. An RVT who fails to obtain a minimum of 

10 continuing education hours within the applicable fiscal 

period will not meet the requirements for renewal of his 

certificate. 

2.a. Proof of attendance for all completed continuing 

education activity shall be submitted annually for each 

renewal period and shall include the following: 

 i. the RVT’s full name; 

 ii. the name of the course/program; 

 iii. the name of the sponsor and/or presenter; 

 iv. the date(s) of attendance; 

 v. the total number of hours completed; 

 vi. the delivery method; and 

 vii. the specific subject matter completed. 

b. All completed proof of attendance must be 

submitted to the board by September 30.  

3. All hours shall be obtained in the 12 months 

preceding the renewal period of the certificate. Hours taken 

prior to the 12-month continuing education period shall not 

be accepted. Hours taken after the beginning of the renewal 

period shall be considered late. Hours submitted late, if 

accepted by the board, cannot be applied to other renewal 

periods. 

4. Each RVT must fulfill his annual educational 

requirements at his own expense or through a sponsoring 

agency other than the board. Any registration fee(s) for his 

annual continuing veterinary education requirements are not 

included in the annual renewal fee. 

5. Employment at an accredited school or college will 

not be accepted in lieu of completion of the required 

continuing education hours. 

6. Presenters of an approved continuing education 

program may not submit hours for their presentation of, or 

preparation for, the program as continuing education hours. 

B. Approved Continuing Education Programs. It shall be 

the duty of the board to approve all continuing veterinary 

education programs for which credit shall be given to 

Louisiana registered veterinary technicians as follows. 

1. Hours may be taken from any programs accepted 

by another state’s regulatory board of veterinary medicine, a 

governmental entity, and/or AAVSB, as well as those 

programs sponsored by AVMA accredited schools of 

veterinary medicine and/or any professional associations 

recognized by the board shall be accepted as units or hours 

of annual continuing education. All other continuing 

education programs must be approved by the board prior to 

attendance with the subject matter content properly 

addressing the duties of a registered veterinary technician. 

Those continuing education programs not timely submitted 

in accordance with Subsection F below will not be allowed 

for annual continuing education credit. 

2. The list of programs for which pre-approval has 

been granted will be updated as needed and published by the 

board on its website, as well as those programs which are 

accepted by another state’s regulatory board of veterinary 

medicine, a governmental entity, and/or AAVSB, and those 

programs sponsored by AVMA accredited schools of 

veterinary medicine and/or any professional associations 

recognized by the board. 

3. Additions to the list of pre-approved programs may 

be requested by writing to the board office and submitting all 

required documentation. All programs not on the pre-

approved list must be submitted for pre-approval at least 14 

days prior to the date of the program for the units or hours to 

be credited. Pre-approval may be obtained by writing or 

calling the board office during regular business hours. 

4. In order to qualify for board approval, all 

continuing education programs must be open by 

invitation/advertisement to interested registered veterinary 

technicians in general. 

C. Non-Compliance with Continuing Education 

Requirements 

1. Non-compliance with these rules shall be 

considered to be a violation of R.S. 37:1526(14). 

2. Failure to submit proof of attendance for continuing 

education hours by the September 30 deadline pursuant to 

Subsection A.2 or falsifying certification shall be considered 

a violation of R.S. 37:1526(14) and/or (15). 

3. Failure to obtain the required number of hours in 

the specified time period shall be considered a violation of 

the rules of professional conduct. An extension of no more 

than 90 days after the September 30 certificate expiration 
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date may be granted by petitioning the board in accordance 

with Paragraph 4 below. 

4. The board may grant an extension of no more than 

90 days for extenuating circumstances. The RVT requesting 

the extension must petition the board at least 30 days prior to 

the September 30 certificate expiration date. The board may 

require whatever documentation it deems necessary to verify 

the circumstances necessitating the extension. 

5. An RVT who fails to obtain the required minimum 

of ten approved hours within the prescribed 12-month period 

will not meet the requirements for renewal of his certificate. 

Such a certificate shall expire on September 30 for any RVT 

who does not timely and properly comply with the annual 

continuing education requirements. Thereafter, an RVT may 

apply for renewal of his expired certificate; however, he 

shall be unable to lawfully perform the allowed duties of an 

RVT and may be subject to disciplinary action by the board, 

until such time as the requirements for renewal have been 

met and documented to the satisfaction of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1549. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 

50:1137 (August 2024). 

§813. Revoked Certificate 

A. A registered veterinary technician whose certificate 

has been revoked under the provision of R.S. 37:1544.B may 

be reinstated by the board after proof that the failure to 

renew was not a willful or evasive act upon payment of the 

accrued fees and a penalty imposed by the board not 

exceeding twice the amount of delinquent fees. 

B. Any certificate that was revoked for those causes 

enumerated in R.S. 37:1544.A.(1-12) shall be brought before 

the board. 

C. The identifying number of a revoked certificate of 

approval shall not be issued to any person other than the 

original applicant. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1549. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:227 

(March 1990). 

§815. Appeals and Review 

A. Any applicant for a certificate of approval desiring to 

review his or her national examination and/or the master 

answer sheet and/or the examination questions shall make 

arrangements with the Veterinary Technicians Testing 

Committee and/ or any person, firm, corporation or entity 

charged with the preparation, grading and/or administration 

of the Veterinary Technicians National Examination by the 

Veterinary Technicians Testing Committee for such review. 

The Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine shall not 

conduct reviews of the questions contained on the national 

examination, the answers to the questions contained on the 

national examination, or any applicant's score on the national 

examination. 

B. Persons Aggrieved by a Decision of the Board 

1. Any person aggrieved by a decision of the board, 

other than a holder of certificate of approval against whom 

disciplinary proceedings have been brought pursuant to R.S. 

37:1544-1548, may, within 30 days of notification of the 

board's action or decision, petition the board for a review of 

the board's actions. 

2. A petition shall be in the form of a letter, signed by 

the person aggrieved, and mailed to the board at its principal 

office located in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. 

3. Upon receipt of such petition, the board then may 

proceed to take such action as it deems expedient or hold 

such hearings as may be necessary, and may review such 

testimony and/or documents and/or records as it deems 

necessary to dispose of the matter, but the board shall not, in 

any event, be required to conduct any hearings or 

investigations, or consider any offerings, testimony, or 

evidence unless so required by statute or other rules or 

regulations of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:227 

(March 1990), amended LR 25:2226 (November 1999). 

§816. Disciplinary Proceedings 

A. Any registered veterinary technician against whom 

disciplinary proceedings have been instituted and against 

whom disciplinary action has been taken by the board 

pursuant to R.S. 37:1544-1548 and/or the board's rules, shall 

have rights of review and/or rehearing and/or appeal in 

accordance with the terms and provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act and §1401 et seq., of the 

board's rules. 

B. The board may deny a person’s application for a 

certificate of approval, or revoke, suspend, place on 

probation, restrict, and/or reprimand a registered veterinary 

technician, and/or assess a fine not to exceed $1,000 for each 

separate offense, when it finds noncompliance with or a 

violation of the provisions of the Veterinary Practice Act 

and/or the board’s rules. The sanction shall issue after 

compliance with notice and a hearing as required by law.  

C. The Code(s) of Ethics of the AVMA and the NAVTA 

regarding veterinary technicians registered by the board are 

hereby adopted as standards of conduct by reference. In the 

event, the subject Code(s) of Ethics contradict the Veterinary 

Practice Act and/or the board’s rules, the latter shall govern.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 25:2226 

(November 1999), amended LR 40:309 (February 2014). 
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Chapter 9.  Peer Assistance Program 

for Impaired Veterinarians 

§901. Purpose 

A. The purpose of the program is to identify and assist 

licensed veterinarians and paraprofessionals impaired by 

chemical dependency on drugs or alcohol or by mental 

illness and to establish a peer assistance program in 

conjunction with a state or national professional association 

and to report findings to the Louisiana Board of Veterinary 

Medicine. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:228 

(March 1990), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:772 (June 2024). 

§903. Terms Used in the Program 

A. The following terms are used in the program of 

impaired veterinarians. 

Impaired Veterinarian―a veterinarian licensed by the 

Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine whose ability to 

perform professional services is impaired by chemical 

dependency on drugs or alcohol or by mental illness. 

Paraprofessional―a registered veterinary technician or 

a certified euthanasia technician. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:228 

(March 1990), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:772 (June 2024). 

§905. Reporting Instances of Impairment 

A. If a person knows or suspects that an individual is 

impaired by chemical dependency on alcohol or drugs or by 

mental illness, the person may report the individual's name 

and any relevant information to an approved peer assistance 

program. 

B. An approved peer assistance program shall report to 

the Louisiana Board of Veterinary Medicine in writing the 

name of a veterinarian or paraprofessional that the program 

knows or suspects to be impaired and any relevant 

information concerning that veterinarian or paraprofessional. 

C. An approved peer assistance program that receives a 

report of referral under this Section may intervene to assist 

the impaired veterinarian or paraprofessional to obtain and 

complete successfully a course of treatment and 

rehabilitation. 

D. If the Board of Veterinary Medicine receives an initial 

complaint relating to an impaired veterinarian or 

paraprofessional, the board: 

1. may refer the veterinarian or paraprofessional to an 

approved peer assistance program; or 

2. may require the veterinarian or paraprofessional to 

participate in or complete successfully a course of treatment 

or rehabilitation; 

3. shall maintain separate records on all inquiries and 

referrals in connection with the peer assistance program in 

accordance with R.S. 37:1518.B of the Louisiana Veterinary 

Practice Act. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:228 

(March 1990), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:772 (June 2024). 

§907. Enrollment in Program 

A. An impaired veterinarian or paraprofessional who 

enrolls in an approved treatment program shall enter into an 

agreement with the board authorizing appropriate board 

action if the veterinarian or paraprofessional does not remain 

in the program. The professional's license shall be suspended 

or revoked; but enforcement of the suspension or revocation 

may be stayed for the length of time the professional 

remains in the program and makes satisfactory progress to 

completion, complies with the terms of the agreement, and 

adheres to any limitations on his or her practice imposed by 

the board to protect the public. Failure to enter into such an 

agreement shall disqualify the veterinarian or 

paraprofessional from the peer assistance program. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:228 

(March 1990), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:772 (June 2024). 

Chapter 10.  Rules of Professional 

Conduct  

§1001. Purpose and Scope 

A. The rules of professional conduct shall govern the 

professional conduct of the members of the veterinary 

profession in the state of Louisiana. These rules of 

professional conduct shall be cumulative of all laws of the 

state of Louisiana relating to the professional conduct of 

veterinarians and to the practice of veterinary medicine in 

this state, and shall include the American Veterinary Medical 

Association's Principles of Veterinary Medical Ethics. In the 

event the Principles of Veterinary Medical Ethics contradict 

the Louisiana Veterinary Practice Act and/or the board's 

rules, the latter shall govern. 

B. If any provision of these rules or the application 

thereof to any person or circumstances is held invalid, this 

invalidity shall not affect other provisions or applications of 

the rules which can be given effect without the invalid 

provisions or applications; and to this end, the provisions of 

these rules are declared severable. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:228 

(March 1990), amended LR 25:2227 (November 1999), 

repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board 

of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:654 (May 2024). 

§1003. Conflicting Interest 

A. It is unprofessional and a violation of these rules to 

represent conflicting interests, except by express consent of 

all concerned given after a full disclosure of the facts. Within 

the meaning of this rule, a member represents conflicting 

interests if, when employed by a buyer to inspect an animal 

for soundness, he accepts a fee from the seller. Acceptance 

of a fee from both the buyer and seller shall be deemed 

prima-facie evidence of fraud. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:228 

(March 1990), amended LR 19:1325 (October 1993), 

repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board 

of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:654 (May 2024). 

§1005. Encroachments upon Another's Practice 

A. Any direct or indirect effort which in any way 

encroaches upon the practice of another veterinarian is a 

violation of these rules. It is the right of any veterinarian, 

without fear or favor, to give proper advice to those seeking 

relief against unfaithful or neglectful veterinary services, 

generally after communication with the veterinarian of 

whom complaint is made. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:229 

(March 1990), amended LR 20:1380 (December 1994), 

repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board 

of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:654 (May 2024). 

§1007. Corrupt or Dishonest Conduct 

A. Veterinarians shall expose, without fear or favor, 

before the proper tribunal or the board corrupt or dishonest 

conduct in the profession. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:229 

(March 1990), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:1626 (November 

2024). 

§1009. Professional Responsibility 

A. A veterinarian upon his own responsibility must 

decide what employment he will accept in his professional 

capacity and what course of treatment will be followed once 

he has accepted employment. The responsibility for advising 

questionable or unusual treatments rests upon the 

veterinarian. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:229 

(March 1990), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:654 (May 2024). 

§1011. Service under the Law 

A. No veterinarian shall render any service or advice 

involving disloyalty under the law. A veterinarian must also 

observe and advise his client to observe statutory law. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:229 

(March 1990), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:1626 (November 

2024). 

§1013. Corruption, Deception, or Betrayal of the Public 

A. A veterinarian shall not render any service or advice 

directed toward the corruption of any person or persons 

exercising a public office or private trust or directed toward 

the deception or betrayal of the public.  

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:229 

(March 1990), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:654 (May 2024). 

§1015. Personal Responsibility of Licensee 

A. It is unlawful for a person to practice veterinary 

medicine, as defined in the Louisiana Veterinary Practice Act 

and the board’s rules, who does not possess a current license 

issued by the board, unless he falls within an exception 

defined in section 1514 of the Practice Act and/or the 

board’s rules. The reason for the license requirement is to 

insure that any person involved in the actual practice of 

veterinary medicine, including the control of decision-

making authority regarding veterinary patient care, is 

amenable to professional regulation and discipline by the 

board in order to protect the public and animals. The license 

is personal and individual to the veterinarian holder to 

lawfully practice veterinary medicine. The owner, member, 

officer, or director of a business entity, such as a partnership, 

corporation, or limited liability company, with a function 

that includes the provision of veterinary medicine does not 

have to possess a license issued by the board; however, the 

actual practitioner of veterinary medicine involved in patient 

care must be licensed by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:229 

(March 1990), amended LR 25:1628 (September 1999), LR 31:928 

(April 2005), amended by the Department of Health, Board of 

Veterinary Medicine, LR 44:587 (March 2018). 

§1017. Professional Services 

A. The professional services of a veterinarian shall not 

be controlled or exploited by any lay agency, personal or 

corporate, which intervenes between the client and the 

veterinarian. A veterinarian's responsibilities and 

qualifications are individual. He shall avoid all relations 
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which direct the performance of his duty by or in the interest 

of such intermediary. A veterinarian's relation to his client is 

personal, and his responsibility shall be direct to the client or 

his authorized agent. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:229 

(March 1990), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:654 (May 2024). 

§1021. Display of License 

A. Each veterinarian shall have posted or displayed at his 

office in full view of his clients, his original Louisiana 

license to practice veterinary medicine and his current year's 

license renewal certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:229 

(March 1990), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:655 (May 2024). 

§1023. Degree of Treatment 

A. Veterinarians shall exercise the same degree of care, 

skill, and diligence in treating patients as are ordinarily used 

in the same or similar circumstances by average members of 

the veterinary medical profession. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:229 

(March 1990), amended LR 19:1326 (October 1993), 

repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board 

of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:655 (May 2024). 

§1025. Display of Degree 

A. A licensed veterinarian shall not use or display any 

certificate or title pertaining to veterinary medicine granted 

by any institution not approved by the American Veterinary 

Medical Association (AVMA) or by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:229 

(March 1990), amended LR 19:1326 (October 1993), amended by 

the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, LR 50:1626 (November 2024). 

§1029. Promoting Unlicensed Person Unethical Activity 

A. A licensed veterinarian shall not promote, aid, or abet 

the practice of veterinary medicine by an unlicensed person, 

or any illegal or unethical act on the part of any veterinarian. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:230 

(March 1990), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:655 (May 2024). 

§1031. Direct Supervision of Laypeople, Unlicensed 

Veterinarians, and Technicians 

A. Licensed veterinarians employing and/or supervising 

persons in any or all of these categories shall make 

themselves familiar with and strictly adhere to the 

definitions and limitations as defined in Chapter 7 of these 

rules. Failure to observe the restrictions, definitions, and/or 

limitations of this rule shall be considered a breach of the 

rules of professional conduct and may result in the 

suspension or revocation of the license of the supervising 

veterinarian. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:230 

(March 1990), amended LR 19:1326 (October 1993), 

repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board 

of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:655 (May 2024). 

§1033. Certificate of Health 

A. A licensed veterinarian in this state shall not issue a 

certificate of health unless he shall know of his own 

knowledge by actual inspection and appropriate tests of the 

animal that said animal meets the requirements for the 

issuance of such certificate. Only a licensed veterinarian can 

sign the certificate of health. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:230 

(March 1990), amended LR 19:1326 (October 1993), 

repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board 

of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:654 (May 2024). 

§1035. Assurances to Clients 

A. It is professionally dishonest for a licensed 

veterinarian to guarantee a cure. A veterinarian must avoid 

bold and confident assurances to clients, especially where 

the employment may depend upon such assurance. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:230 

(March 1990), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:655 (May 2024). 

§1037. Humane Treatment and Care 

A. A licensed veterinarian shall treat all animals 

entrusted to him by his clients in keeping with the 

professional standards of humane treatment and care. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:230 

(March 1990), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:655 (May 2024). 

§1039. Conduct of One's Practice 

A. A licensed veterinarian shall conduct his practice on 

the highest plane of honesty, integrity, and fair dealing with 
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his clients in time and services rendered and in the amount 

charged for his services, facilities, appliances, and drugs. 

B. Prior to the commencement of general anesthesia in a 

non-emergency situation, when practical, a licensed 

veterinarian shall have the owner or duly authorized agent of 

the owner execute an anesthesia consent form which shall be 

placed in the patient's medical record. The anesthesia 

consent form shall be in writing and include the following: 

1. the owner or duly authorized agent has the 

authority to execute the consent; 

2. the owner or duly authorized agent authorizes the 

performance of professionally accepted anesthetic 

procedures necessary for his animal's treatment; 

3. the owner or duly authorized agent authorizes the 

performance of such procedures as are necessary and 

desirable in the exercise of the veterinarian's professional 

judgment; 

4. the owner or duly authorized agent authorizes the 

use of appropriate anesthetics; 

5. the owner or duly authorized agent has been 

advised as to the nature of the procedures and the risks 

involved in performing anesthesia to the animal and that 

results cannot be guaranteed; 

6. the owner or duly authorized agent has read and 

understands this authorization and consent; and 

7. the owner or duly authorized agent signs and dates 

the form. 

C. Subsequent to general anesthesia in an emergency 

situation, a licensed veterinarian shall have the owner or 

duly authorized agent of the owner execute an anesthesia 

consent form which shall comply with the requirements set 

forth in §1039.B above. A documented, good faith effort by 

the licensed veterinarian to obtain a signed anesthesia 

consent form shall be made within five days after the 

emergency anesthesia. 

D. For purposes of §1039.B and C, a situation is an 

emergency when it is necessary to save an animal's life or 

relieve suffering by the provision of essential services. 

E. In a non-emergency situation where circumstances 

render it impossible to have the owner or duly authorized 

agent execute the written anesthesia consent form prior to 

the administration of anesthesia, oral consent may be 

obtained from the owner or authorized agent, in which case 

the oral consent shall be witnessed by one person and 

documented in the patient’s medical record. The licensed 

veterinarian shall advise the owner or the authorized agent of 

the risks associated with the use of general anesthesia and 

that results cannot be guaranteed and shall obtain oral 

verification the owner or duly authorized agent has the 

authority to provide consent and understands the information 

provided. 

F. Prior to the commencement of an euthanasia 

procedure, a licensed veterinarian shall meet personally with 

the owner or duly authorized agent of the owner and have 

him execute a euthanasia consent form which shall be placed 

in the patient's medical record. The euthanasia consent form 

shall be in writing and include the following: 

1. the owner or duly authorized agent has the 

authority to execute the consent; 

2. the owner or duly authorized agent gives full and 

complete authority to euthanize and dispose of the animal in 

whatever manner the veterinarian deems appropriate; 

3. that to the best of the owner or duly authorized 

agent's knowledge that animal has not bitten any person or 

animal during the last 15 days prior to presentation and has 

not been exposed to rabies; 

4. that the owner or duly authorized agent understands 

euthanasia as personally explained by the veterinarian and 

gives permission to end the animal's life; and 

G. The licensed veterinarian may address the issues of 

civil liability, payment arrangements and/or other issues of 

concern in the anesthesia consent form and/or euthanasia 

consent form, however, the inclusion of such issues are at 

the discretion of the licensed veterinarian and are not 

required by the board to be addressed in the forms. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:230 

(March 1990), amended LR 27:1238 ( August 2001), amended by 

the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, LR 50:1626 (November 2024). 

§1041. Confidential Relationship 

A. A licensed veterinarian shall not violate the 

confidential relationship between himself and his client. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:230 

(March 1990), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:655 (May 2024). 

§1045. Solicitors 

A. Utilization of the services of solicitors is 

reprehensible in the veterinary profession. A licensed 

veterinarian shall not participate in arrangements which 

share the proceeds from professional services with 

individuals who may have been instrumental in his having 

been selected to perform the particular service. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:230 

(March 1990), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:655 (May 2024). 

§1047. Professional Advantage 

A. Any veterinarian who uses present or past position or 

office of trust deliberately to create for himself any 

individual professional advantage or to coerce, or to deceive 
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the public shall be in violation of the rules of professional 

conduct. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:231 

(March 1990), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:655 (May 2024). 

§1049. Sanitation Requirements 

A. A licensed veterinarian is required to maintain his 

entire premises in such state of sanitation as to comply with 

the public health requirements of the city and/or parish in 

which located and/or the public health laws of the state of 

Louisiana. 

B. Sanitary methods for the disposal of deceased animals 

shall be provided and maintained in compliance with all 

local and state health regulations. 

C. Contaminated waste such as syringes, needles, 

surgical blades, and any contaminated materials shall be 

disposed of in accordance with local, state and federal laws. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:231 

(March 1990), amended LR 19:1326 (October 1993), 

repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board 

of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:655 (May 2024). 

§1051. Removal of Accreditation 

A. A licensed veterinarian whose accreditation has been 

or is subject to being revoked or removed by state or federal 

authority may be subject to disciplinary action by the board 

upon proof of the acts or omissions constituting the grounds 

for removal or revocation of his accreditation. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:231 

(March 1990), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:1626 (November 

2024). 

§1053. Business Names 

A. Business names used by veterinary facilities and 

licensed veterinarians should provide the general public and 

other practitioners with a clear understanding of the kind and 

extent of veterinary services being offered. The following 

provisions shall govern the selection and use of business 

names in the veterinary profession. 

1. The business name of a hospital or clinic as defined 

and classified in §§700 and 711 of this Part: 

a. shall include a combination of words, "animal" or 

"veterinary," in connection with the words, "hospital" or 

"clinic;" or 

b. if a business name of a hospital or clinic as 

defined and classified in §§700 and 711 of this Part does not 

comply with §1053.A.1.a, there shall be a legible sign at the 

business entrance clearly identifying the facility as either a 

veterinary or animal hospital or clinic. The designation 

chosen shall be based on the standards set forth in §711 of 

this Part. 

2. The business name of a mobile clinic as defined and 

classified in §§700 and 711 of this Part: 

a. shall include a combination of words, "animal" or 

"veterinary" in connection with the words, "mobile clinic;" 

or 

b. if the business name does not comply with 

§1053.A.2.a, a legible sign shall be placed at the business 

entrance of the mobile clinic identifying it as a veterinary or 

animal mobile clinic. 

3. Any other business name used by a licensed 

veterinarian who does not operate a veterinary or animal 

hospital, clinic, or mobile clinic as defined and classified in 

§§700 and 711 of this Part must clearly indicate the kind and 

extent of veterinary medical services which are being offered 

to the public. 

B. The name shall exclude the advertising of special 

services such as: boarding, grooming, clipping, or any 

special service, professional or nonprofessional. 

C. In the event the clinic is incorporated without a 

change of name (with the exception of including the words, 

"incorporated" or "incorporation") or in the event the name 

is protected under the assumed name statutes of this state, 

then in either event the corporate name will be acceptable if 

used prior to the effective date of the Professional 

Incorporation Act or, in use of assumed names, if in 

compliance with the assumed name statutes prior to the 

effective date of this rule. 

D. In instances where a clinic is limited exclusively in its 

practice to emergency service, the word "emergency" may 

be included in the name. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:231 

(March 1990), amended LR 25:1249 (July 1999), repromulgated by 

the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, LR 50:656 (May 2024). 

§1055. Controlled Substances 

A. It is unprofessional conduct for a licensed veterinarian 

to fail to observe and/or comply with any and all provisions 

of Chapter 7 concerning the prescribing and dispensing of 

drugs. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:231 

(March 1990), amended LR 19:1326 (October 1993), 

repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board 

of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:656 (May 2024). 
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§1057. Advertising 

A. Advertising—newspaper, magazine, and periodical 

announcements and listings, radio and television; 

professional cards; professional announcement cards; office 

and other signs; letterheads; telephone listings; any 

electronic communications; and any other form of 

communication designed to inform the general public about 

the availability, nature, or prices of products or services or to 

attract clients. 

B. Solicitation—advertising intentionally directed to 

specific individuals. 

C. A veterinarian shall not, on behalf of himself, his 

partner, his associate, or any other veterinarian: 

1. seek to attract clients as a private practitioner by 

any form of solicitation through the exertion of undue 

influence; or 

2. communicate with any nonclient who has given the 

veterinarian notice that he does not want to receive 

communications from the veterinarian; or 

3. use or participate in the use of any form of 

advertising or solicitation which contains a false, deceptive, 

or misleading statement or claim. 

4. use any client details or photos in social media 

posts without client permission. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:231 

(March 1990), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:1627 (November 

2024). 

§1059. Particular Acts, Statements, or Situations 

Constituting "False, Deceptive, or Misleading 

Claim" 

A.. "False, deceptive, or misleading statement or claim" 

includes, without limitation, a statement or claim which: 

1. contains a prediction of future success or 

guarantees that satisfaction or a cure will result from the 

performance of professional services; 

2. contains a testimonial about or endorsement of a 

veterinarian or a combination of a veterinarian's name or 

photograph and his identity as a veterinarian as part of a 

testimonial, endorsement, or sales promotion of a veterinary 

or nonveterinary product or service except that this 

prohibition does not apply to endorsements of valid, 

nonprofit charitable organizations whose purpose is to 

promote veterinary medicine and animal health; 

3. refers to secret methods of treatment or special 

services which characterize the ways of a charlatan; 

4. concerns illegal transactions; 

5. is not identified as a paid advertisement or 

solicitation unless it is apparent from the context that it is a 

paid advertisement or solicitation; 

6. contains statistical data or other information based 

on past performance or case reports; 

7. contains a statement of opinion as to the quality of 

professional services or a representation regarding the 

quality of professional services which is not susceptible of 

verification to the public; 

8. states or implies that a veterinarian is a certified or 

recognized specialist unless he is board certified in such 

specialty; 

9. is intended or is likely to create an inflated or 

unjustified expectation;  

10. contains a material misrepresentation of fact; 

11. omits to state any material fact necessary to make 

the statement not misleading in light of the circumstances 

under which it is made; 

12. would result in the violation of any law or 

regulation or a contractual or other obligation of any person 

through whom the veterinarian seeks to communicate; 

13. contains a representation or implication that is 

likely to cause an ordinary prudent layman to misunderstand 

or be deceived or fails to contain reasonable warnings or 

disclaimers necessary to make a representation or 

implication not deceptive; or 

14. relates to professional fees other than: 

a. a statement of the fixed fee charged for a specific 

professional service, provided that the description of such 

services would not be misunderstood or be deceptive and 

that the statement indicates whether additional fees may be 

incurred for related professional services which may be 

required in individual cases; or 

b. a statement of the range of fees for specifically 

described professional service, provided that there is 

reasonable disclosure of all relevant variables and 

considerations affecting the fees so that the statement would 

not be misunderstood or be deceptive, including, without 

limitation, an indication whether additional fees may be 

incurred for related professional services which may be 

required in individual cases. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:231 

(March 1990), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:656 (May 2024). 

§1061. Advertising Time Requirements 

A. Any advertisement of price for routine veterinary 

services permitted under board rule shall be valid and 

binding on the advertising veterinarian for not less than six 

months following the date it is last offered, and the 

veterinarian offering same shall honor all client requests for 

such veterinary service made by veterinary clients within the 

six-month period following the last date such advertisement 

was presented to the public unless there is contained in the 

advertisement a specific time limitation on the availability of 
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the service or product at the advertised price; further, all 

such services must be completed within a reasonable time 

from the first patient appointment or such patient's request 

for veterinary service. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:232 

(March 1990), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:657 (May 2024). 

§1063. Specialty List 

A. A veterinarian holding a current certificate of special 

competence in a particular field of veterinary medicine 

issued by the board, recognized by the American Veterinary 

Medical Association, may state in reputable veterinary 

directories and veterinary lists, notices mailed to 

veterinarians, clients, former clients, personal friends and 

relatives, the yellow pages of telephone directories 

distributed in the geographical area or areas in which the 

veterinarian resides or maintains offices or has his primary 

practice, and on professional cards or letterhead that he is 

certified in a particular field. 

B. A veterinarian may not use the term specialist for an 

area of practice for which there is not AVMA recognized 

certification, nor may a veterinarian state or imply that he is 

a certified or recognized specialist unless he is board-

certified in such specialty. 

C. A diplomate of the American Board of Veterinary 

Practitioners can claim only a specialty for the class of 

animals in which he specializes, not for medical specialties 

unless he is board-certified in those medical specialties. 

D. The term specialty or specialists is not permitted to be 

used in the name of a veterinary hospital unless all 

veterinary staff are board-certified specialists. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518(A)(9). 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 16:232 

(March 1990), amended LR 23:968 (August 1997), LR 24:335 

(February 1998), amended by the Department of Agriculture and 

Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:1627 (November 

2024). 

§1065. Other Governmental Agencies 

A. It shall be considered unprofessional conduct for a 

veterinarian to violate any ordinance, regulation, rule, and/or 

law of any local, state or federal government or agency. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1326 

(October 1993), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture 

and Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:657 (May 2024). 

Chapter 12.  Certified Animal 

Euthanasia Technicians 

§1200. Definitions 

A. All definitions used in this chapter shall have the 

meaning assigned to them in R.S. 37:1552. In addition, the 

following definitions shall be applied. 

Certified Animal Euthanasia Technician—a person who 

is instructed in a board approved program in the proper 

methods of humanely euthanizing animals by injecting legal 

drugs in accordance with rules adopted by the board, in 

proper security precautions, in proper record keeping, and 

related skills, and who has been issued a certificate by the 

board. Only a certified animal euthanasia technician, 

registered veterinary technician (RVT), or veterinarian 

licensed by the board may legally perform pre-euthanasia 

chemical restraint and/or chemical euthanasia. Pre-

euthanasia chemical restraint and/or chemical euthanasia 

cannot be delegated to another person who is not a certified 

animal euthanasia technician, registered veterinary 

technician (RVT), or veterinarian licensed by the board. 

Contact Participation―physical attendance at seminars, 

lectures, conferences, or workshops. 

Full Certification—a certificate of approval granted to 

an applicant who has fulfilled all requirements of this 

Chapter. Such certificates shall expire annually. The 

certificate shall entitle the CAET to perform pre-euthanasia 

chemical restraint and/or chemical euthanasia only at the 

facility site of the certificate holder’s employment, which 

may include an animal control shelter’s mobile vehicle, and 

only one certificate shall be issued to a certificate holder at 

any one time.  

Lead Certified Animal Euthanasia Technician or Lead 

CAET—a CAET who also meets the requirements of R.S 

37:1552(4). There shall be only one Lead CAET per animal 

control shelter or facility. 

Online Participation―mediums regarded as online 

participation include: 

a. pre-recorded, self-test audio or video 

presentations with third-party grading; 

b. non-interactive audio or video presentations in 

real-time available via the internet; and  

c. interactive or “live” audio or video presentations 

or webinars in real-time available via the internet. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1558. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1424 

(November 1993), amended LR 26:317 (February 2000), LR 

38:357 (February 2012), LR 40:309 (February 2014), amended by 

the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, LR 50:1138 (August 2024). 
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§1201. Applications for Certificate of Approval 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 37:1553, applicants shall submit the 

following items to the board: 

1. a completed application form approved by the 

board, which shall be sworn to and subscribed before a 

Louisiana notary public; 

2. a current passport-type photograph of the applicant; 

3. an official copy of a birth certificate or a notarized 

copy of a current driver's license as proof of attaining the age 

of 18 years in order to commence the application process, 

attend the required training course, sit for the certification 

examination and receive certification as a CAET or Lead 

CAET; 

4. an official transcript of the applicant's high school 

records or photocopy of the applicant's high school diploma 

or GED or an official transcript indicating attendance at an 

institution of higher learning; 

5. certified scores on any previous examinations in 

animal euthanasia and/or proof of successful completion of a 

board-approved course in animal euthanasia within a three-

year period; 

6. certification by the applicant that he has never been 

convicted, pled guilty or pled nolo contendere to either a 

felony or misdemeanor, other than a minor traffic violation. 

In the event that the applicant is unable to so certify, the 

board shall require the applicant to explain in full and/or 

provide further documentation; 

7. certification that the applicant has never had 

certification as a certified animal euthanasia technician 

revoked, suspended, or denied. In the event that the 

applicant is unable to so certify, the board shall require the 

applicant to explain in full and/or provide further 

documentation; 

8. a list of all professional certificates or licenses that 

the applicant currently holds and/or has held; 

9. a release waiver form to authorize a background 

check regarding the applicant's history with dangerous 

and/or controlled substances to be performed by the Drug 

Enforcement Administration or other law enforcement 

agency at the board's request. A photostatic copy of the 

applicant's authorization is accepted with the same 

authorization as the original. The background check must be 

successfully passed, which means that the Drug 

Enforcement Administration or other law enforcement 

agency has indicated to the board that the applicant has no 

previous criminal convictions involving dangerous and/or 

controlled substances; 

10. certification by the applicant that he has not 

violated or been subject to any of the grounds for denial of a 

certificate of approval as listed in R.S. 37:1554; 

11. unless otherwise already in possession of the board, 

evidence that the applicant has successfully completed a 

board-approved program in animal euthanasia, which shall 

include instruction in the proper methods of humanely 

euthanizing animals by injecting legal drugs in accordance 

with rules adopted by the board, in proper security 

precautions, in proper record keeping, and related skills 

identified by the board. 

B. The board may reject any applications which do not 

contain full and complete answers and/or information as 

requested and may reject any application if any information 

furnished in the application is fabricated, false, misleading, 

or incorrect. 

C. The board shall reject the application of an applicant 

who has practiced veterinary medicine, veterinary 

technology, or euthanasia technology with sodium 

pentobarbital in this state without a certificate of approval 

during the two year period immediately prior to application.  

D. An application shall become stale if not completed by 

issuance of a certificate within two years from the initial 

date of submission to the board. Once stale, the entire 

application process, including the payment of applicable 

fees, shall begin anew. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1558. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1424 

(November 1993), amended LR 26:317 (February 2000), LR 

29:1479 (August 2003), LR 38:357 (February 2012), LR 40:310 

(February 2014), effective July 1, 2024. 

§1203. Examinations 

A. The board may formulate, administer and grade an 

examination (herein defined as such written examination, 

oral interviews, and/or practical demonstrations as the board 

may request or require) or may select an agency whose 

qualifications for performing any or all of theses functions 

are recognized by the board and charge said agency with the 

formulation, administration and/or grading of the 

examination. 

B. All applicants for full certification must take and pass 

the examination(s) adopted by the board. 

C. The administration of the examination(s) shall be in 

accordance with rules, practices, policies, or procedures 

prescribed by the board or by the designees of the board or 

by any person or person with whom the board may have 

contracted to administer said exam. The exam may be 

administered by members of the board or any of the agents, 

employees, or designees of the board. 

D. The examination may be prepared, administered and 

graded by the members of the board or may be prepared, 

administered and/or graded, in whole or in part, by any 

person, firm, corporation or other entity selected, requested 

or designated to do so by the board. 

E. The course shall consist of presentations in the areas 

of legal concerns (Veterinary Practice Act), record-keeping 

requirements (Veterinary Practice Act and DEA), human 

safety, and a general knowledge of sodium pentobarbital and 

proper euthanasia techniques. 
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F. The administration of the course shall be in 

accordance with rules, practices, policies, or procedures 

prescribed by the board or its designees. Instruction may be 

provided by the members of the board or any agent, 

employee, or designee of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1558. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1424 

(November 1993). 

§1205. Passing Scores 

A. A passing score on any written and/or oral portions of 

the examination shall be deemed to be the correct answering 

of 70 percent of the questions contained on that portion of 

the examination. 

B. A passing grade on the practical portion of the 

examination will be determined by the successful 

completion of a series of hands-on demonstrations which 

indicate that the applicant has been properly trained in 

procedures which will enable him to safely and effectively 

perform humane euthanasia with sodium pentobarbital. 

C. Applicants who fail to achieve a passing score on any 

portion of the examination, either written or practical, will 

not be eligible for a certificate of approval nor may they 

apply for a temporary certificate of approval. 

D. Appeals concerning the examination must be made in 

writing to the board within 30 days of the administration of 

the examination. All such formal appeals will be reviewed at 

the next available meeting of the board. The board may call 

witnesses and/or hold public hearings as it deems necessary 

although it is not required to do so unless otherwise 

specified by statute. The decision of the board regarding 

such appeals is final. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1558. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1425 

(November 1993), amended LR 26:318 (February 2000). 

§1207. Certificates without Examination 

A. The board shall not issue full certificates of approval 

without examination under any circumstances, except as 

provided in this Chapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1558. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1425 

(November 1993), amended LR 26:318 (February 2000). 

§1209. Pre-Euthanasia Restraint   

A. Euthanasia by intracardiac injection on cats and dogs 

shall be prohibited unless the animal is unconscious or 

rendered completely unconscious and insensitive to pain 

through the injection of an anesthetic. Such prohibition is 

applicable to animal control shelters and their animals 

located on site as well as their animals which may be 

transported to a veterinary clinic for euthanasia. Temporary 

transfer of ownership of the animal to the veterinarian by the 

animal control shelter for euthanasia by cardiac injection is a 

violation of the law. The performance of euthanasia by 

intracardiac injection in violation of this section by a CAET 

and/or veterinarian is sanctionable.  

B. A CAET (lead status or otherwise) shall not use any 

drug for purposes of sedation, or any form of anesthesia, 

since sedation is beyond the permissible scope of euthanasia 

practice for this certificate holder. However, Acepromazine, 

Rompun (xylazine), or Domitor (medetomidine) which are 

non-controlled drugs, may be legally used by CAETs for 

pre-euthanasia restraint of feral/fractious animals. If an 

animal control shelter’s animal must be sedated/anesthetized 

pursuant to Subsection A above, then a LA licensed 

veterinarian must perform this service. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1558. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 38:357 

(February 2012). 

§1211. Fees 

A. The board hereby adopts and establishes the 

following fees for the CAET program. 

Application Fee $25 

Course Fee $80 

Annual Renewal of Certificate $50 

Examination Fee $50 

Late Renewal Fee $25 

Original Fee-Full Certification $50 

 

B. Renewals received after the expiration date as 

provided in R.S. 37:1546, shall be charged a late renewal 

fee. 

C. The board may direct that examination fees be 

assigned or remitted directly to the agency selected to 

prepare, administer, and score the examination in animal 

euthanasia. Said agency may not assess fees in addition to 

those set by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1558. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1425 

(November 1993), amended LR 26:318 (February 2000), LR 

38:358 (February 2012). 

§1213. Renewal of Certificates 

A. All certificates of approval shall expire annually at 

midnight September 30. Certificates shall be renewed by 

completing a re-registration form which shall be provided by 

the board and by payment of the annual renewal fee 

established by the board. 

B. Each year, 90 days prior to the expiration date of the 

license, the board shall mail a notice to each certified animal 

euthanasia technician stating the date his certificate will 

expire and providing a form for re-registration. 

C. The certificate of approval will be renewed for any 

person who complies with the requirements of this Chapter. 
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D. Re-registration forms for renewal of certificates of 

approval, complete with payment of fee and any other 

documents required by this Chapter, shall be postmarked no 

later than the expiration date of the license each year.  

Re-registration forms postmarked after midnight of the 

expiration date will be subject to a late renewal fee as 

established by the board. This fee is in addition to the regular 

fee for annual renewal. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1558. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1426 

(November 1993), amended LR 23:1685 (December 1997), LR 

26:319 (February 2000). 

§1215. Expired Certificate 

A. A certified animal euthanasia technician whose 

certificate has expired may be reinstated within one year of 

its expiration by making written application for renewal, 

paying the current renewal fee plus all delinquent renewal 

fees and late fees, and meeting the continuing education 

requirements prescribed by the board. 

B. A CAET who fails to renew a certificate of approval 

within one year of its expiration must reapply for a new 

certificate. A certificate of approval shall not be issued 

without the approval of a majority of the quorum of the 

board. 

C. The identifying number of an expired certificate of 

approval shall not be issued to any person other than the 

original holder of that number. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1558. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1426 

(November 1993), amended LR 26:319 (February 2000). 

§1217. Revoked Certificate 

A. A person whose certificate of approval has been 

revoked pursuant to R.S. 37:1554 must reapply for a new 

certificate. 

B. A person whose certificate of approval has been 

revoked pursuant to R.S. 37:1554 shall not be issued a new 

certificate unless approved by a majority of the quorum of 

the board. 

C. The identifying number of a revoked certificate of 

approval shall not be issued to any person other than the 

original holder of that number. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1558. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 26:319 

(February 2000). 

§1219. Appeals and Review 

A. Any applicant for a certificate of approval desiring to 

review his examination and/or the master answer sheet 

and/or the examination questions shall make arrangements 

with the board, its agent, designee or any other person, firm, 

corporation, or entity charged with the preparation, grading 

and/or administration of the course for such review. 

B. Persons Aggrieved by a Decision of the Board 

1. Any certified animal euthanasia technician 

aggrieved by a decision of the board, other than a holder of a 

certificate of approval against whom disciplinary 

proceedings have been brought pursuant to R.S. 37:1551 et 

seq., may, within 30 days of notification of the board's action 

or decision, petition the board for a review of the board's 

actions. 

2. A petition shall be in the form of a letter, signed by 

the person aggrieved, and mailed to the board at its principal 

office. 

3. Upon receipt of such petition, the board may 

proceed to take such action as it deems expedient or hold 

such hearings as may be necessary, and may review such 

testimony and/or documents and/or records as it deems 

necessary to dispose of the matter, but the board shall not, in 

any event, be required to conduct any hearings or 

investigations, or consider any offerings, testimony, or 

evidence unless so required by statute or other rules or 

regulations of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1558. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1426 

(November 1993), amended LR 25:2227 (November 1999), LR 

26:319 (February 2000). 

§1221. Disciplinary Proceedings 

A. Any CAET against whom disciplinary proceedings 

have been instituted and against whom disciplinary action 

has been taken by the board pursuant to R.S. 37:1551 et seq., 

and/or the board's rules, shall have rights of review and/or 

rehearing and/or appeal in accordance with the terms and 

provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act and §1401 et 

seq., of the board's rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1558. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 25:2227 

(November 1999), amended LR 26:319 (February 2000). 

§1223. Maintenance and Security of Sodium 

Pentobarbital 

A. Storage. All sodium pentobarbital shall be stored 

either in a securely locked cabinet which is of substantial 

construction or in a safe or in a locked metal cabinet. The 

cabinet, safe or locker shall be locked at all times. The 

CAET(s) shall have the responsibility for the safe-keeping of 

the keys and/or combination to the cabinet, safe, or locker. 

B. Usage Log 

1. A usage log shall be maintained to account for the 

use of each cubic centimeter (cc) or parts thereof of sodium 

pentobarbital. The log shall include: 

a. the date of usage; 
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b. the lot number and bottle number used; 

c. the amount (in cc's) of usage; 

d. the tag number or other identification number for 

the animal; 

e. the name of the person who drew the sodium 

pentobarbital; 

f. any amount of drug wasted, spilled, or lost; and 

g. the name of a witness to the waste, spillage, or 

loss of sodium pentobarbital. 

2. The usage log shall be maintained on a 

standardized form provided by the board or its designated 

agent. Copies of the log so provided may be made by the 

shelter. 

3. Usage logs shall be made available to any official 

of the Drug Enforcement Administration without prior 

notification. 

C. Inventory 

1. A perpetual inventory of all sodium pentobarbital 

shall be maintained. An initial inventory must be conducted 

when a CAET first obtains a DEA registration and/or 

Louisiana Controlled Dangerous Substances License. A 

physical inventory shall be conducted every three months. 

2. The inventory shall indicate the amount of sodium 

pentobarbital ordered, the amount presently on hand, the 

amount used for euthanasia, the amount lost due to spillage 

or waste, the amount lost due to the drug's expiration, and 

the time of day the inventory was taken. 

3. The inventory shall be made and signed by the 

certified animal euthanasia technician(s) or licensed 

veterinarian who is the registrant of the Drug Enforcement 

Administration. 

4. Upon written request from either the Louisiana 

Board of Veterinary Medicine or the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, the certified animal euthanasia technician 

shall provide a copy of the inventory records. 

5. Inventory logs shall be made available to any 

official of the Drug Enforcement Administration without 

prior notification. 

6. The inventory log shall be maintained on a 

standardized form provided by the board or its designee. 

Copies of the form so provided may be made by the shelter. 

D. Orders, Destruction, and Thefts  

1. Placing Orders. All sodium pentobarbital must be 

purchased by way of a DEA 222 Order Form. Alterations 

and scratch-outs are not allowed on this form. If a mistake is 

made on the form, "void" must be written on the form and 

the form must be maintained in the file. 

2. Receiving Orders. The date and amounts received 

must be logged in on the order form. 

3. Returns of Sodium Pentobarbital to Suppliers. If 

sodium pentobarbital must be returned to a supplier or 

transferred to another person possessing a DEA registration 

and Louisiana Controlled Dangerous Substances License, 

the supplier or person to whom the drugs are transferred 

must complete a DEA 222 Order Form. Both the person 

returning or transferring the sodium pentobarbital and the 

recipient must maintain a copy of the DEA 222 Form. 

4. Destruction of Sodium Pentobarbital. Sodium 

pentobarbital shall not be destroyed without the prior 

approval of the U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration. Any 

destruction approved must be witnessed by a law 

enforcement officer. 

5. Any theft of sodium pentobarbital must be reported 

to the local police, U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration, 

and the Louisiana Controlled Dangerous Substances 

Program. 

E. Record Retention. All controlled substances records, 

including, but not limited to, inventory documents, usage 

logs, order forms, reports of theft or destruction of controlled 

substances, must be maintained for a minimum of five years 

plus the current calendar year. 

F. Leaving Employment. A CAET registered with the 

U.S. Drug Enforcement Administration who leaves 

employment at a registration site must return his DEA 

registration any unused DEA Order Form 222s to the DEA. 

A CAET licensed with the Louisiana Controlled Dangerous 

Substances Program who leaves employment at a licensed 

site must return his license to the Louisiana Controlled 

Dangerous Substances Program. 

G. Changing Site Address. It is the responsibility of the 

CAET registered with the U.S. Drug Enforcement 

Administration or licensed by the Louisiana Controlled 

Dangerous Substances Program to inform in writing either 

or both of those agencies if the address of the site at which 

he is registered or licensed changes. The written notification 

must include the name of the CAET, his registration or 

license number, the current address of the site, the pending 

new address of the site, the site name, and the signature of 

the CAET. Written notification must be submitted to the 

Drug Enforcement Administration and/or Louisiana 

Controlled Dangerous Substances Program prior to the 

relocation of the site. 

H. Failure of a CAET to comply with any and all 

provisions of this Section shall be considered a violation of 

the rules of professional conduct within the meaning of R.S. 

37:1554.A.(12). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1558. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1426 

(November 1993), amended LR 26:319 (February 2000). 

§1225. Responsibilities of a Lead CAET 

A. Designation 

1. Pursuant to R.S. 37:1552(4), a person seeking 

designation as a Lead CAET must submit the following to 

the board: 
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a. a completed application form approved by the 

board which shall be sworn to and notarized before a 

Louisiana notary public; 

b. a copy of his current Louisiana state controlled 

dangerous substances license; 

c. a copy of his current registration with the U.S. 

Drug Enforcement Administration; 

d. documentation from the sponsor of a board-

approved chemical capture training course that: 

 i. he has completed the chemical capture training 

course; or 

 ii. until December 31, 2000, if a designee 

applicant completed a chemical capture training course prior 

to August 1, 2000, he may submit documentation of such 

completion along with information concerning the content of 

the course to the board; the board may approve the course 

and accept it as sufficient to meet the requirements of R.S. 

37:1552(4)(c). 

B. Legal Drugs. Pursuant to R.S. 37:1556.B, those 

controlled substances a Lead CAET may legally order and 

maintain for the sole purpose of restraining, capturing and 

euthanizing animals shall be limited to the following: 

1. sodium pentobarbital at a minimum strength of six 

grains per milliliter; 

2. tiletamine hydrochloride and zolazepam 

hydrochloride; and 

3. ketamine hydrochloride. 

C. Providing Chemical Capture Drugs 

1. A Lead CAET shall provide chemical capture drugs 

only to persons who have completed a board-approved 

training course in the use of chemical capture drugs. 

2. Prior to transferring chemical capture drugs to a 

person who has completed a board-approved training course 

in the use of chemical capture drugs, a Lead CAET shall 

have and maintain on file documentation from the sponsor of 

the board-approved course that the person completed the 

course. Until December 31, 2000, if a person to whom the 

Lead CAET provides chemical capture drugs completed a 

chemical capture training course prior to August 1, 2000, the 

Lead CAET may submit documentation of such completion 

along with information concerning the content of the course 

to the board. The board may approve the course and accept it 

as sufficient to meet the requirements of R.S. 37:1556.B.(4). 

3. Prior to ordering, maintaining, or providing any 

controlled substance under his own authority to another 

person, the lead CAET must be registered with the Drug 

Enforcement Administration (DEA) and licensed by the state 

controlled dangerous substances program at the shelter 

location where the drugs will be stored and administered. 

4. The Lead CAET must maintain and store the 

controlled substances allowed for use under §1225.B in a 

manner which meets or exceeds the requirements of all 

federal or state drug enforcement agencies, including storage 

of controlled substances in a securely locked, substantially 

constructed cabinet and the keeping of a perpetual inventory 

as required by LAC 48:I.Chapter 39. 

5. Use of controlled substances allowed under 

§1225.B shall be documented to include, but not limited to: 

a. date of each use of the drug; 

b. species of animal; 

c. estimated weight of animal; 

d. dose administered; 

e. name of animal control officer to whom the drug 

was transferred and who administered the drug; 

f. a perpetual (running) inventory of the drug 

present at the facility; and 

g. both the Lead CAET and person to whom the 

drug is transferred shall sign a drug sign-out document each 

time the drug is transferred for use. 

6. The Lead CAET shall review each use of the 

controlled substances allowed under §1225.B and the Lead 

CAET shall initial the usage log entries to indicate this 

review. A review of the usage logs shall be made at least 

quarterly and the quantities of drug used and on hand shall 

be tallied and authenticated. Any variance shall be noted in 

the log and steps should be taken and documented to correct 

the problem. 

7. Any removal of the controlled substances allowed 

under §1225.B from the securely locked, substantially 

constructed cabinet shall be in minimal amounts, shall be 

maintained in a locked container when not in use, and shall 

be documented in a manner to include, but not be limited to: 

a. a signed log indicating the person removing the 

drug;  

b. the date on which the drug was removed; 

c. an accounting for all drug used and the amount 

returned; 

d. the date on which the remaining drug was 

returned and the signature of the person returning it. 

8. This Section does not pertain to any drug(s) listed 

in any DEA classification schedule (also known as 

controlled drugs) or state of Louisiana classification 

schedule, except those allowed under §1225.B. 

D. Failure of a Lead CAET to comply with any and all 

provisions of §1223 and §1225 shall be considered a 

violation of the rules of professional conduct within the 

meaning of R.S. 37:1554.A.(12). 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1558. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 26:320 

(February 2000). 

§1227. Continuing Education 

A. Basic Requirements 
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1. A minimum of 6 actual hours is required each fiscal 

year (July 1 through June 30) as a prerequisite for annual 

renewal of certification; however, a maximum of 3 hours 

shall be earned for each fiscal period (July 1 to June 30) 

through online participation as defined in LAC 

46:LXXXV.1200. An CAET who fails to obtain a minimum 

of 6 continuing education hours within the applicable fiscal 

period will not meet the requirements for renewal of his 

certificate. 

2.a. Proof of attendance for all completed continuing 

education activity shall be submitted annually for each 

renewal period and shall include the following: 

 i. the CAET’s full name; 

 ii. the name of the course/program; 

 iii. the name of the sponsor and/or presenter;  

 iv. the date(s) of attendance; 

 v. the total number of hours completed; 

 vi. the delivery method; and 

 vii. the specific subject matter completed. 

b. All completed proof of attendance must be 

submitted to the board by September 30.  

3. All hours shall be obtained in the 12 months 

preceding the renewal period of the certificate. Hours taken 

prior to the 12-month continuing education period shall not 

be accepted. Hours taken after the beginning of the renewal 

period shall be considered late. Hours submitted late, if 

accepted by the board, cannot be applied to other renewal 

periods. 

4. Each CAET must fulfill his annual educational 

requirements at his own expense or through a sponsoring 

agency other than the board. Any registration fee(s) for his 

annual continuing veterinary education requirements are not 

included in the annual renewal fee. 

5. Presenters of an approved continuing education 

program may not submit hours for their presentation of, or 

preparation for, the program as continuing education hours. 

B. Approved Continuing Education Programs. It shall be 

the duty of the board to approve all continuing veterinary 

education programs for which credit shall be given to 

Louisiana certified animal euthanasia technicians as follows. 

1. Hours may be taken from any programs accepted 

by another state’s regulatory board of veterinary medicine, a 

governmental entity, and/or AAVSB, as well as those 

programs sponsored by AVMA accredited schools of 

veterinary medicine and/or any professional associations 

recognized by the board shall be accepted as units or hours 

of annual continuing education with the subject matter 

content properly addressing the duties of a certified animal 

euthanasia technician. All other continuing education 

programs must be approved by the board prior to attendance 

with the subject matter content properly addressing the 

duties of a certified animal euthanasia technician. Those 

continuing education programs not timely submitted in 

accordance with Subsection C below will not be allowed for 

annual continuing education credit. 

2. The list of programs for which pre-approval has 

been granted will be updated as needed and published by the 

board on its website, as well as those programs which are 

accepted by another state’s regulatory board of veterinary 

medicine, a governmental entity, and/or AAVSB, and those 

programs sponsored by AVMA accredited schools of 

veterinary medicine and/or any professional associations 

recognized by the board. 

3. Additions to the list of pre-approved programs may 

be requested by writing to the board office and submitting all 

required documentation. All programs not on the pre-

approved list must be submitted for pre-approval at least 14 

days prior to the date of the program for the units or hours to 

be credited. Pre-approval may be obtained by writing or 

calling the board office during regular business hours. 

4. In order to qualify for board approval, all 

continuing education programs must be open by 

invitation/advertisement to interested certified animal 

euthanasia technicians in general. 

C. Non-Compliance with Continuing Education 

Requirements 

1. Non-compliance with these rules shall be 

considered to be a violation of R.S. 37:1526(14). 

2. Failure to submit proof of attendance for continuing 

education hours by the September 30 deadline pursuant to 

Subsection A or falsifying certification shall be considered a 

violation of R.S. 37:1526(14) and/or (15). 

3. Failure to obtain the required number of hours in 

the specified time period shall be considered a violation of 

the rules of professional conduct. An extension of no more 

than 90 days after the September 30 certificate expiration 

date may be granted by petitioning the board in accordance 

with Paragraph 4 below. 

4. The board may grant an extension of no more than 

90 days for extenuating circumstances. The CAET 

requesting the extension must petition the board at least 30 

days prior to the September 30 certificate expiration date. 

The board may require whatever documentation it deems 

necessary to verify the circumstances necessitating the 

extension. 

5. A CAET who fails to obtain the required minimum 

of 6 approved hours within the prescribed 12-month period 

will not meet the requirements for renewal of his certificate. 

Such a certificate shall expire on September 30 for any 

CAET who does not timely and properly comply with the 

annual continuing education requirements. Thereafter, a 

CAET may apply for renewal of his expired certificate; 

however, he shall be unable to lawfully perform the allowed 

duties of a CAET and may be subject to disciplinary action 

by the board, until such time as the requirements for renewal 

have been met and documented to the satisfaction of the 

board. 
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D. The promulgation of rule amendments by the board 

published in the Louisiana Register on January 20, 2011 

shall become effective for the period of time (July 1, 2010-

June 30, 2011) for the 2011-2012 annual certificate renewal 

and every annual certificate renewal period thereafter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1558. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 26:321 

(February 2000), amended LR 36:320 (February 2010), LR 

37:1153 (April 2011), amended by the Department of Health, 

Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 44:588 (March 2018), amended 

by the Department of Agriculture and Forestry, Board of Veterinary 

Medicine, LR 50:1138 (August 2024). 

Chapter 13.  Zoo Personnel 

§1300. Definitions 

Chemical Restraint Drugs—legend or scheduled 

(controlled) drugs used in the capture and/or restraint of 

dangerous animals. 

Dangerous Animal—a zoo animal which poses a threat or 

risk of harm to a human being, to itself, to another animal, to 

zoo property, or to private property. 

Licensed Veterinarian or Veterinarian—a veterinarian 

licensed to practice veterinary medicine in the state of 

Louisiana as provided in R.S. 37:1513(6). 

Storage and Use Plan—a written protocol stating the 

storage, inventory, and record keeping requirements for the 

use of chemical restraint drugs used in the capture of 

dangerous animals. 

Trained Layperson—an employee of a zoo who has been 

trained by a licensed veterinarian according to the 

requirements of §1303 of this Chapter. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1429 

(November 1993), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture 

and Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:773 (June 2024). 

§1301. Administration of Chemical Restraint Drugs 

A. A trained layperson may administer chemical restraint 

drugs to a dangerous animal when said animal has escaped 

from its usual area of confinement in a zoo. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1429 

(November 1993), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture 

and Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:773 (June 2024). 

§1303. Training Requirements for Zoo Personnel 

A. Laypersons who are employed by a zoo and who will 

administer chemical restraint drugs must be trained by a 

veterinarian. 

B. Trained by a veterinarian means: 

1. that the veterinarian has provided the employee 

with: 

a. a list of each species of animal which may 

require capture by the use of chemical restraint drugs; 

b. the specific drug to be used on a particular 

species; and 

c. the specific amount, listed in cc's, of said drug for 

each species with an appropriate dosage range to account for 

the varying weights for the particular animal which 

necessitates capture by chemical restraint drugs; 

2. that the veterinarian has demonstrated to the 

employee the safe and proper use of capture equipment. 

C. A certificate offering proof of training for each 

employee shall be filed with the board by the licensed 

veterinarian. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1429 

(November 1993), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture 

and Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:773 (June 2024). 

§1305. Protocols and Plans 

A. An escape and capture protocol to be used by the 

veterinarian in the training of zoo employees shall be 

submitted to the board for approval. 

B. A storage and use plan for capture drugs which meets 

or exceeds the requirements of all federal drug enforcement 

agencies and the standards for record keeping found in 

Chapter 7 of these rules shall be submitted to the board for 

the board's approval. 

1. Use plans shall include a requirement that each use 

of a controlled substance shall be documented for review by 

the licensed veterinarian responsible for the purchase and 

inventory of that drug. 

2. Review of each use shall be indicated on the usage 

log by providing a place for the responsible veterinarian to 

enter his or her initials. 

C. An inventory protocol for all capture drugs which 

meets or exceeds the requirements of all federal drug 

enforcement agencies and the standards for prescribing and 

dispensing drugs found in Chapter 7 of these rules shall be 

submitted to the board for the board's approval. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1430 

(November 1993), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture 

and Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:773 (June 2024). 

§1307. Penalties 

A. Failure of a licensed veterinarian to comply with any 

or all provisions of this Chapter shall be considered a 

violation of the rules of professional conduct. Said 

veterinarian may be subject to disciplinary action as 

provided for in R.S. 37:1518 and 1526. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 19:1430 

(November 1993), repromulgated by the Department of Agriculture 

and Forestry, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 50:773 (June 2024). 

Chapter 14.  Disciplinary Procedures 

§1401. Causes for Administrative Action 

A. The board, after due notice and hearing as set forth 

herein and the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et 

seq., may deny, revoke or suspend any license, temporary 

permit, or certification issued or applied for or otherwise 

discipline a licensed veterinarian, registered veterinary 

technician or certified animal euthanasia technician on a 

finding that the person has violated the Louisiana Veterinary 

Practice Act, any of the rules and regulations promulgated 

by the board, the Principles of Veterinary Medical Ethics of 

the American Veterinary Medical Association, or prior final 

decisions and/or consent orders involving the licensed 

veterinarian, registered veterinary technician or certified 

animal euthanasia technician or applicant. Sometimes 

hereinafter in this Chapter, where the context allows, a 

licensed veterinarian, registered veterinary technician or 

certified animal euthanasia technician or applicant may be 

referred to as "person." 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 25:2227 

(November 1999). 

§1403. Disciplinary Process and Procedures 

A. The purpose of the following rules and regulations is 

to supplement and effectuate the applicable provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., regarding 

the disciplinary process and procedures incident thereto. 

These rules and regulations are not intended to amend or 

repeal the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, 

and to the extent any of these rules and regulations are in 

conflict therewith, the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act shall govern. 

B. A disciplinary proceeding, including the formal 

hearing, is less formal than a judicial proceeding. It is not 

subject to strict rules and technicalities, but must be 

conducted in accordance with considerations of fair play and 

constitutional requirements of due process. 

C. The purpose of a disciplinary proceeding is to 

determine contested issues of law and fact; whether the 

person did certain acts or omissions and, if he did, whether 

those acts or omissions violated the Louisiana Veterinary 

Practice Act, the rules and regulations of the board, the 

Principles of Veterinary Medical Ethics of the American 

Veterinary Medical Association, or prior Final Decisions 

and/or Consent Orders involving the veterinarian, registered 

veterinary technician or certified animal euthanasia 

technician or applicant and to determine the appropriate 

disciplinary action. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 25:2227 

(November 1999). 

§1405. Initiation of Complaints 

A. Complaints may be initiated by any person or by the 

board on its own initiative. 

B. All complaints shall be addressed confidential and 

shall be sent to the board office. The investigating board 

member, with benefit of counsel, shall decide to investigate 

the charges or deny the charges. If the charges are denied, a 

letter of denial is prepared and forwarded to the complainant 

and the person accused of wrongdoing. If the investigating 

board member decides to investigate, the person shall be 

notified that allegations have been made that he may have 

committed a breach of statute, rule and regulation, the 

American Veterinary Medical Association's Principles of 

Veterinary Medical Ethics, and/or prior final decisions or 

consent orders and that he must respond in writing to the 

board within a specified time period. The response is to be 

made to the board office address. The complaint letter of 

alleged violations shall not be given initially to the person. 

However, sufficiently specific allegations shall be conveyed 

to the person for his response. Once the person has answered 

the complaint, and other pertinent information, if available, 

is reviewed, a determination by the investigating board 

member, with benefit of counsel, will be made if a 

disciplinary proceeding is required. 

C. Pursuant to its authority to regulate the industry, the 

board through its investigating board member, may issue 

subpoenas to secure evidence of alleged violations of the 

Louisiana Veterinary Practice Act, any of the rules and 

regulations promulgated by the board, the American 

Veterinary Medical Association's Principles of Veterinarian 

Medical Ethics, or prior final decisions and/or consent orders 

involving the licensed veterinarian, registered veterinary 

technician or certified animal euthanasia technician or 

applicant. 

D. Counsel referenced in this Chapter shall mean the 

board's General Counsel who will be assisting in the 

investigation and prosecution of an administrative action. 

Said counsel shall not provide any legal advices or act as 

legal counsel to the board or its members, other than the 

investigating board member, regarding a pending 

administrative action during the investigation, prosecution 

and resolution of such disciplinary action by the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 25:2227 

(November 1999). 

§1407. Informal Disposition of Complaints 

A. Some complaints may be settled informally by the 

board and the person accused of a violation without a formal 

hearing. The following types of informal dispositions may 

be utilized. 
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1. Disposition by Correspondence. For complaints 

less serious, the investigating board member may write to 

the person explaining the nature of the complaint received. 

The person's subsequent response may satisfactorily explain 

the situation, and the matter may be closed. If the situation is 

not satisfactorily explained, it shall be pursued through an 

informal conference or formal hearing. 

2. Informal Conference 

a. The investigating board member may hold a 

conference with the person in lieu of, or in addition to, 

correspondence in cases of less serious complaints. If the 

situation is satisfactorily explained in conference, a formal 

hearing is not scheduled. 

b. The person shall be given adequate notice of the 

conference, of the issues to be discussed, and of the fact that 

information brought out at the conference may later be used 

in a formal hearing. Board members, other than the 

investigating board member, may not be involved in 

informal conferences. 

3. Settlement. An agreement worked out between the 

person making the complaint and the person accused of a 

violation does not preclude disciplinary action by the board. 

The nature of the offense alleged and the evidence before the 

board must be considered. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 25:2228 

(November 1999). 

§1409. Formal Hearing 

A. The board has the authority, granted by R.S. 37:1511 

et seq., to bring administrative proceedings against persons 

to whom it has issued a license, temporary permit or 

certification or any applicant requesting a license, temporary 

permit or certification. The person has the right to appear 

and be heard, either in person or by counsel; the right of 

notice; a statement of what accusations have been made; the 

right to present evidence and to cross-examine; and the right 

to have witnesses subpoenaed. 

B. If the person does not appear, either in person or 

through counsel, after proper notice has been given, the 

person may be considered to have waived these rights and 

the board may proceed with the hearing without the presence 

of the person. 

C. The process of administrative action shall include 

certain steps and may include other steps as follows. 

1. The board receives a complaint alleging that a 

person has acted in violation of the Louisiana Veterinary 

Practice Act, the rules and regulations of the board, or the 

Principles of Veterinary Medical Ethics of the American 

Veterinary Medical Association. Communications from the 

complaining party shall not be revealed to any person until 

and unless a formal complaint is filed except those 

documents being subpoenaed by a court. 

2.a. The complaint is investigated by the investigating 

board member or board attorney to determine if there is 

sufficient evidence to warrant disciplinary proceedings. No 

board member, other than the investigating board member, 

may communicate with any party to a proceeding or his 

representative concerning any issue of fact or law involved 

in that proceeding. 

b. A decision to initiate a formal complaint or 

charge is made if one or more of the following conditions 

exist: 

 i. the complaint is sufficiently serious; 

 ii. the person fails to respond to the board's 

correspondence concerning the complaint; 

 iii. the person's response to the board's letter or 

investigation demand is not convincing that no action is 

necessary; or 

 iv. an informal approach is used, but fails to 

resolve all of the issues. 

3. A sworn complaint is filed, charging the violation 

of one or more of the provisions of the Louisiana Veterinary 

Practice Act, the rules and regulations promulgated thereto, 

the American Veterinary Medical Association's Principles of 

Veterinary Medical Ethics, or prior final decisions and/or 

consent orders involving the person. 

4. A time and place for a hearing is fixed by the 

chairman or an agent of the board. 

5.a. At least 20 days prior to the date set for the 

hearing, a copy of the charges and a notice of the time and 

place of the hearing are sent by certified mail to the last 

known address of the person accused. If the mailing is not 

returned to the board, it is assumed to have been received. It 

is the person's obligation to keep the board informed of his 

whereabouts. 

b. The content of the charges limits the scope of the 

hearing and the evidence which may be introduced. The 

charges may be amended at any time up to 10 days prior to 

the date set for the hearing. 

c. If the board is unable to describe the matters 

involved in detail at the time the sworn complaint is filed, 

this complaint may be limited to a general statement of the 

issues involved. Thereafter, upon the person's request, the 

board shall supply a more definite and detailed statement to 

the person. 

6. Except for extreme emergencies, motions 

requesting a continuance of a hearing shall be filed at least 

five days prior to the time set for the hearing. The motion 

shall contain the reason for the request, which reason must 

have relevance to due process. 

7.a. The chairman, or an authorized agent of the 

board, issues subpoenas for the board for disciplinary 

proceedings, and when requested to do so, may issue 

subpoenas for the other party. Subpoenas include: 
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 i. a subpoena requiring a person to appear and 

give testimony; and 

 ii. a subpoena duces tecum, which requires that a 

person produce books, records, correspondence, or other 

materials over which he has custody. 

b. A motion to limit or quash a subpoena may be 

filed with the board, but not less than 72 hours prior to the 

hearing. 

8. a. The hearing is held, at which time the board's 

primary role is to hear evidence and argument, and to reach a 

decision. Any board member who, because of bias or 

interest, is unable to assure a fair hearing, shall be recused 

from the particular proceeding. The reasons for the recusal 

are made part of the record. Should the majority of the board 

members be recused for a particular proceeding, the 

governor shall be requested to appoint a sufficient number of 

pro tem members to obtain a quorum for the proceeding. 

b. The board is represented by its agent who 

conducted the investigation and presents evidence that 

disciplinary action should be taken against the person and/or 

by the board's attorney. The person may present evidence 

personally or through an attorney, and witnesses may testify 

on behalf of the person. 

c. Evidence includes the following: 

 i. oral testimony given by witnesses at the 

hearing, except that, for good cause, testimony may be taken 

by deposition (cost of the deposition is borne by requesting 

party); 

 ii. documentary evidence, i.e., written or printed 

materials including public, business, institutional records, 

books and reports; 

 iii. visual, physical and illustrative evidence; 

 iv. admissions, which are written or oral 

statements of a party made either before or during the 

hearing; 

 v. facts officially noted into the record, usually 

readily determined facts making proof of such unnecessary; 

and/or 

 vi. other items or things allowed into evidence by 

the Louisiana Evidence Code or applicable statutory law or 

jurisprudence. 

d. All testimony is given under oath. If the witness 

objects to swearing, the word "affirm" may be substituted. 

9. The chairman of the board presides and the 

customary order of proceedings at a hearing is as follows: 

a. the board's representative makes an opening 

statement of what he intends to prove, and what action, he 

wants the board to take; 

b. the person, or his attorney, makes an opening 

statement, explaining why he believes that the charges 

against him are not legally founded; 

c. the board's representative presents the case 

against the person; 

d. the person, or his attorney, cross-examines; 

e. the person presents evidence; 

f. the board's representative cross-examines; 

g. the board's representative rebuts the person's 

evidence; 

h. both parties make closing statements. The board's 

representative makes the initial closing statement and the 

final statement. 

10. Motions may be made before, during, or after a 

hearing. All motions shall be made at an appropriate time 

according to the nature of the request. Motions made before 

or after the hearing shall be in writing. Those made during 

the course of the hearing may be made orally since they 

become part of the record of the proceeding. 

11.a. The record of the hearing shall include: 

 i. all papers filed and served in the proceeding; 

 ii. all documents and/or other materials accepted 

as evidence at the hearing; 

 iii. statements of matters officially noticed; 

 iv. notices required by the statutes or rules; 

including notice of the hearing; 

 v. affidavits of service or receipts for mailing or 

process or other evidence of service; 

 vi. stipulations, settlement agreements or consent 

orders, if any; 

 vii. records of matters agreed upon at a prehearing 

conference; 

 viii. reports filed by the hearing officer, if one is 

used; 

 ix. orders of the board and its final decision; 

 x. actions taken subsequent to the decision, 

including requests for reconsideration and rehearing; 

 xi. a transcript of the proceedings, if one has been 

made, or a tape recording or stenographic record. 

b. The record of the proceeding shall be retained 

until the time for any appeal has expired, or until the appeal 

has been concluded. The record is not transcribed unless a 

party to the proceeding so requests, and the requesting party 

pays for the cost of the transcript. 

12.a. The decision of the board shall be reached 

according to the following process: 

 i. determine the facts at issue on the basis of the 

evidence submitted at the hearing; 

 ii. determine whether the facts in the case support 

the charges brought against the person; and 
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 iii. determine whether charges brought are in 

violation of the Louisiana Veterinary Practice Act, rules and 

regulations of the board, and/or the American Veterinary 

Medical Association's Principles of Veterinary Medical 

Ethics. 

b. Deliberation 

 i. The board will deliberate in closed session. 

 ii. The board will vote on each charge as to 

whether the charge has been supported by the evidence. The 

standard will be "preponderance of the evidence." 

 iii. After considering each charge, the board will 

vote on a resolution to dismiss the charges, deny, revoke or 

suspend any license, temporary permit or certification issued 

or applied for or otherwise discipline a person or applicant. 

An affirmative vote of a majority of the quorum of the board 

shall be needed to deny, revoke, or suspend any license, 

temporary permit or certification issued or applied for in 

accordance with the provisions of this Chapter or otherwise 

discipline a person or applicant. The investigating board 

member shall not be involved in or present during 

deliberation, nor shall he be included in the quorum or 

allowed to vote on the outcome of the proceeding. 

c. Sanctions against the person who is party to the 

proceeding are based upon findings of fact and conclusions 

of law determined as a result of the hearing, and will be 

issued by the board in accordance with applicable statutory 

authority. The party is notified by mail of the final decision 

of the board. 

d. In addition to the disciplinary action or fines 

assessed by the board against a licensed veterinarian or 

temporary permittee, the board may assess all costs incurred 

in connection with the proceedings, including but not limited 

to investigators', stenographers', attorney's fees and court 

costs. 

e. With regard to a registered veterinary technician, 

the board may, as a probationary condition or as a condition 

of the reinstatement of any certification suspended or 

revoked hereunder, require the holder to pay all costs of the 

board proceedings, including investigators', stenographers', 

secretaries', attorneys' fees and court costs. 

f. With regard to a certified animal euthanasia 

technician, the board may require the holder to pay all costs 

of the board proceedings, including investigators', 

stenographers', secretaries', attorneys' fees, and court costs. 

13. Every order of the board shall take effect 

immediately on its being rendered unless the board in such 

order fixes a stay of execution of a sanction for a period of 

time against an applicant or licensee, temporary permittee or 

holder of a certificate. Such order, without a stay of 

execution, shall continue in effect until expiration of any 

specified time period or termination by a court of competent 

jurisdiction. The board shall notify all licensees, temporary 

permittees or holders of certificates of any action taken 

against him and may make public its orders and judgment in 

such manner and form as allowed by law. 

14.a. The board may reconsider a matter which it has 

decided. This may involve rehearing the case, or it may 

involve reconsidering the case on the basis of the record. 

Such reconsideration may occur when a party who is 

dissatisfied with a decision of the board files a motion 

requesting that the decision be reconsidered by the board. 

b. The board shall reconsider a matter when ordered 

to do so by a higher administrative authority or when the 

case is remanded for reconsideration or rehearing by a court 

to which the board's decision has been appealed. 

c. A motion by a party for reconsideration or 

rehearing must be in proper form and filed within 10 days 

after notification of the board's decision. The motion shall 

set forth the grounds for the rehearing, which include one or 

more of the following: 

 i. the board's decision is clearly contrary to the 

law and evidence; 

 ii. there is newly discovered evidence by the party 

since the hearing which is important to the issues and which 

the party could not have discovered with due diligence 

before or during the hearing; 

 iii. there is a showing that issues not previously 

considered ought to be examined in order to dispose of the 

case properly; or 

 iv. it would be in the public interest to further 

consider the issues and the evidence. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 25:2228 

(November 1999). 

§1411. Consent Order 

A. An order involving a type of disciplinary action may 

be made to the board by the investigating board member 

with the consent of the person. To be accepted, a consent 

order requires formal consent of a majority of the quorum of 

the board. Such quorum does not include the investigating 

board member. It is not the result of the board's deliberation; 

it is the board's acceptance of an agreement reached between 

the board and the person. A proposed consent order may be 

rejected by the board in which event a formal hearing will 

occur. The consent order, if accepted by the board, is issued 

by the board to carry out the parties' agreement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 25:2230 

(November 1999). 

§1413. Withdrawal of a Complaint 

A. If the complainant wishes to withdraw the complaint, 

the inquiry is terminated, except in cases where the 

investigating board member judges the issues to be of such 

importance as to warrant completing the investigation in its 

own right and in the interest of public welfare. 
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AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 25:2230 

(November 1999). 

§1415. Refusal to Respond or Cooperate with the Board 

A. If the person does not respond to the original inquiry 

within a reasonable period of time as requested by the board, 

a follow-up letter shall be sent to the person by certified 

mail, return receipt requested. 

B. If the person refuses to reply to the board's inquiry or 

otherwise cooperate with the board, the board shall continue 

its investigation. The board shall record the circumstances of 

the person's failure to cooperate and shall inform the person 

that the lack of cooperation may result in action which could 

eventually lead to the denial, revocation or suspension of his 

license, temporary permit or certification, or application for 

licensure, temporary permit or certification, or otherwise 

issue appropriate disciplinary sanction. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 25:2230 

(November 1999). 

§1417. Judicial Review of Adjudication 

A. Any person whose license, temporary permit or 

certification, or application for licensure, temporary permit 

or certification, has been denied, revoked or suspended or 

otherwise disciplined by the board shall have the right to 

have the proceedings of the board reviewed by the state 

district court for the parish of East Baton Rouge, provided 

that such petition for judicial review is made within 30 days 

after the notice of the decision of the board. If judicial 

review is granted, the board's decision is enforceable in the 

interim unless the court orders a stay. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 25:2231 

(November 1999). 

§1419. Appeal 

A. A person aggrieved by any final judgment rendered 

by the state district court may obtain a review of said final 

judgment by appeal to the appropriate circuit court of 

appeal. Pursuant to the applicable section of the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., this 

appeal shall be taken as in any other civil case. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 25:2231 

(November 1999). 

§1421. Reinstatement of Suspended or Revoked License 

A. Any person whose license is suspended or revoked 

may, at the discretion of the board, be relicensed or 

reinstated at any time without an examination by majority 

vote of the board on written application made to the board 

showing cause justifying relicensing or reinstatement. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 25:2231 

(November 1999). 

§1423. Declaratory Statements 

A. The board may issue a declaratory statement in 

response to a request for clarification of the effect of the 

provisions contained in the Louisiana Veterinary Practice 

Act, R.S. 37:1511 et seq., the rules and regulations 

promulgated by the board and/or the Principles of Veterinary 

Medical Ethics of the American Veterinary Medical 

Association. 

B. A request for declaratory statement is made in the 

form of a petition to the board. The petition should include at 

least: 

1. the name and address of the petitioner; 

2. specific reference to the statute, rule and regulation, 

or the American Veterinary Medical Association's Principles 

of Veterinary Medical Ethics to which the petitioner relates; 

and 

3. a concise statement of the manner in which the 

petitioner is aggrieved by the statute, rules and regulations, 

or provision of the American Veterinary Medical 

Association's Principles of Veterinary Medical Ethics by its 

potential application to him in which he is uncertain of its 

effect. 

C. The petition shall be considered by the board within a 

reasonable period of time taking into consideration the 

nature of the matter and the circumstances involved. 

D. The declaratory statement of the board in response to 

the petition shall be in writing and mailed to the petitioner at 

the last address furnished to the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 25:2231 

(November 1999). 

§1425. Injunction 

A. The board or any citizen of this state may bring an 

action to enjoin any person from practicing veterinary 

medicine without a currently valid license or temporary 

permit. 

B. If the court finds that the person is violating, or is 

threatening to violate, this Chapter it shall enter an 

injunction restraining him from such unlawful acts. 

C. The successful maintenance of an action based on any 

one of the remedies set forth in this rule shall in no way 

prejudice the prosecution of an action based on any other of 

the remedies. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518 et seq. 
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 25:2231 

(November 1999). 

Chapter 15.  Registered Equine 

Dentists 

§1500. Definitions 

A. All definitions used in this Chapter shall have the 

meaning assigned to them in R.S. 37:1560. In addition, the 

following definitions shall be applied. 

Approval [as used in R.S. 37:1562.C.(2)]—the 

veterinarian shall make an informed decision based upon his 

professional judgment after giving consideration to the 

notification provided by an equine dentist which shall 

include a visual inspection conducted by the veterinarian 

prior to the commencement of the procedure. 

Continuing Education—board-approved educational 

experiences in equine dentistry, which may be in the form of 

institutes, seminars, lectures, conferences, workshops, and 

other modes of delivery so as to maintain and improve 

technical competency for the health, welfare, and safety of 

the citizens of Louisiana. 

Continuing Education Unit (CEU)—one hour of activity 

or participation in a continuing educational program 

approved by the board. 

Equine Owner's Veterinarian—veterinarian licensed by 

the board who has established a veterinary-client-patient 

relationship as a primary care provider or as a consultant to 

the primary care provider. 

Notify or Notification— 

a. with regard to the rasping (floating) of molar, 

premolar and canine teeth, and the removal of deciduous 

incisor and premolar teeth (caps), shall mean full written or 

verbal person to person communication with the veterinarian 

prior to the commencement of the procedure; or 

b. with regard to extracting equine first premolar 

teeth (wolf teeth), shall mean full written or verbal person to 

person communication with the veterinarian prior to 

commencement of the procedure and after approval is given 

by the veterinarian; however, written confirmation of the 

notification prepared by the registered equine dentist shall be 

sent to and received by the veterinarian within seven days 

after the procedure, which written confirmation shall 

include: 

 i. owner's name, address, and phone number; 

 ii. identifying information concerning the horse, 

which shall include name, permanent identification marks, 

age, sex, and color; 

 iii. method of restraint used during the procedure; 

 iv. type of dental procedure performed, including 

methods used; 

 v. description of the outcome of the procedure; 

 vi. recommendations, if any, to the owner 

following extraction of any first premolar teeth. 

Possession—actual possession whereby the registered 

equine dentist has his certificate readily available. 

Practice of Equine Dentistry—the rasping (floating) of 

molar, premolar and canine teeth, and the removal of 

deciduous incisor and premolar teeth (caps); additionally, an 

equine dentist may extract equine first premolar teeth (wolf 

teeth) after complying with the requirements set forth in  

R.S. 37:1562.C.(2) and the board's rules. 

Referral—a verbal request to perform equine dentistry 

made to a registered equine dentist by a veterinarian licensed 

by the board who has established a veterinarian-client-

patient relationship as defined in §700 and who is readily 

accessible by beeper or cell phone as well as present within a 

30 mile radius of and 30 minutes or less travel time from the 

treatment site. 

Referral Veterinarian—a veterinarian licensed by the 

board authorized by the existence of a veterinarian-client-

patient relationship as defined in §700 to make a referral to 

perform equine dentistry to a registered equine dentist and 

who is readily accessible by beeper or cell phone as well as 

present within a 30 mile radius of and 30 minutes or less 

travel time from the treatment site. 

Substantially Involved in the Care and Maintenance of 

Horses in the Horse Racing Industry in Louisiana—previous 

practical experience within the horse racing industry that 

included equine dental procedures. 

Unprofessional Conduct—in addition to the definition 

set forth in R.S. 37:1564.A.(10), shall include the following: 

a. making or participating in any communication, 

advertisement or solicitation which is false, fraudulent, 

deceptive, misleading or unfair, or which contains a false, 

fraudulent, deceptive, misleading or unfair statement or 

claim; 

b. initiation or continuation of services that are 

contraindicated or cannot reasonably result in beneficial 

outcome; 

c. abuse or exploitation of the provider-patient 

relationship for the purpose of securing personal 

compensation, gratification, or benefit unrelated to the 

provision of service; 

d. failure to comply with the practice requirements 

set forth in R.S. 37:1562; 

e. failure to comply with the duties established in 

R.S. 37:1560 et seq., and/or the board's rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 26:489 

(March 2000). 
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§1501. Applications for Certificates of Approval 

A. Pursuant to R.S. 37:1561 and 1562.D, applicants shall 

submit the following items to the board: 

1. a completed application form approved by the 

board, which shall be sworn to and subscribed before a 

notary public; 

2. evidence that the applicant is a current resident of 

this state on July 1, 1999, which evidence must be one of the 

following: 

a. a utility bill statement in the name of the 

applicant and for a Louisiana address which includes service 

for July 1, 1999; or 

b. any other document providing evidence of 

residency on July 1, 1999, which is approved by a majority 

of a quorum of the board; 

3. evidence that the applicant is substantially involved 

in the care and maintenance of horses in the horse racing 

industry in Louisiana, which evidence shall be the following: 

a. an affidavit from the applicant sworn to and 

subscribed before a notary public; and 

b. two letters of reference on board-approved forms 

from veterinarians licensed by the board which shall attest to 

the applicant's character and ethical standards as they apply 

to his knowledge in the field of equine dentistry and his 

substantial involvement in the care and maintenance of 

horses in the horse racing industry in Louisiana; and 

4. evidence that the applicant was licensed in good 

standing as an equine dentist by the Louisiana Racing 

Commission on or before July 1, 1995, which evidence must 

be a certified statement directly forwarded to the board 

office from an authorized official of the Louisiana Racing 

Commission attesting to the applicant's licensure in good 

standing on or before July 1, 1995; 

5. payment of all applicable fees for registered equine 

dentist fees established by the board; 

6. a current passport type photograph of the applicant; 

7. certification by the applicant that he has not 

violated or been subject to any of the grounds for denial of a 

certificate of approval as listed in R.S. 37:1564; 

8. a list of all professional certificates or licenses that 

the applicant currently holds and/or has held. 

B. The board may reject any applications which do not 

contain full and complete answers and/or information as 

requested and may reject any application if any information 

furnished in the application is fabricated, false, misleading, 

or incorrect. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 26:490 

(March 2000). 

§1503. Fees 

A. The board hereby adopts and establishes the 

following fees for registered equine dentists. 

Original Registration Fee $ 200 

Annual Renewal of Registration Fee $ 125 

Late Renewal Fee $ 100 

Application Fee $ 100 

B. Renewals received after the expiration date as 

provided in R.S. 37:1566, shall be charged a late renewal 

fee. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 26:491 

(March 2000). 

§1505. Renewal of Certificates 

A. All certificates of approval shall expire annually at 

midnight September 30. Certificates shall be renewed by 

completing a re-registration form which shall be provided by 

the board, submitting any other documents required by this 

Chapter, and by payment of the annual renewal fee 

established by the board. 

B. Each year, 90 days prior to the expiration date of the 

license, the board shall mail a notice to each registered 

equine dentist stating the date his certificate will expire and 

providing a form for re-registration. 

C. The certificate of approval will be renewed for any 

person who complies with the requirements of this Chapter. 

D. Re-registration forms for renewal of certificates of 

approval, complete with payment of fees and any other 

documents required by this Chapter, shall be postmarked no 

later than the expiration date of the certificate each year. Re-

registration forms postmarked after midnight of the 

expiration date will be subject to a late renewal fee as 

established by the board. This fee is in addition to the regular 

fee for annual renewal. 

E. Continuing education requirements prescribed by this 

Chapter must be satisfied before a certificate of approval is 

renewed. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 26:491 

(March 2000). 

§1507. Expired Certificate 

A. A registered equine dentist whose certificate has 

expired may be reinstated within one year of its expiration 

by making written application for renewal, paying the 

current renewal fee plus all delinquent renewal fees, and 

meeting the continuing education requirements prescribed 

by the board. 

B. The identifying number of an expired certificate of 

approval shall not be issued to any person other than the 

original holder of that number. 
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C. A registered equine dentist who fails to renew a 

certificate of approval within one year of its expiration must 

reapply for a new certificate. A certificate of approval shall 

not be issued without the approval of a majority of the 

quorum of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 26:491 

(March 2000). 

§1509. Revoked Certificate 

A. A registered equine dentist whose certificate has been 

revoked pursuant to R.S. 37:1564 must reapply for a new 

certificate. 

B. A person whose certificate of approval has been 

revoked pursuant to R.S. 37:1564 shall not be issued a new 

certificate unless approved by a majority of a quorum of the 

board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 26:491 

(March 2000). 

§1511. Review or Appeal of Denial of Application 

A. Any registered equine dentist aggrieved by a decision 

of the board, other than a holder of a certificate of approval 

against whom disciplinary proceedings have been brought 

pursuant to R.S. 37:1560 et seq., may, within 30 days of 

notification of the board's action or decision, petition the 

board for a review or appeal of the board's actions. 

B. Such petition shall be in the form of a letter, signed by 

the person aggrieved, and mailed to the board at its principal 

office. 

C. Upon receipt of such petition, the board may proceed 

to take such action as it deems expedient or hold such 

hearings as may be necessary, and may review such 

testimony and/or documents and/or records as it deems 

necessary to dispose of the matter, but the board shall not, in 

any event, be required to conduct any hearings or 

investigations, or consider any offerings, testimony, or 

evidence unless so required by statute or other rules or 

regulations of the board. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 26:491 

(March 2000). 

§1513. Disciplinary Proceedings 

A. The board, after due notice and hearing as set forth in 

the Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and 

§1401, may deny, reprimand, restrict, fine, probate, suspend, 

revoke or pursuant to R.S. 37:1560 et seq., otherwise 

sanction a registered equine dentist or applicant for 

certification on a finding that the person has violated  

R.S. 37:1560 et seq., or any of the rules promulgated by the 

board, or prior final decisions and/or consent orders 

involving the registered equine dentist or applicant for 

certification. 

B. Any registered equine dentist against whom 

disciplinary proceedings have been instituted and against 

whom disciplinary action has been taken by the board 

pursuant to R.S. 37:1560 et seq., and/or the board's rules, 

shall have rights of review and/or rehearing and/or appeal in 

accordance with the terms and provisions of the 

Administrative Procedure Act and §1401. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 26:491 

(March 2000). 

§1515. Practice and Duties 

A. No person shall practice equine dentistry in Louisiana 

unless issued a certificate of approval by the board or the 

person qualifies for limited exception to certification as set 

forth in Subsection F below. 

B. Pursuant to R.S. 37:1562.C.(1), a registered equine 

dentist who practices equine dentistry at a location other 

than at a racetrack shall notify the horse owner's veterinarian 

prior to the commencement of the practice of equine 

dentistry. 

C. Pursuant to R.S. 37:1562.C.(1), in the event that the 

horse owner does not have a veterinarian, the equine dentist 

shall obtain a referral from a veterinarian licensed by the 

board who has established a veterinarian-client-patient 

relationship as defined in §700. Such referral must be 

documented by the veterinarian to include: 

1. the establishment of the veterinarian-patient-client 

relationship as defined in §700 prior to referral; and 

2. that the referral veterinarian is readily accessible by 

beeper or cell phone as well as present within a 30 mile 

radius of and 30 minutes or less travel time from the 

treatment site; 

3. the referral veterinarian must submit a copy of the 

written referral which must be received by the registered 

equine dentist within seven days from the referral; 

4. such documentation shall be made part of the 

records maintained by the veterinarian and the registered 

equine dentist. 

D. Pursuant to R.S. 37:1562.C.(2), prior to the initiation 

of an extraction of first premolar teeth (wolf teeth), the 

registered equine dentist shall notify and obtain the approval 

of the equine owner's veterinarian or referral veterinarian. 

E. Duties 

1. Prohibition on Drugs. A registered equine dentist 

shall not prescribe, recommend, or administer any legend 

drug or controlled substance. 

2. Record Keeping. A registered equine dentist shall 

establish and maintain legible records which can provide a 

veterinarian with a full understanding of the findings 
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concerning and treatment provided to each horse. Each 

registered equine dentist shall maintain an individual record 

on each horse to include, but not limited to, the following: 

a. owner's name, address, and phone number; 

identifying information concerning the horse, which shall 

include name, permanent identification marks, age, sex, and 

color; nature of dental complaint; method of restraint used 

during a procedure; type of dental procedure performed; 

description of the outcome of the procedure; and 

recommendations, if any, to the owner following the 

procedure; 

b. original of written notifications submitted to 

veterinarians regarding treatment; 

c. records shall be maintained for at least five years; 

d. records are the responsibility and property of the 

registered equine dentist. The registered equine dentist shall 

maintain such records and shall not release the records to 

any person other than the client or a person authorized to 

receive the records for the client, except that the registered 

equine dentist shall provide any and all records as requested 

by the board to the board; and 

e. copies of records shall be provided to the client 

or the client's authorized representative upon written request 

of the client. A reasonable charge for copying and providing 

records may be required by the registered equine dentist. 

F. With proper training and under the direct supervision 

of a licensed veterinarian, a layperson or registered 

veterinary technician employed by a licensed veterinarian 

may perform the rasping (floating) of molar, premolar, and 

canine teeth and the removal of deciduous incisor and 

premolar teeth (caps) of a horse. However, a layperson or 

registered veterinary technician shall not extract teeth, 

amputate large molar, incisor, or canine teeth, extract first 

premolar (wolf teeth), or repair the damaged or diseased 

teeth of a horse. 

1. The following words and terms, when used in this 

rule and §710.D, shall have the following meanings. 

a. Proper Training—prior to providing the 

procedures stated in Subsection F above, a layperson or 

registered veterinary technician shall have successfully 

completed a training program approved by the board which 

shall consist of classroom instruction and practical courses 

appropriate to the rasping (floating) of molar, premolar, and 

canine teeth and removal of deciduous incisor and premolar 

teeth (caps) of a horse. 

b. Direct Supervision—the supervising licensed 

veterinarian shall be readily accessible by beeper or cell 

phone, as well as physically present within a 30 mile radius 

of and 30 minutes or less travel time from the premises 

where the procedure is to be rendered by the layperson or 

registered veterinary technician. 

c. Employed by the Licensed Veterinarian—the 

layperson or registered veterinary technician shall be 

employed by a licensed veterinarian which shall be 

demonstrated by the issuance of a W-2 tax statement or other 

appropriate document evidencing the employment 

relationship as approved by the board. A layperson or 

registered veterinary technician working as an independent 

contractor, partner or any other business arrangement with a 

licensed veterinarian, shall not be considered employed by 

the licensed veterinarian for purposes of the limited 

exception. 

d. Licensed Veterinarian—a veterinarian licensed 

by the board. 

2. The supervising veterinarian shall establish the 

veterinarian-client-patient relationship as defined in §700 

prior to the rendering of a procedure by the layperson or 

registered veterinary technician which shall be documented 

as part of the veterinarian's medical records regarding the 

horse. The permissible procedures delegated to a layperson 

or registered veterinary technician is at the discretion of the 

supervising licensed veterinarian who is ultimately 

responsible for the acts or omissions of these persons. 

3.a. A legible record shall also be maintained on each 

horse which shall include the owner's name, address and 

telephone number, and identifying information on the horse, 

which shall include: 

 i. the name, permanent identification marks, age, 

sex, and color; 

 ii. the layperson or registered veterinary 

technician's name, address and telephone number who 

provided the procedure; 

 iii. nature of dental complaint; 

 iv. method of restrain used during the procedure; 

 v. type of dental procedure and date performed; 

 vi. description of the outcome of the procedure; 

and 

 vii. recommendations, if any, to the owner 

following the procedure. 

b. The supervising veterinarian shall ultimately be 

responsible to maintain the record set forth herein as part of 

the medical records of the horse. 

4. The layperson or registered veterinary technician 

shall not prescribe, recommend, or administer any legend 

drug or controlled substance. 

5. The layperson or registered veterinary technician 

shall not be identified or referred to as a registered equine 

dentist, and shall not bill, directly or indirectly, the client or 

owner of the horse for services rendered. The employing 

veterinarian shall bill the client or owner of the horse for the 

services rendered by the layperson or registered veterinary 

technician. 

6. A supervising licensed veterinarian who violates, or 

otherwise fails to comply with this rule, or any part thereof, 

including any applicable state and federal laws and/or 

regulations, shall be guilty of unprofessional conduct within 

the meaning of R.S. 37:1526(14). 
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37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 26:492 

(March 2000), LR 31:930 (April 2005). 

§1517. Continuing Education 

A. Basic Requirements 

1. A minimum of six continuing education units is 

required each fiscal year (July 1 through June 30) as a 

prerequisite for renewal of certification. A registered equine 

dentist who fails to obtain a minimum of six continuing 

education units within the prescribed 12-month period will 

not meet the requirements for renewal of his certificate. 

Notwithstanding the requirements of this Section, for the 

period August 20, 1999-June 30, 2000, a minimum of six 

continuing education units is required as a prerequisite for 

renewal of certification during the July 1, 2000-September 

30, 2000 renewal period. 

2. All continuing education programs must be 

approved by the board prior to attendance. 

3. Proof of attendance, which shall include the name 

of the course, date(s) of attendance, hours attended, and 

specific subjects attended, shall be attached to the annual 

certificate renewal form. Proof of attendance must include 

verification from the entity providing or sponsoring the 

educational program. 

4. All hours shall be obtained in the 12 months 

preceding the renewal period of the certificate. 

5. Each registered equine dentist must fulfill his 

annual education requirements at his own expense. 

B. Failure to Meet Requirements 

1. If a registered equine dentist fails to obtain a 

minimum of six continuing education units within the 

prescribed 12-month period, his certificate shall be expired 

and his certificate shall remain expired until such time as the 

continuing education requirements have been met and 

documented to the satisfaction of the board. 

2. The board may grant extensions of time for 

extenuating circumstances. The registered equine dentist 

must petition the board at least 30 days prior to the 

expiration of the certificate. The board may require whatever 

documentation it deems necessary to verify the 

circumstances necessitating the extension. 

3. Failure to comply with the requirements of this 

Section shall be considered unprofessional conduct. 

C. Approved Continuing Education Programs 

1. It is the responsibility of the registered equine 

dentist to submit a request for approval of a continuing 

education program no less than 60 days prior to the program. 

Information to be submitted shall include: 

a. the name of the proposed program and sponsor 

organization; 

b. course content; 

c. the number of continuing education units to be 

obtained by attendees. 

2. Continuing education units which are submitted for 

renewal and were not pre-approved by the board may be 

reviewed by the board. If the units are not approved, the 

registered equine dentist will be required to take additional 

continuing education in an approved program prior to the 

renewal of his certificate. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 26:492 

(March 2000). 

§1519. Unprofessional Conduct on Part of the 

Veterinarian 

A. After due notice and hearing as set forth in the 

Administrative Procedure Act, R.S. 49:950 et seq., and the 

board's rules, more particularly §1401 et seq., a veterinarian 

who fails to comply with a rule promulgated by the board 

regarding the practice of equine dentistry shall be subject to 

disciplinary action and sanction by the board for 

unprofessional conduct pursuant to the Louisiana Veterinary 

Practice Act, R.S. 37:1526.A.(14) and the board's rules. 

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1526(A)(14), 37:1518(A)(9) and 37:1518. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Veterinary Medicine, LR 26:493 

(March 2000). 

 

 


